We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - just not much of it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yo Sushi - Portsmouth - CLOSED

Yo Sushi - Portsmouth
Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3TZ, England
0239 280 8110
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: a new restaurant opened at Gunwharf Quays in Portsmouth, part of the chain.
Southsea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food - just not much of it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Sushi is one of the great loves of my life and Yo Sushi provides a great conveyor-belt experience for every sushi lover. However, it may be slightly overpriced but Blue Mondays (all blue trays are equally priced) does compensate for this.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    19
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expensive, but cool atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

It doesn't seem like the English have really discovered sushi properly yet, so it's still very expensive. Yo sushi is a neat place to eat- I wouldn't go there if they didn't have the conveyer belt of sushi. The sushi is good, although the last time I went the sushi rice was very gluggy, and thus unpleasant to eat. The majority of the hot dishes are good, but to me (coming from New Zealand where a six pack of large sushi is about £3) it was overpriced.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“New to me but I like it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Iv been in here a few times whether it be with my partner or with the kids also!!
The kids love it a whole new experiance for them..
iv never eatten sushi elsewhere but it is enjoyable...
The food is nice some of it is not for mebut they do some lovely dishes...
Prices are ok you can eat cheaply or have a feast and the bill is quite pricey Iv done both options :)
The staff are nice altho everytime I have ordered from the menu its take about 20min orso to arrive when the place is practicly empty! The kids had scoffed theirs down plus their dessert and we r still waiting...
overall a nice experiance will go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service and wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Marvellous atmosphere in this restaurant and very attentive staff despite being short staffed. Food was delicious!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We go here weekly and can't understand why some of the other reviews are so bad. Always recieve great service and lovely food. People complain too much these days!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yo Sushi - Portsmouth also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yo Sushi - Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.