We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for an overnighter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Keppels Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Keppels Head to your Saves list
Keppels Head
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   24 - 26 The Hard, Portsmouth PO13DT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
nerja
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Value for an overnighter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before getting the cross channel ferry. Yes it's tired, yes the plumbing was a bit dodgy, yes there are stains on the ceilings and threadbare carpets BUT........ We had a huge front facing room - with a great view - the bed was clean and very comfortable, the service was excellent, the breakfast very good and it was good value. The free secure parking was a great bonus too. We would stay here again. Don't stay if you are looking for a luxury break but for a convenient stopover - and across the road from Gunwharf Quays - I couldn't fault it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    63
    77
    27
    54
See reviews for
32
107
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We chose this hotel for a romantic escape due to its excellent proximity to the gosport ferry terminal, the dockyard and Gunwharf Keys! Bedroom and its onsuite were dark, dingy, tired and totally disgusting. Actually sobbed it was that bad. Shower that gross that we didnt feel we could use it. Thank god we only stayed for one night. Stayed out as long as possible and left as early as possible. Traumatising experience!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The best location in Portsmouth,very close to the Dockyard and Gunwharf keys.Bus station outside and Train station and Ferry is a short walk.A Grand old lady,this place,in need of some refurb,but you can see it was Gloroius in its day.Rooms are comfortable and large,just don't look too close at the decor.You will find better hotels in the area,but you wont get a better location.You must try the lift,it's an original.We would stay here again,the staff are friendly and polite.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Yes, it's old and tired and has faded splendour but it's good value , comfortable and clean. If you have reason to go to the historic dockyard, it's two minutes down the road and Gunwarf Quay with its shops and cinema is just about opposite as also is the railway and bus station. Once upon a time it was an upmarket hotel but it's still fine because of its location. The dining room is quite regal and they serve a good cooked breakfast. The staff are helpful and it has free parking.The hotel does not serve food in the evening but there's good pub grub in the nearby inn or more upmarket meals in Gunwharf Quay.

Room Tip: I would stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just got back from a weekend in Portsmouth visiting the museums. As has been said before, this once grand hotel is tired and could do with up-dating, but this would be a major task costing a fortune. This does not however distract from the fantastic welcome and service received from all the hotel staff. Our room and bathroom were spotless and warm and the breakfast good. the location is amazing - with the museums and Gun Wharf Quays on the opposite side of the road and a selection of nearby pubs. If torn holes in the curtains and mis-matched tiles in the bathroom bother you, this place is not for you. If you look past that and want to be right in the middle of things with super service, it is. Thank you for a lovely stay and I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel for a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location & very friendly staff. Breakfast good too, but our room 24, needed a spruce up & a shower would've been nice & a bathroom radiator that worked! Generally it looked tired, but was clean, a few little home comforts would've gone a long way.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed in room 39 for an overnight. Had booked at the last minute, unfortunately the picture on 'Find me a hotel room.com' did not resemble what we found when we arrived. First impression was that the exterior looked very rundown, and unfortunately the hotel matched this.

The furniture in the room looked like it had been purchased from a second hand furniture store, several years ago. The furnishings and décor were very dated and mismatched, and in desperate need of modernising. Fixtures were very worn, socket for TV not working so ended up with TV wires stretching across room.

Bathroom was spacious but very dated and shabby. There was only a bath with taps, no shower attachment. Towel shelf was hanging by wallplug from wall, carpet on floor was not appealing especially without bathmat, water supply was interesting, bath taps spluttered to life and when the toilet was flushed it sounded like the contents of the bathroom was going with it!!

Bed was the end of all jokes, discovered at midnight that the bed bases were not connected, head board was poorly attached and the mattress may as well have not been there as your bottom touched the divan bases........

Ultimate insult when we tentatively settled to sleep on the very dodgy bed was that the main bedroom door was so poorly fitted and the lock so inadequate, that the door rattled within the frame. My partner ended up visiting the night receptionist to request a door wedge so that we could wedge it properly shut...not ideal in a fire!!!

It is unfortunate that the building itself is so poor, as we were very impressed by the warm and friendly manner of all the staff. The location was fantastic, and brilliant that free car parking was included for duration of stay. There was a good choice for breakfast, however some of the ingredients could be improved ie sausage!

If visiting again, we would consider going back to the hotel, but would be mindful of the suggestions made by other people in tripadvisor reviews ie. requesting one of the renovated rooms, and also with a shower.

Unfortunately we discovered tripadvisor too late!!!!!!!! We know where to check for our next trip!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 39!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keppels Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keppels Head

Address: 24 - 26 The Hard, Portsmouth PO13DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Keppels Head 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keppel's Head Hotel (Est 1779) is situated in "The Hard" in Portsmouth. The Hard is a historical area with many connections to the Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, which is only a short stroll from the hotel. Gunwharf Quays is also nearby, which thrives with many shops, restaurants, clubs and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Keppels Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keppels Head Portsmouth
Keppels Head Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keppels Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.