We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meal,fast & friendly service..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge

Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel | Southampton Road, Portsmouth PO64SH, England
44 23 9238 3151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 471 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $31 - $47
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Marriott Hotel at Portsmouth has recently been further enlivened by the refurbishment of its restaurant and lounge with a modern, contemporary and stylish twist, Solent Chic. The new Sealevel restaurant and lounge has been transformed into a series of comfortable spaces where the travellers of today can mingle and eat, drink, work, meet and enjoy some private relaxation. The AA have recognised the quality of its cuisine with the award of its first rosette.As with any hotel decent food and drink is high on everybody's list, both for guests and those who provide and proximity to the sea tends to sharpen the appetite and cultivate a menu that is strong on seafood and fish, followed by a nice grill section and daily specials. For example the Sealevel clam chowder with smoked pancetta or the cured smoked salmon strike the right note and the Sealevel fish pie with smoked haddock and salmon cooked in a cream sauce topped with mashed potato, celery, carrots, leeks, peas and cheddar cheese should most certainly not be missed. Executive Head Chef Jaap Schep works from a sophisticated à la carte menu with new dishes galore supported by some of the classics such as slow poached salmon fillet with baby leeks, Hollandaise sauce and a good sturdy 10z sirloin steak with sea salt and served with watercress, grilled tomato, Marriott steak butter and fries. All deserts are home-made to order, like the apple crumble and cinnamon custard and bakewell tart with warm, clotted cream takes some beating and so does the inspired local cheese board which corners some of the best cheeses to be had in the UK.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“great meal,fast & friendly service..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a time limit to eat our meal of 40min,so we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant... We were @ the waiting area to be seated for an eternity, the staff seemed to ignore us, but finally a waitress seated us and it was plain sailing from there on. Good food,service and within our time frame...
A couple of points, the batter round the cauliflower appeared to be pre cooked,not fresh... I asked for a main course size,got a entree portion. Apart from that it was tasty....

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visting our restaurant and for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our Sealevel restaurant.
I have forwarded you comments to my teams to watch out for the entrance better in the future and we will investigate the "Cauliflower" issue. This should not happen.

we hope to see you again soon,

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“First class all the way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The staff are a credit to themselves and whoever has trained and manages them although none seem to need telling what to do and where to go and they are 100% customer focused. Add to that a good atmosphere, fabulous food (cooked with care and attention to detail) and all at a very reasonable price too and really you can't go too far wrong here. It's not like you average hotel food - it's fresh and vibrant and the little touches of herbs or delicate dressing just add to the flavours and the taste experience.
Like I said - first class all the way and yes, we will be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Peter,

Thnak you for your great review and my team will be very pleased, both service and kitchen. We have to see you again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food at good value, beware of parking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Had a lovely meal with my colleagues and friend 2 weeks ago and had a lovely time!

I was told by staff that parking is for free for guests and customers. Unfortunately, had received a parking fine for £100 from ParkingEye for not paying for parking. I hope that the management could rectify this please.

I can see that a similar problem has happened in one of the reviews, I can only hope that there may be a better solution to this problem.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant and we have already refunded the parking charges, after you send contacted me by E-mail.
All restaurant and lounge guests have free parking if the spend is over £10.00 and you only need to register the car at reception or ask the service team for the refund when you have paid by mistake with the restaurant receipt. The signs in the parking explain this procedure.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great restaurant, with great staff. Service can be a bit slow, but this is due to everything being freshly prepared (I hope)
I've stayed in the hotel for 4 months so the menu can get a bit boring, but the specials are always tempting!
There is also a cheaper bar menu that is available to use in the restaurant. Usual burgers and sandwiches, along with nachos, quesadillas etc.
All in, a very good restaurant that I'm more than happy to eat in regularly

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Mr. Mc. Innes,

Thnak you for leaving such great feedback and just for you information we change our menu in our Sealevel Restaurant, Lounge and also Room Service evry 4 months and we offer daily specials for our regulars to have even more variety. We only have one a la carte kitchen and when all outlets and Room Service get busy, it will cause some delays since all dishes are prepared fresh from scratch.
We hope to see you again soon,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch set menu offer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

As a family of 8, we booked here for a special occasion. The set menu is extremely good value. The portion sizes are generous, however the quality of the food could be better. It is just ok - nothing special. The vegetables are very tasty, but the chicken was very dry and tough.
My biggest disappointment was the sticky toffee pudding was full of nuts which it did not explain this in the description and therefore had none of it, it got shared amongst the rest of the group who had not ordered a dessert. (From my experience, sticky toffee pudding has never been made with nuts, so it seemed very odd there's did!).
Other than this, the rest of the experience was pleasant and we would return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Sealevel for your Sunday Lunch with your family and I have shared your feedback with our Head Chef.
Just for information, the sticky toffee pudding recipe we use has 4% chopped walnuts and 30% chopped dates in it, this recipe we use is very popular with our guests and always very well received in the past. Will make sure in the future we put walnuts on the description on the menu.
Regarding the dry chicken, we will make sure our chefs don't cook the main course too far in advance for larger tables. They might have been kept too long on the pass under lights.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again soon,

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.