We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Christmas day lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse & Innlodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Farmhouse & Innlodge to your Saves list
Farmhouse & Innlodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burrfields Rd, Portsmouth PO3 5HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
portsmouth
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“good Christmas day lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Ate here with my husband on Christmas Day and had a very nice experience. Was not sure what the food would be like as at £35.99 each, it was at the cheaper end for Christmas lunch prices. We were very pleased with the food,service and overall atmosphere. We were the only table of 2 in the Garden Room,the rest being families etc on larger tables.However,this added to the general Christmas cheer and the staff were engaging, efficient and attentive.The food was good,even though it was pressed Turkey not a proper bird.Quantity was too much for us but it was nice to have the roast potatoes and veg dishes on the table to help ourselves.We were offered a cheese selection and mince pies to follow but couldnt manage them.Overall, a very nice part of our Christmas Day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    53
    76
    45
    31
See reviews for
48
95
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We had Christmas day dinner here. There was seven of us. The food was fresh and very tasty. There was enough vegetables and potatoes to go round. The price of the drinks were very reasonable. We had very good service and nothing was to much trouble. Everybody enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnlodgeManagement, General Manager at Farmhouse & Innlodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Wonderful to hear you had a great Christmas Day with us, its always best to make sure you've got a full plate than to little especially at Christmas. The waiting and kitchen staff will be so pleased to hear your comments. Kindest regards and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDIFF
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had been in the area visiting friends when we decided to stay over and drive home the next day. We didn't have time to pre-book so we just arrived hoping that there would be room. There was! The receptionist was very helpful and able to accommodate my needs for a downstairs room, extra pillows....nothing was too much trouble!
We didn't eat in the hotel but the restaurant looked like a comfortable and relaxing place to eat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnlodgeManagement, General Manager at Farmhouse & Innlodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your recent review, i'm glad to hear that you recieved a warm welcome and that we could help in any way we could. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I recently stayed with my husband and we had a very enjoyable stay, staff were very helpful and were available 24 hours. Would say needs bringing up to date a little but clean and good value for money

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnlodgeManagement, General Manager at Farmhouse & Innlodge, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Hollylily,
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose us again when you next stay in Portsmouth.
Many thanks
The Innlodge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I booked with this Hotel as i was attending a Christmas function Here. I was very impressed with the discount i received as a Christmas party guest. It was a weight off my shoulders not to have to worry about taxis or arranging a lift after the night ended. The room i stayed in was very clean and comfortable. Our food for our party was very tasty and the entertainment was fantastic.
Breakfast in the morning had a great selection of cooked and continental and the staff were very helpful. I would definately stay at this hotel again and would recommend to friends and family.
Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnlodgeManagement, General Manager at Farmhouse & Innlodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
What a great way to end your christmas party night, and yes I agree breakfast choice is plentyful, I will pass on your comments to the relevant peopl, thank you for your feedback :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is situated just on the outskirts of the city centre, making it perfect for us to eat out in the town at night and then to find a motorway the next morning to visit our friends.
we also ate in the hungry horse, food was hot, served quickly and delivered with a smile.
The decor of the rooms is dated and in need of a modern update but nevertheless warm and comfortable. We will be staying again!

Room Tip: Our room upstairs was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnlodgeManagement, General Manager at Farmhouse & Innlodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, Im glad you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will use us again in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

we recently stayed here for a night, convenient for docks an center, 5 mins by car, free taxi phone in hotel, staff were great, were permitted in to room hour before time, plenty of hot water an room large an bright but cleaners not up to sratch, bath bit grubby an mugs needed good clean but great for short stay one down fall was very noisy, were over smoking area in garden an people coming in at all hours an banging doors and shouting, evening meal in adjoining pub was great though

Room Tip: ask to be high up so no stomping feet above you and at the back away from pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farmhouse & Innlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse & Innlodge

Address: Burrfields Rd, Portsmouth PO3 5HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Farmhouse & Innlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the eastern edge of Portsmouth the Inn Lodge features two restaurants, a childrens play centre and a lively sports bar. With fully licenced function rooms you can have a full day wedding from ceremony to evening reception. Portsmouth Continental Ferry Terminal is just 2 miles away. The Pony Club childrens centre features an indoor soft play area and an outdoor playground. The hotel also has free on-site parking and a large garden with outdoor seating. The spacious rooms at Inn Lodge Portsmouth each have a work desk and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. All rooms have free view TV and tea/coffee facilities. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi in the relaxing lounge. The Hungry Horse restaurant serves a wide variety of meals including the big plate specials and the Sports Bar offers real ales and Sky Sports. Inn Lodge Hotel Portsmouth is just a 15-minute drive away from Portsmouth's historic waterfront, featuring the Naval Dockyard and the popular shopping destination Gunwharf Quays. The M27 motorway is a 5-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Farmhouse & Innlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Innlodge Portsmouth
Farmhouse Innlodge Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse & Innlodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.