We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Great Atmosphere, OK (ish) Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Iguanas - Gunwharf Quays

Las Iguanas - Gunwharf Quays
108-111 East Side Plaza, Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3SY, England
+44 23 9229 3797
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 481 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Atmosphere, OK (ish) Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We visited this restaurant last Wednesday at about 8:30pm. We hadn't made a booking but whilst wondering past we decided to stop off for a late meal and drink seen as the place was relatively quiet.

The overall experience was excellent with lovely drinks and a superb meal. Anyone visiting must try the amazing Chilean lamb shank! Wonderful!

The only let down for us was the lack of attention when we walked into the restaurant. We were totally ignored for 10 minutes by the bar and the waiting staff who simply walked past us without a second thought, not even being asked if we wanted a drink or a table. Eventually we had to go an find a waitress (who provided and excellent service for the remainder of the evening) if we could be accommodated for dinner, only to be kept waiting again whilst a table was prepared. This was frustrating as we'd been in the venue for half an hour before even being able to order a drink or food!

As I said earlier, this was our only moan and hasn't deterred us from revisiting in the near future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    108
    35
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Helpful Manager - Helen,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went hear and had a few minor issues, contacted the manager and she was great and would recommend highly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my first visit to this chain and won't be my last. We visited on a Friday at 5.30 pm.
We didn't book, just walked in on the off chance that they could sit 4 of us... but having said that I would advise you to book as there were people arriving later on that were unable to get a table as it was so busy.
The food here was good and our meals were hot and generous in size. They do a very good set menu which had plenty of choice and was very good value for money.
Our waitress Helen was absolutely brilliant and as we were drinking caipirinha's (one of the best I have tasted and I have tasted quite a few!) she took the time to tell us about her vist to the place in Brazil where the cachaca was sourced. She was also knowledgeable about the different food on the menu and patiently explained ingredients etc as there was a lot of items we had never tried before.I was on crutches with a broken foot and she pushed a chair over for me to rest my foot on while we ate.She is a credit to this company and one of the main reasons we would return.
This restuarant had a really nice vibe to it and I would recommend that you try it if you are in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Typical South American food, not just Mexican.

Service was good if a little slow, there were 6 of us having a meal and so it wasn't too noticable. I dare say if we had been looked after slightly quicker we may have got another round of drinks in, but i do know it is hard to balance.

Quality of food was good and all enjoyed it.

Another fantastic aspect, was that if staying at the Express by Holiday Inn at Gunwharf, you get 25% off the food :-)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, west sussex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“excellent for food allergies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

have been going here since it opened as youngest son has egg and milk allergies! staff are fantastic when we tell them and ask the chef what he / she can cook safely, often coming up with something off the menu. Never had a problem here as they check with us every detail, of course, we tip well!
Love the food, smiley staff, clean loo's and the cocktails are to die for.
We find sometimes we have to wait to be seated if we haven't pre-booked but no longer than 10 minutes and there always seats outside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Iguanas - Gunwharf Quays also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Las Iguanas - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Iguanas - Gunwharf Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.