We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in Portsmouth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Portsmouth Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend in Portsmouth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The staff in the Ibis in Portsmouth were fantastic - really helpful. The hotel is situated close to the attractions, making it an ideal place to stay.
The room was fine but the bathroom was rather small - toilet placed in a tight corner. Fortunately neither of us is fat!
Breakfast is delicious - and plentiful.
Can't wait for the next weekend visit - we live in Eastbourne so just along the coast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Hil586,

The entire Ibis Portsmouth team would like to thank you for your complimentary review.

It is really a great reward for all of us to see that you enjoyed staying with us.

If you plan to stay in any of Accor hotels, or even returning to us, be sure to look into our loyalty program AClub in order to receive many of great benefits such as late checkouts upon availability as well as possibility to redeem your points for free stays.

Thank you again for taking time to share your experience. We hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon to Ibis Portsmouth Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Veronika Rackova
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    304
    256
    108
    70
See reviews for
131
310
98
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed at the Ibis in Portsmouth with my husband last Saturday night. The rooms are basic but clean. The bed is firm and a reasonable size for two people - a thick duvet meant we were warm on a very cold night. The bathroom is tiny - but plenty of hot water and everything worked OK.
The breakfast was pretty basic too - the hot food looked inedible so I stuck to yoghurt, fruit and croissant. Perfectly acceptable.
I have stayed in better Ibis Hotels but this was perfectly OK as an overnight stop where you don't intend to unpack.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floors in summer to or the side away from the Guildhall Walk where there are lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, Assistant Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Dear Midasfriend,

Thank you very much for your review.

I would like to apologise for your breakfast experience. I assure you this is atypical of our hotel and I will discuss your feedback with our food & beverage team to prevent future occurrence.
Furthermore I am delighted to read all positive points.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ibis and better meet your expectations in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Veronika Rackova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here on Saturday and got the room on offer on booking.com as we booked 21 days in advance.
Found it really easily and went through into the carpark. save the ticket then you pay £6 for 24hr parking. This is very helpfull as Gunwharf Quays is 3hrs = £3.90!!!!!
We checked in quickly and found our rooms was small but clean and fairly new-looking.
Bathroom is very small but it had all you need inside!
Bed was good, TV was working, cupboards had space, didnt hear much noise and we had a pretty good sleep!
Carpet was a bit tired but that doesnt effect anything!
it is about 10min walk to Gunwharf and all the restaurants etc, we found the hotel to be in a really good location! A taxi over to Southsea cost £6 which was an absolute bargain for a city.
Staff were friendly and everything went smoothly!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, Assistant Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Dear Ruthjaneh01,

Thank you very much for your complimentary review.

I am pleased to read your comment regarding car park. Having car park on site and price itself is indeed one of the benefits we offer to our guests.
Moreover I agree that our location is great for hitting the historical sites, shopping and dining in Portsmouth.

Thank you again for taking time to share your experience. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon to Ibis Portsmouth Centre.

Yours sincerely,

Veronika Rackova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Spent two nights here. Small, but nice room. Very quiet at night. The breakfast was good as well, lots of vegan options. Nice fruit salad. Very nice personnel. Recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 1st floor. Not sure about other rooms, but I assume the top rooms would be even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, Assistant Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Jerry V

Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is a great reward for all of us to see that you enjoyed staying with us. I will certainly share your comments with our team. Such a feedback only motivates our staff to excel.

We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Veronika Rackova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Not the biggest rooms in the world especially the bathroom - barely room to turn around. Although good access to the Guildhall and Gunwharf Quays so good value if you want to a stop over for shopping or for a do in the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, Assistant Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Georgiegirl7

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ibis Portsmouth Centre.
I am glad that our location suited your traveler plans & I hope you also enjoyed other aspects of your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,

Veronika Rackova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night while attending a friends wedding. Plenty of space in the car park (there's a £4 charge for this but that's not bad for a fenced and gated car park in a city centre).

Check in was quick and efficient, avoiding peak booking in time around mid-day helped a bit I think.

The room was as expected (We have stayed here before) The bed is basic but comfortable enough, two pillows are standard with one extra stored in the "wardrobe" The bathroom is a small one but everything worked so no complaints there.

Unfortunately the design of the corridors does mean that people's voices carry so if inconsiderate guests decide to talk loudly outside their rooms it does carry easily but earplugs do cancel this out. On this visit there was no noise from outside the hotel but Portsmouth being a lively city and the hotel being just off the Guildhall it should be expected and prepared for if staying at the Ibis (earplugs are a permanent fixture in my overnight bag)

Overall, it's advertised as a budget city centre hotel and that is what it is. If you want four star you need to pay for four star.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, Assistant Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Swifty137

Thank you for taking time to post your comment following your recent stay.

It is always pleasure to receive such a feedback such as yours. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and all our effort has been appreciated.

I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the last.

Yours sincerely,

Veronika Rackova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Portsmouth Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.