We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service charge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chimichanga - Port Solent

Chimichanga - Port Solent
Unit 24-25 The Boardwalk | Port Solent, Portsmouth PO6 4TP, England
02392 384198 Disability
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 481 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $39 - $54
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Service charge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

A group of seven went here,there was a board outside advertising happy hour half price drinks,we had a table booked but seeing the sign for happy hour we went in early,when asked about drinks for happy hour they told us it did not apply on Saturdays then why put the sign outside this is misleading the food was ok but not hot when the bill came it was £200 for seven of us on top of the bill they added £20 service charge which they said nothing about after a member of the group saw this we had the charge removed by a very unhappy waitress,I have been here once before but I would not go back

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    43
    29
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Amazing food. Great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Very simple,, second visit. Was as good as the first. The food is fantastic. The best I have tasted in a long time. Cannot fault the taste and spices.
Service is very good and it has a great atmosphere.
My only small gripe and it's a very small one, no draught beer and I thought bottles slightly expensive.
But this I guess to be expected. Don't let it out you off
Would recommend and has gone to the too 5 of my favourite places to eat as food is so good. Went with friends and all enjoyed.
You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hot & Spicey What More Do You Want”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

A Great night out our friends reserved a table so we had a booth, lovely always a good start .we had the xmas menu which didn't disappoint at all. I shared Nachos and potato skins with my friend which went down a treat. For main I had smokey bbq chicken very nice but Hubby had Mex Burger in a wrap served pink, o that was lovely, I know what I'm having next time . I finished with Honeycomb cheese cake, just lovely 10 out of 10 Staff great overall a fab time will be back .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Early evening get together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Visited for early evening meal with friends on Monday. The service was good and we all enjoyed our main courses of chilli and sea bass. We had room for pud and all plumped for the peanut butter cheesecake which we enjoyed although it was a bit on the sweet side for me. The restaurant is quite noisy when full so not one for a quiet night out! We'll be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Visited for lunch on a busy Saturday in the run up to Christmas. The food was fab, tasty good value and arrived quickly. No room for pudding though! Cappuccino was one of the nicest we have tasted!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimichanga - Port Solent also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Chimichanga - Port Solent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimichanga - Port Solent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.