We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Portsmouth - Horndean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Portsmouth - Horndean to your Saves list
Premier Inn Portsmouth - Horndean
2 Havant Road | Horndean, Portsmouth PO8 0DT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £56
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Stanmore London
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Excellent budget choice. Spotless room, comfortable bed and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    33
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
47
27
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This was our third stay here at the Horndean Premier Inn and as always the staff were all fantastic. This time we were here for my fathers 65th birthday and we were made as welcome as always. Nothing seems too much trouble for all the staff and they genuinely seem to want to make your stay as good as possible. With thanks this time to Sue, Tanya, Laura, Jade and all the other staff who made our stay an excellent one and to Julia who made our orignal booking.
The nearby Red Lion was also fantastic not only for their breakfast but for my fathers special evening dinner and we would like to thank James, Beth, Emily and Alice.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area and its ideally suited for the 15 minute journey into Portsmouth and the surrounding area. Even though its on the main A3 we have not had any probelms with noise, on either side of the hotel and we will be back again and again. Many thanks to you all

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I can thoroughly recommend this particular Premier Inn. The building is fairly new and sited behind a lovely local pub, The Red Lion which serves the hearty Premier breakfasts and fantastic food in the evenings. The rooms were clean and up to the usual Premier standard, and every member of staff that we encountered, both at the Inn and the pub were friendly and professional. In fact, we remarked to each other during our stay how happy and helpful all the staff were.
The only downside was the constant sound of traffic from the nearby A3, but its proximity is actually an advantage as you can be in Portsmouth in around 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

A lovely location in amongst the bushland, staff very friendly and rooms large and clean.
Nothing to fault with this hotel l would use it again. The only area that could be improved was Breakfast, staff seemed soooo bored with there job. But reception and hotel staff were very nice and friendly. We would stay again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

First time at this Premier Inn - we usually stay at Port Solent. Reasonably quiet location, away from the main motorway (A3M) but close to a trunk road through the village of Horndean. However, with the wiondow closed, there wasn't any intrusive noise. The receptionist was utterly charming and went out of her way to make us feel welcome. It' a shame (and an embarrassment) that I can't now remember her name!

Room Tip: Ground floor could be noisier than others, in my opinion, due to its proximity to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011 via mobile

Great staff clean comfortable room and convenient pub dining. Can't go wrong

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed at this Inn for 2 nights with my 2 granddaugthers, aged 7 and 4. We were made so welcome and all the staff, both at the Inn and at the Red Lion, were wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. The room met all our needs and the food at the Red Lion was perfect for us. I can't recommend it more highly for what we needed - a visit to the HMS Victory, the Ark Royal. the Portsmouth Museum and slot machines at Southsera! Very happy customer! Even a change of towels for our second day!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Portsmouth - Horndean, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thanks for your review we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We welcome your feedback as it is very important to us that our guests enjoy their stay with Premier Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth - Horndean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth - Horndean

Address: 2 Havant Road | Horndean, Portsmouth PO8 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth - Horndean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Portsmouth - Horndean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.