We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame about the wedding party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse & Innlodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Farmhouse & Innlodge to your Saves list
Farmhouse & Innlodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burrfields Rd, Portsmouth PO3 5HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
crickhowell
1 review
“shame about the wedding party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

stayed for 2 nights, hotel lovely, clean and staff friendly food in resteraunt good and very good value, hotel taxis too and from portsmouth old town very prompt and good value about £6.00 each way. there were 2 wedding parties going on on the friday eve which did not seem to affect any of the gueasts staying at hotel..... but sadly the wedding party on the saturday evening 30th august or should we say extending into the early hours of sunday morning seemed to have upset a lot of the gueast we spoke to when checking out . it will be a wedding to be remembered thats for sure the bride,groom and other wedding guests screaming and swearing so bad that there was 5 police cars, 2 ambulances and a riot van joining the party at about midnight. the banging of hotel doors and shouting went on until around 2.30.am....... we wonder if the happy couple are still together...we would deffinatly stay there again this was no fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    53
    76
    45
    32
See reviews for
48
95
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Good accomodation in pleasant surroundings

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

Plenty of parking and checking in was fine, but there was an unpleasant odour in the corridor as I made my way to the room. (This lingered during the stay.) It was a warm day and I was expecting to find air conditioning as I entered, but this wasn't the case. The room was uncomfortable, despite opening the windows.
The next morning a member of staff showed me to a table for breakfast, but taking my order was slow. Other parties, who had arrived after me, had been dealt with. I had to remind a passing waitress that I was still waiting, 15 minutes after sitting down!
On the plus side the bed was very comfortable, breakfast was filling and the food I ordered in The Lounge was reasonably priced and tasty.
This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel, having been there many years ago, and the decor in the bathroom was beginning to look a bit tired. I don't think I shall return!

  • Liked — Lots of free parking.
  • Disliked — Poor service at breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

I stayed, together with my wife, for one night, attending a wedding reception held there. I had, in advance , queried the statement on the website that some rooms were not yet refurbished. I was told that they were all now refurbished. The room was excellent - very clean, adequately furnished and with a good bathroom with bath and 'power shower'. The bed, with a duvet, was extremely comfortable and, I believe, of good quality. The hotel is quiet and away from the road - especially rooms at the back. Tea/coffee facilities and mineral water were provided. The public areas, bars etc. are fine though a few areas - e.g. reception and The Lounge (bar) were very warm. I think that we had a reduced rate as part of the wedding party, but even at their quoted rates (breakfast extra), this is extremely good value. For anyone interested, the wedding fare and service was also very good. Bar prices are reasonable.

  • Liked — Beautiful comfy bed and relaxing power shower, value for money
  • Disliked — Hot reception area and bar needs some cooling system
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

Given that this is a budget hotel it can be forgiven slightly for not having the best decor but this hotel really is in need of a refit. The room I stayed in had multiple stains on the carpet near the door and the bathroom was in dreadful condition with broken and stained tiles. The plastic fittings were out of the mid eightees and showed their age in both condition and style. The hotel advertises that "many of the room have been refurbished to a high standard" therefore it may be that I was unlucky.

That said the hotel staff were pleasant and if you are lucky enough to get a refurbished room then it's probably best suited for a single night on the way to the Isle of Wight or the continent as this offers a low cost night with easy access to a restaurant and a pub.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Room Conditions
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

We arrived here as we wanted to see Portsmouth and it seemed a great location, with the area not being too busy.

Our room was at the back and we had a nice view of a garden out the back. The room was tidy & clean and the bed comfortable.

They provided some tea & coffee in the room ( a few satchets), towels, and even a newly packaged bath mat for us to use.

There was the hungry horse pub with cheap food & drink..very crowded but a normal family pub with a great menu for both adults & children.

Only snag was a wedding going on- no noise, but parking the car was difficult that night.

We enjoyed our stay and are currently thinking about returning to see more of Portsmouth and using this Hotel again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Car Parking
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

Lovely hotel, warm welcome on arrival. Ideally situated for our visit but, you would need a car for sightseeing. We were visiting family. Rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean with nothing to fault with it. We did have one problem, my husband slipped and fell very badly whilst getting out of the bath and was very badly bruised on his arm and leg and is still quite bruised ten days on. If you go there please ask if they have bath mats for the bath. Hopefully they may supply them now. They were very concerned (genuinely so) made out a incident report and told my husband to go to the doctor. They were lovely and caring but hope that they can rectify the problem. We will use this hotel again.

  • Liked — Friendly warm and inviting
  • Disliked — No bath mat in bath
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Farmhouse & Innlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse & Innlodge

Address: Burrfields Rd, Portsmouth PO3 5HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Farmhouse & Innlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the eastern edge of Portsmouth the Inn Lodge features two restaurants, a childrens play centre and a lively sports bar. With fully licenced function rooms you can have a full day wedding from ceremony to evening reception. Portsmouth Continental Ferry Terminal is just 2 miles away. The Pony Club childrens centre features an indoor soft play area and an outdoor playground. The hotel also has free on-site parking and a large garden with outdoor seating. The spacious rooms at Inn Lodge Portsmouth each have a work desk and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. All rooms have free view TV and tea/coffee facilities. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi in the relaxing lounge. The Hungry Horse restaurant serves a wide variety of meals including the big plate specials and the Sports Bar offers real ales and Sky Sports. Inn Lodge Hotel Portsmouth is just a 15-minute drive away from Portsmouth's historic waterfront, featuring the Naval Dockyard and the popular shopping destination Gunwharf Quays. The M27 motorway is a 5-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Farmhouse & Innlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Innlodge Portsmouth
Farmhouse Innlodge Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse & Innlodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.