We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor venue detracts from comedy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jongleurs Comedy Club

Jongleurs Comedy Club
Unit R04, Blvd Buildings | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3TW, England
0844 499 4072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 35 Activities in Portsmouth
Type: Comedy Clubs, Performances
Attraction details
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very poor venue detracts from comedy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile


The venue, inside a nightclub at Gunwharf Quays, brought the evening down for me. As the previous reviewer stated, it feels very temporary. It is in a side room with a too high ceiling, concrete floor, poor nightclub lighting, not stage lighting, a wobbly stage and it was blimmin' FREEZING! By the end of the night I was shivering. At the end of the sets (it started half an hour late for some reason) the last comedian had to run over 10pm and was then fighting against the music coming through a curtain, not a door, from a dance floor next door. The poor comedians were desperately trying to create an intimate atmosphere, to engage with the audience, and they managed a few times but in that room it was really impossible for them to maintain. The food was good, but nothing special, but the waiting and bar staff were attentive and quick. I would've eaten elsewhere in the myriad of places outside Tiger Tiger club in Gunwharf Quays and just gone inside for the comedy.
In short, comedy good, but unsuitable venue. I really felt sorry for the comedians and Jongluers should look at another venue in Portsmouth as this one really lets their brand down.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    1
    6
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worst comedy venue by far!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I had the sad misfortune to attend Jongleurs, Portsmouth this weekend - a mistake not to be repeated. I have enjoyed many comedy clubs over the years, including other Jongleurs venues, and this was by far the worst. The venue itself, although in a good location at Gunwharf, felt very temporary with a poor stage and bad lighting. I was expected a much better set up than this! The atmosphere was dire, like the aftermath of a very boring wedding reception. Although we came just for the comedy, the rest of the audience had already been there for 2 hours eating the cheap food and enjoying the half price bar. I can see the attraction there, but by the time we arrived they were not excited by the upcoming acts rather already ready to move on to another venue. In fact half way through the evening, quite a few did just that. It was a mixture of hen nights and 70th birthday party mixted with a few other tables of people who seemed just as unimpressed as us. The compere was not the best choice although I think she may have fared better on another night and a much better venue. I felt sorry for her. The first 2 acts were not great but also deserved a better response really. Overall the atmosphere in the place was so poor that I doubt a top headliner could have caught their attention. A large number of people were far too interested in texting their friends, chatting and nipping outside for a cigarette. The final act came out to a dwindled audience and failed to raise the bar. Such a disappointment and a waste of money. Frankly giving other Jongleurs venues a bad name. If you are considering going - don't!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Not very funny”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Was in here Saturday night and apart from happy hour half price drinks, it was not a very good night sadly. . Most of the problems was with the white, cold sterile venue. The lights were really bad, no spotlight on the performer, and the sound was awful, no bass and poor quality sound made hearing very difficult.

Without a proper stage/venue the acts will never be at their best.

Up your game Jongleurs, you aren't a comedy club worth revisiting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a waste of time!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had the bright idea to vist jongleurs on Saturday night-booked the two course meal for £10 -staff didn't have a clue what was going on but must say the food was very good for the price and that's all that was good-the so called comedians died on their feet! Truly felt sorry for them -who the hell told them they were funny!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worlddivingtraveller
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“no longer exsists”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

No longer in Gunwharf; replaced and the 'unit' is now part of the casino.
Great shame, the food WAS truly awefull, but the entertainment was always great.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jongleurs Comedy Club also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Jongleurs Comedy Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jongleurs Comedy Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.