We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel good. Food bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent East to your Saves list
Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent East
1 Southampton Road | North Harbour, Portsmouth PO6 4SA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £62
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel good. Food bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hotel is everything to expect of premier inn.
Breakfast at attached restaurant is to be avoided. Unhelpful management, food delays, long queues, not good value at all. And not all you can eat. Avoid!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    82
    48
    14
    12
See reviews for
94
80
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Usual Premier Inn standard, clean rooms and friendly efficient staff. Our room had a noisy bathroom fan which took a while to stop. Close to a huge Tesco and the marina with loads of restaurants and cinema. Park and Ride is a short drive away which saves parking charges in Portsmouth but only operates on a Saturday. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a grubey, poor Premier Inn below the usual standard. Travelling with family from USA they were very dissapointed with the experience. Next day stayed at Premier Inn at Heathrow and had a much better stay


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Recently stayed at the premier inn for 6 nights over the Christmas period, with my husband and two young children (2 and 3 years old) The staff were all so friendly and approachable. On Christmas Day they were all happy and talkative which made the experience that much more enjoyable (no one likes a Scrooge) The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. The room always looked clean which was nice as always a worry when staying in a budget hotel. The price was amazing as we'd checked other hotels over the Christmas week which increased their prices on Christmas Day and Boxing Day.

Was apprehensive about the busy road nearby and the noise but we didn't even notice it.
The only fault I can find is at their was no air con, you could increase the temperature of the room but not decrease (we ended up sleeping with the window open every night)

Overall a very pleasant stay and would highly recommend the premier inn port Solent east.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel is NOT the big Premier Inn hotel labelled on the main road which we had assumed was where we were staying so we turned up there. They were obviously used to folk ending up at the wrong place. Also the East hotel is close by but not visible from the main road and does not have its own restaurant. You have to go to a Beefeater next door which had the most dismal decor I have seen if you are seated in the interior away from the windows. We were glad we only ate there one night. Fortunately there is a Pizza hut at the entrance to the car park of the big hotel and also a KFC within walking distance as the location is away from any habitation on a business park. The hotel itself was fine and of a standard we expected except that the sofa bed which we only used to sit on was saggy and had very noisy springs. I feel sorry for whoever had to sleep on it!

It was a real bonus to discover after we booked that the Portsmouth P&R which operates on a Saturday is a few minutes drive down the main r.oad and it only costs £2.50 per car icluding return bus tickets for all occupants

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintin, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Very good service from from the staff even though the breakfast staff were very busy dealing with what felt like about 200 children there to see Father Christmas! The room was clean although the sofa was a bit grubby and not comfortable for sitting on. This particular hotel is looking a bit tired now but the one across the road is better. The location is handy for the ferry port and getting straight on to the motorway. I wish that Premier Inns were dog friendly, we were travelling with a puppy who had to stay in the car.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, Essex, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Handy to visit the Royal Marines Museum and close enough to leave the next day to board a cruise ship in Southampton. The standard of the rooms equalled other Premier Inns we have stayed at. Close to a Beefeater Restaurant. First time I managed to get a £29 room.

Room Tip: There are two Inns close by. We first went to the one on the left. Given a code number to get out. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent East

Address: 1 Southampton Road | North Harbour, Portsmouth PO6 4SA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Port Solent East) Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.