We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Portsmouth to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Portsmouth
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Pompey Centre | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for just the one night on the 31st of October, at first you hear the budget and you think it's going to be a cheap bog standard hotel, but in all honesty, it wasn't like that as well.
The staff were extremely friendly, the rooms were immaculate, the bed was comfy had a nice sized flat screen tv as well.
Its a 5 minute walk to fratton train station and situated right next door to Portsmouth FC.
the stay is well worth the price in such a lovely city, ive booked up to go to the same hotel again next month for a long weekend. If ever you're down, need somewhere cheap and decent to stay, dont look anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    319
    187
    78
    45
See reviews for
194
277
100
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on two separate occasions in quick succession and both times the rooms were very clean and adequate. I learned from my first visit when I struggled with the thin pillows and requested extra pillows at check in on my 2nd visit, which were gladly provided. Went equipped with travel kettle after reading previous reviews. The only disappointment was the free WiFi did not work on either occasion despite staying both in front and back of building and on different floors, so not sure where in the hotel it does work. Will stay again when next on business in Pompey.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with our offering and glad to know that you will be staying with us again on your next visit to Portsmouth. Please do not hesitate to approach our Reception Team with regard to using the WiFi as it is available to guests throughout the hotel.

We look forward to receiving you.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having stayed at IBIS Darling harbour Sydney Australia i was pleased to see that the brand was consistently good value for money and after an exhausting journey up through France a good nights sleep was a blessing, very comfortable and an excellent receptionist.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your compliments.

We are always pleased to read that our guests are satisified and particularly pleased to know that the brand is consistent. We hope that you will have the occasion to visit Portsmouth again soon and that you will stay with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Well we stayed as a family, just one night. The room was very clean. I would say for £39.00 you could not fault it. The staff were very friendly. I think £4.95 each for breakfast would be a lot. Across the road was a macdonalds with very cheap breakfast.Walking distance to Fratton train station.Rooms have no kettle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We hope that you will have the occasion to stay with us again soon and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skaro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

we stayed at this nice little budget hotel for 4 nights.we booked into a disabled room and wow what a room.lots of space but not to much cupboard space so things went on floor.so this is not a good hotel for long term.we had a problem but staff sorted it quickly and no fuss was made.
this hotel is next to fratton park and is great if you are an away fan.i will stay in this hotel again but only on a nightly basis.

Room Tip: on a good bus route plenty of food places near by great for disabled people
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you would stay with us again. We look forward to the opportunity to host you on your next overnight visit to Portsmouth.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Portsmouth

Address: 4 Pompey Centre | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En-suite facilities, good shower and wash basin are standard in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.