We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and not a shadow of other Aquariums.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Reef Aquarium Portsmouth

Blue Reef Aquarium Portsmouth
Clarence Esplanade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3PB, England
02392 875222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 42 Attractions in Portsmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take the ultimate undersea safari at the Blue Reef Aquarium in Portsmouth. Enjoy close encounters with everything from tropical sharks to fascinating frogs and adorable otters!
Devon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not a shadow of other Aquariums.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

You pay the same price as you would for Marwell Zoo or Arundel Castle, but you will have seen it all in less than an hour. The interior is shabby, the toilets by the otter area look like they were plumbed in the 70's. The otter area literally stank, there were a lot of people making a b-line for the exit after catching a whiff of THAT enclosure. My advice to the unwary traveller is that this is not the mainstay of your plan for the day, rather a back up for bad weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    38
    72
    33
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Aquarium is good to spend perhaps an hour and a half in, maybe longer if you want to spend longer at the tanks and take in some of the talks, but as the aquarium is not very big, its difficult to persuade small children to hang about when they 'seen it already'. Plus we went on a rainy bank holiday Monday and it was packed and hard to move against the clockwise flow. I did think it was expensive compared to other larger aquariums and and the only discounts I could find were £1 off adult entrances. If you live locally and bought the frequent pass, I could see how this would be great value for money.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minety, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Awesome Aquarium with fab sealife and interesting facts. We will go again in future

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Aquarium ok but truly shocking cafe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Aquarium was ok. Not up to the standards of the London aquarium but still worth a visit with younger kids.

The cafe however was appalling. For an attraction popular with children, there should be something a bit better than cheap hot dogs and chips. If you're visiting the aquarium, a packed lunch Is essential.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Expensive for what was on offer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had a good trip to Portsmouth, but this was blightled by the cost of the Dockyard and this Aquarium.
It is interesting enough, as many of the other aquariums dotted about the country are, but this was far and away the most expensive I had been too. The Deep in Hull, is massive (x3 the size of the portsmouth one, at least!) and costs £34.00 for a family of 4 for a year. Whereas this is £32.50 for the day!
The otters where mostly absent, which as far as I can see is the only attraction which makes it different from any other aquarium. Plus not enough local fish/crabs.
Must try harder for the punters cash blue reef aquariums!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Reef Aquarium Portsmouth also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Blue Reef Aquarium Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Reef Aquarium Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.