We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Good Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abarbistro

Abarbistro
58 Whitehart Road, Portsmouth PO1 2JA, England
023 9281 1585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 471 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $65
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All Good Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Ate here last Sunday for the first time in months. Checked this time what fish they were cooking as their fish and chips of the day. Must say .... 'as good as it gets' delicious haddock in crispy batter and real home made crunchy fries. Just as it always used to be.

My friends had the Sunday roast pork which they said was somewhat dry and hence the very good rating and not excellent. It was a little late in the day for Sunday roast so I'm sure we'll be going again.

Service was as always excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    113
    35
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We decided to give this place a try since we had passed it many times and thought it looked nice, plus the building has such a history. Firstly, I was disappointed that it didn't feel old, rather like any other seaside eatery. Secondly, we were disappointed that given its location right next to camber quay there wasn't a great deal of fish. Having said that my husband had scallops to start which were delicious. Other than that, all 3 meals were frankly no more than average yet priced very highly -too highly for what we got
I'm glad we went because now we won't be thinking it would be nice to try it next time we are there, but the 3 of us could have eaten a lot better elsewhere and for a lot less money.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best meal I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We've been to Abarbistro a number of times now and every visit has been fantastic! The atmosphere is great. It's always busy but you never feel rushed. The food is superb (the belly pork in particular!). Friendly, efficient staff. It's a must visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We couldn't get a table in the restaurant so we ate in the bar. Although it was really busy we didn't have to wait long for a table. There was a great atmosphere in the bar and we didn't feel that we had missed out at all. The bar staff were really efficient and friendly, they bought drinks to the table and someone came to take our order shortly after we had the menus. We had the salmon mouse to start followed by the pork belly and lamb tagine. All the food was very tasty, well prepared and the service in the bar was excellent. When, not if we go back, we will be quite happy to eat in the bar. It doesn't look like the sort of place that would have ale on tap but they had two on the pump, one of which was a great pint of Directors so I had two. All in all, a faultless evening, we will definately return when we are next in Portsmouth.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

This place has a great atmosphere and the food is fantastic and great value ! We had three courses and five drinks between us for £60. After we had eaten we had another drink in the bar which has a great atmosphere too. We weren't rushed even though they were busy. Try the pork belly it's brilliant !!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abarbistro also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Abarbistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abarbistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.