We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view outweighs the niggles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiralty Quarter

Admiralty Quarter
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Admiralty Quarter to your Saves list
Admiralty Quarter
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3GA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
“The view outweighs the niggles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was elated to manage to book an apartment for a short break with my son at very short notice. (Everywhere else was fully booked.) The 2 bedroom apartment - 1 en suite with a shower cubicle and the other serviced by a large family bathroom - was superb and the views over the dockyard and the Solent, from the balcony and through windows filling 2 sides of the living room - were fantastic. We had No 43 on the 12th floor and, due to the fantastic weather, it did get very hot. Tip - close the blinds before going out for the day and open the balcony doors on returning. Unlike one review, we noticed no noise to interrupt sleep but the duvet provided made sleep difficult as the apartment was so warm. The fully equipped kitchen and welcome pack were very good - in fact the whole apartment was fitted out to a high standard with everything we needed including a washer/dryer. No car parking problems as we travelled by train and the station was less than 5 minutes walk away. In fact, practically everything we went to see and all the places we used for dining were within a 10 minute walk. Do visit old Portsmouth, which is delightful and which we 'discovered' on a very interesting coastal walk back from Southsea Castle. Niggles, and the reason I've marked 'Service' as poor: This is not a serviced apartment - we couldn't get the lamp in the living room to work and a bedside lamp bulb blew. These were reported but no one came to fix them during the 4 days we were there. Also with other apartments we've rented for holidays both at home and abroad, there has been an additional TV in at least 1 of the bedrooms (not that we went on holiday to watch TV) and a land-line telephone provided but there were neither here. 1 person has mentioned no grab rails over the family bath, which I thought was a strange complaint, but the bath is lethal to stand up in when having a shower - needs a non-slip mat provided. In other apartments, we've always been supplied with 2 bath towels and 2 hand towels each no matter how short the stay - here you get 1 bath/1 hand towel each. Niggles apart, had a great time here and pleased I chose Portsmouth and these apartments.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Crow's Nest is a great 2-bed apartment with superb views over the harbour and dockyard from the sitting room (with balcony). The sitting room had a very sunny aspect both in the afternoon and evening (it did get quite hot during the July 2013 heatwave). Comfortable bedrooms, one with en-suite facilities, plenty of hanging & drawer storage space. Spacious main bathroom. Well-equipped kitchen. The comprehensive welcome pack was a nice touch! Historic Dockyard is a short walk, Gunwharf is about 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: If you arrive by car, enter the Historic Dockyard car park and find a public parking space on the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just returned from a short stay in Admiralty Tower in this lovely stunning apartment on the 12th Floor. My Son sat on the balcony at every opportunity and watched the ferries as they arrived and departed. The sunset is to die for. This is a two bedroom apartment with balcony. It has one en suite and 1 bathroom. Beds where comfy just wished they had a twin bedded room instead of two doubles. The double beds are just a standard size, king size would be better. The bath needs grab rail supports difficult to get in/out. Cups/plates not cleaned properly had to wash them before use. Would expect a more thorough clean for price. Be warned this apartment gets the full sun nearly all day and gets extremely hot. No air conditioning. Nice welcome pack. On leaving apartment stray off the beaten track and the area is very run down we found it very noises at night, ie: traffic and drunks. Just a short walk to The Navel Docklands also Gosport ferry. Even with the niggles the apartment was lovely and would stay again.

Room Tip: No 44 is lovely apartment but as mentioned gets very hot due to sun on it all day, Even on the 12th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed here over the Christmas period, renting one of the three bedroom apartments. The apartment was very well set up and the welcome package was very much appreciated. The apartment quite easily accommodated 8 for Christmas lunch with enough crockery and cutlery to handle all. I very much enjoyed my stay there and will be back

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

This apartment, in Admiralty Tower, was luxury itself. The location was perfect for the Naval Docklands (5 minutes walk max), and as such had spectacular views over the area from the huge glass windows in the living area and from the balcony. Considering the apartment is surrounded by other apartments we didn’t hear any noise from the rest of the building during our entire stay. The car parking arrangement couldn’t have been more convenient and the breakfast provisions and hot drinks provided were most welcome.

Our entire stay in Portsmouth was wonderful (we stayed during the Christmas fayre, which was fantastic), and our choice of apartment certainly added to the experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiralty Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Quarter

Address: Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3GA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiralty Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Admiralty Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiralty Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.