We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil yet fun.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Reef Aquarium

Blue Reef Aquarium
Clarence Esplanade, Portsmouth PO5 3PB, England
02392 875222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 124 things to do in Portsmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take the ultimate undersea safari at the Blue Reef Aquarium in Portsmouth. Enjoy close encounters with everything from tropical sharks to fascinating frogs and adorable otters!
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil yet fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great value if you buy the annual membership. Lots of tanks of fish, lizards, otters and some other creatures. Lots of info around and fun quizes for children at varying age levels.

In summer there is fabulous outside area, with water fountains and huge sandpit. Well worth the membership.

I also lost a 2yr old (she's one of those who likes to run off any second you're not watching) and the staff were fantastic closing off the exit and sending people to walk round in either direction to find her. She was located in 5 minutes. Thankyou so much to everyone, every parents nightmare.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    45
    79
    37
    30
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
137 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“OK just”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Looking tired and quite expensive - good job we had a 20% discount voucher from save.co.uk.
Not the best day out and I suspect even with children its barely an hour or 2
its ranking in Portsmouth area says it all

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Went here with the boyfriend and quite disappointed. Quite expensive considering how small the place was. We spent a lot of time looking at each tank but it still only took around 45 mins to walk round.

Wouldn't go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A small place, but great for small kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Overall, had a good time. It was quite a small place for me, personally, but for small children , it's enough fish. Had a great time. Staff was very friendly. The ticket allows you to come back the same day, if you want to go out for some lunch. When we came out, there was the cafe right there, and we sat out, perfect view of the sea.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Get close to the fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Spent an enjoyable morning here today. 2 year old very happy to see creatures from the deep up close.
I felt the place was expensive for what it was, we saw it all quite quickly, went round twice, had lunch, went round again and left in less than 3 hours.
Restaurant next door made made a pleasent stop for lunch - mainly things with chips but the food appeared freshly cooked and the staff were friendly, there are also toys for the toddlers.
I guess on a warmer day you could spread it out by looking around once, seeing a talk / feed then spending time on the beach / pier / having a picnic then going back in to see it all again and perhaps see another feeding time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Reef Aquarium also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Blue Reef Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Reef Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.