We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Portsmouth

Save Saved
You added Ibis Budget Portsmouth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ibis Budget Portsmouth
4 Pompey Centre | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% OFF THIS SUMMER
Ranked #21 of 39 hotels in Portsmouth
Macleay Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We drove down from Gatwick and were very surprised at the standard for the money we paid. The room was very clean with a separate loo in the room, large shower and hand basin in the room. The bed was very comfortable and large. We found it very quiet. Did not try the breakfast as we found comparable value close by. The number 1 bus stop is not far away and takes you to gun wharf where the main attractions are. It is actually a loop trip so we took the short way into the wharf and returned the long way which showed us some of old Portsmouth as well some more of the sea side

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that your stay with us exceeded your expectations and hope to be able to welcome you to the Ibis Budget Portsmouth again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    245
    143
    59
    39
See reviews for
158
215
82
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

staff helpful, clean rooms and surrounding area , £8,40 for taxi for 6 to wharf waked back ,

beds too hard we have used many Etps through out France and found them to be comfotable we like the firm beds this was like sleeping on a table,so would be reluctant to return ..shameas otherwise great.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that the majority of your stay was enjoyable. Your comments regarding the firmness of the mattresses have been noted and will be taken under advisement. We hope that the sum of the experience will help you overcome your reluctance to stay at the Ibis Budget Portsmouth again and look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

All perfect......Value for money.........only one suggestion....the breakfast needs improvement.
All perfect......Value for money.........only one suggestion....the breakfast needs improvement.
All perfect......Value for money.........only one suggestion....the breakfast needs improvement.
All perfect......Value for money.........only one suggestion....the breakfast needs improvement.
All perfect......Value for money.........only one suggestion....the breakfast needs improvement.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that your experience was a positive one. We look forward to your next visit and hope that you have the opportunity to try the new items in our breakfast buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Having planned to arrive late on a friday night and depart early the following morning the IBIS budget was the best value choice by far. I was initially a little sceptical of the double room going by the description - but was pleasently suprised by the size and cleanliness of the room. Good blinds meant we weren't disturbed by early morning sun! Although the shower didnt offer the best amount of room - it was powerful and hot (a bit of a rarity in my experience in modern hotels nowadays). Only slight negatives were the bed was a little firm for my wife, and the corridors were narrow and slightly noisy - buy hey, for the price I will be coming back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night due to attending an event at The Barn which was roughly five minutes away. Hotel is close to Fratton station as well. The staff at reception were friendly and check in was quick and easy. The room was basic but at least it was clean and comfortable, just wish there was more pillows. Had a nice nights sleep. Breakfast was cereals, toast and drinks and was served next to reception. I noticed someone mentioned in another review about purchasing tokens to get the tea/coffee...myself and i noticed others didn't have to purchase tokens. Overall a nice hotel and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you to the Ibis Budget, Portsmouth again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

"Wifi" says the web page; "£3 for 2 hours!" says the Wifi.

Breakfast buffet had possibly the world's slowest toaster. I swear I saw a man put two pieces of bread through 10 times before it was brown.

Having to request tokens from reception for the hot drink machine? Shambolic and rude given the lack of refreshment facilities in the room.

The "mattress" was astonishing -- only because I've never tried to sleep on a concrete slab before.

Nice TV though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were disappointed to read that your experience at the Ibis Budget Portsmouth did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been noted and, as per our commitment to ensuring guest satisfaction whilst maintaining competitive rates, will be taken under advisement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a budget hotel and therefore you should not expect luxury.

The welcome was very pleasant, with a quick and easy check in.

The room was very modern and extremely clean. It had everything that you'd want, my only complaint would be that the bed was extremely hard. I'm sure that some others would prefer that style of mattress, but I would have preferred it to be a bit softer!

I recommend the hotel for short stay and for what you pay, it's a bargain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the service provided. Your comments with regard to the firmness of the mattress have been noted and are appreciated. As a brand, we aim to make our guests as comfortable as possible while maintaining the competitive rates for which we are known.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Budget Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Portsmouth

Address: 4 Pompey Centre | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En-suite facilities, good shower and wash basin are standard in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.