We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B. Good value for money. Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duke Of Buckingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Duke Of Buckingham to your Saves list
Duke Of Buckingham
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   119 High Street, Portsmouth PO1 2HW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SELECTED SUNDAYS £49.00
Ranked #14 of 39 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice B&B. Good value for money. Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed at the Duke of Buckingham for 3 nights in July 2010. We found the staff very friendlly, courteous and very helpful. Our room was very small, and the en-suite was tiny, but both were clean and comfortable. I had read other reviews before booking, so I knew what to expect, and we were quite happy with thre facilities.

The B&B is attached to a pub, which actually gave it a good atnosphere. The breakfasts were really nice, and we ate two evening meals there, which were also good quality 'pib' food. I thought parking might be a problem, but we had not trouble findng a place in the street, and they give you a pass to allow you to park there for free.

The place is well located, in a rather quiet, mostly residential street - easy walking distance from Portsmouth's main attractions.

We did have trouble with the hot water in the shower in our room, and ended up using the shared shower in the hallway outside our room (which was fine). When I mentioned this problem, I was told that the hot water in that room (room 4) was a bit 'tricky' - I suggest it is something they should attend to.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    84
    35
    17
    7
See reviews for
37
92
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We arrived at the Duke of Buckingham late afternoon. The street outside was lovely and clean - as indeed is the whole of Portsmouth - and the outside of the pub/B&B looked well cared for. We entered the bar (reception is sited in the bar) and booked in.

As we went through the door to the stairs to access our rooms, we couldn't help but notice piles and piles of bags of what looked like dirty linen. Not nice! We ignored the fact that the stair carpet was worn and dirty and went upstairs to our room on the first floor, nearly falling down a step into the main corridor which was carpeted in the same colour as the rest of the floor and was not signed at all.

The room was virtually filled by the double bed - a window's-width space on one side, less than 2 feet on the other side, and just over 1 foot of space to squeeze round the bottom of the bed. The ensuite shower room was smaller than my wardrobe at home, fitted with a drizzle (I think they called it a shower) with a warning not to use the hot water tap at the same time as someone was showering. Ahem, once I saw the mould in the bottom of the shower tray I only had a shower because we'd had a long journey. Also in the 'ensuite shower room' was a basin too small to wash a hamster in and a saniflo toilet with a socket hanging off the wall next to it. Lovely!

The 'wardrobe' consisted of a row of hooks on the wall at the end of the bed (yes, taking up the 1ft squeeze space!) and a couple of coat hangers. There was in fact a large built-in cupboard in the room, but this was securely padlocked. There wasn't even a wall mirror in the bedroom for when I wanted to dry my hair after taking an age in the so-called shower to rinse out the shampoo!

We ate out at one of the many wonderful restaurants Portsmouth had to offer, deciding to pass on the wonderful offerings from the website-described 'head chef'. Hmmm.

We had booked breakfast though, so made our way down to the bar at 7.30am. On offer was warm apple or orange juice and two urns - one containing what my husband originally presumed to be tea but which turned out to be hot coloured water, the other containing hot water to add to the instance coffee granules presented in a bowl.

After breakfast we noticed that all the bags from the entrance hall had gone (collected?) but imagine our shock when going back to our room to pack and escape to find just over half the width of the narror corridor leading to our room blocked with a row of large bags containing what was hopefully clean linen! Not a good place to put it, particularly if guests needed to get out quickly in the event of a fire!

Let me add here that I have no objection whatsoever to basic - we were in Portsmouth for one night and wanted to save our money for other pleasures. But we've stayed (in Portsmouth and elsewhere) in much nicer, friendlier, better-equipped B&Bs for less than the price we paid at the Duke of Buckingham.

As the title says, if we'd read the reviews before booking in a rush we'd have thought twice. Ah well, once bitten...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conisbrough
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

stayed for one night before catching ferry to san malo,nice clean spacious room ,lovelly clean bar @a nice pint,lovelly breakfast as standard,could have had a bigger breakfast for extra £1.50,but glad i stayed with normal one ,this was more than adequate and nice too,in a area where everything you want to see in portsmouth is close by,will stay there again when i next go to portsmouth now i know a nice place to eat ,drink,and stay in comfort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

I stayed in this 'B&B' for one night. The accommodation is basic but clean. However when in the morning i went to wash my hands and have a shower I noticed there was no shower gel or even hand soap! When i rang the pub thinking that they might just have forgotten to leave some in the room they said 'oh we don't provide it' - what not even hand soap? I said. 'No sorry - we do give you towels' Oh whoopee doo! Now i might be wrong but all B&Bs i have stayed at in my life to date always provide toiletrees - self catering is another thing. You also have to pay up front for this place and they don't tell you when booking that breakfast is not included either! This is not B&B this is just a bed.....!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

they have no soap to wash your hands even after using the toilet, they provide no shampoo, shower gel or any toiletries whatsoever. Breakfast is extra! none of this information is on their website, the say on their web site to ask for whatever you need and they will try to provide it but a simple piece of soap seems to be too much...have NEVER stayed in a b and b where these basic things have not been provided......

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

We spent one night at the duke of buckingham. Didnt know what to expect. The staff are lovely, even show you to your room. Our room was lovely, very spacious and clean. Lots of storage space if needed. Bathroom was a bit small, but again very clean. The food there is amazing and their breakfasts, well i had better there than i have had in 5 star hotels. Nothing too much trouble. Will be definitely be staying there again. Atmosphere is lovely .

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

I stayed here for one night in a triple room with friends after a mini cruise from Portsmuth. The rooms are clean and spacious the staff friendly, and what a fantastic breakfast in the morning for just £4.00, full english with fruite juice, tea/coffee.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duke Of Buckingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Of Buckingham

Address: 119 High Street, Portsmouth PO1 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke Of Buckingham 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Old Portsmouth and surrounded by a wealth of sea faring history, The Duke of Buckingham offers the perfect destination. Our Stylish accommodation with FREE parking is perfect for a short break or longer stay. We are just minutes from the beach and bustling harbour with Gunwharf Quays, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and Portsmouth`s Historic Dockyard all within easy walking distance. We very much look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay in Portsmouth a great one! Please note - We do not serve breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Duke Of Buckingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Buckingham Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke Of Buckingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.