We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and tidy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Portsmouth to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Portsmouth
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Pompey Centre | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very clean and tidy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and it was a very good location, literally next door to fratton park which is where we wanted to go. Very clean and smelt nice too. Only thing to recommend is maybe in the future they could invest in some travel kettles but apart from that it was brilliant. Staff were friendly and was warm in the rooms. Overall, I would recommend it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Manager at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad you had a nice stay and my team made your stay even more enjoyable. I hope to welcome you again at the Hotel.

Kind regards,
Marta Sajewicz
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    284
    168
    68
    40
See reviews for
176
244
90
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We booked a room at the Ibis Budget as we were going to a show in Southsea.Desk staff were very friendly and helpful and our room on the fourth floor was excellent , we could not fault it for the price,very clean with a nice walk in shower. Only small gripe is no tea making facilities in room. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Manager at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

Marta Sajewicz
Assistan General Manager
Ibis budget Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

If traveling on a budget this is very good,a room on the top floor is probably best, breakfast is value for money also. The only gripe I have with the Accor group of hotels is they still want to charge for Wi Fi as a tip go accross the road to Mcdonalds (you do not have to eat there) where wi fi is free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Manager at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. Also the great news is that we will have free WIFI shortly.

Kind regards
Marta Sajewicz
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

stayed here overnight to attend a family party near fratton station a few mins walk away. great budget hotel, rooms are small but all you need for a night or two, warm, shower was decent not a trickle of water, and two towels, and i had taken my own towel,modern look to the room, lighting controls on the wall near door and over the bed which was clean and quite comfortable and bedding was clean, mirror over sink and full length at bottom of bed, a small dressing table area with a tv above it, and a very small area next to bed with a couple of hangers to hang a couple of bits, my husbands shirt had become creased and he went to reception to ask if they had a ironing board and iron and they did! with no charge if we brought it back when we left for the evening. We decided to only take 1key with us but when we returned the key wouldn't open the door to the room so my husband went to the reception and they gave us another. Staff were friendly and helpfull, and we ordered breakfast for the next morning which was continental style help yourself and we were happy with. Defiantly not the ritz by any means but very good value for money and clean! Will defiantly use again for weekend stays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Manager at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Marta Sajewicz
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was ok. Room was tiny, I could probably reach out and touch each side. Bed was low but comfortable (nothing special). Shower was a cubicle IN the room, the door was frosted glass but with the light on was see through and didn't span the full height of the door. The handle was a hole in the glass (much to the amusement of my boyfriend!) and with the position it was perfect height for someone else in the room to look through at ..ahem...certain bits of your body. Also the position of the mirror on the wall meant anyone on the bed could see into the shower on their left. All in all it was a decent room though that provided us with what we needed - a cheap clean room for the night. So apart from the moaning I just did it was alright!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you were largely satisfied with your stay. We always welcome feedback and your comments regarding room design will taken under advisement.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annonay, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

One or two minor criticisms and one more important one. First the good stuff - the hotel was clean, warm and comfortable and the staff were friendly and knowledgeable.

Minor criticisms - the washbasin in our bathroom was very slow to drain, as if the pipework were partially blocked. Could just be an effect of not enough "fall" to be fair. Our televison didn't work properly - although to be fair we found later that this was affecting the whole hotel and could not be fixed. We were offered movies for free.

Finally our main issue. Charging £4.00 per hours for internet access in this day and age in ridiculous. We walked up the road and found free wifi...............

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Manager at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Marta Sajewicz
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fine for one night. Hotel is a bit out of town but close to football ground. Everything clean and staff very pleasant. Rooms are on small side so would not be keen on staying here for longer than the one night. Having said that excellent value for month.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Manager at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Marta Sajewicz
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Portsmouth

Address: 4 Pompey Centre | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En-suite facilities, good shower and wash basin are standard in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.