We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Maritime Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Maritime Club to your Saves list
Royal Maritime Club
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I've stayed here twice. Feb 2011 & Apr 2012.
Nice hotel, central and good service. I've stayed in single rooms and they are clean and comfy.
The bar is nice.
The first time alone I just walked in and got a room ok (weekday).
2nd time went with family.
I would recommend if visiting Portsmouth, especially HMS Nelson.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    97
    73
    18
    16
See reviews for
38
82
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My wife and I stopped in the maritime club after attending a works party, on the whole we had a good stay, we slept well,the room was relatively clean except for the shower head which was badly moulded, the club itself is a walk through history with a heavy naval accent which we found greatly interesting, the breakfast was good and very filling even the biggest appetites would be happy, I would have given the club a higher rating but unfortunately we had no hot water when we woke up due to an electrical fault.To be fair we were refunded fifty pounds due to the water issue.
I would stop at the club again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just spent the weekend in Old Portsmouth for a birthday and I have to say that The Royal Maritime Club was a perfect base and I think all the people that came agreed the Hotel was comfortable and within easy walking distance of the Dockyard and Gunwharf Keys. Slightly nervous beforehand because of some of the reviews but I think most of them are pretty dated now. The hotel certainly seems to have upped its game and I would definitely stay here again if the occasion arose.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dartford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Two wonderful days in a superbly interesting Hotel. booked the historic dockyard package, two nights + a year long pass to the Historic Dockyard for under £200.00 for two ( the room and breakfast were worth £190.00) We booked room 101 and it was fantastic large room with Queen size (or larger!) bed and a huge bathroom with walk in shower and enormous jacuzzi bath.Staff helpful and the buffet breakfast had everything on offer.Have read other reviews and do not relate to the negative comments at all. It is obviously worth paying the extra small amount to book a superior room if you want the break to be special. No parking problems if the forecourt full the hotel has an arrangement with the council and you can park adjacent for just £2.50 a day. Location could not be better for the dockyard and the fantastic quayside shopping and restaurant complex. Have no reservation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 101 or any in the updated area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton East Sussex England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Hermitage Club hotel Portsmouth was very welcoming,at entrance, reception staff were very attentive and helpful,the hotel foyer was warm and comfortable,it was a very cold day outside.
The area for parking at the front of the hotel only was already full when we arrived but cheap cost parking was offered by staff,a good deal.The room was warm and cosy,the bed large and comfortable with all the standard facilities,tea,coffee,etc,some noise from late night revellers was heard but a nice room.
.The Bathroom was large with a deep bath and shower this was very clean at all times,when we arrived at the room the wc seat was broken,however a quick word had it replaced immediately.The whole hotel was in need of some TLC,some badly scuffed paintwork and exposed pipework in corridors gave a "not so good" impression.The location was excellent if one is visiting the dock area or the large shopping mall,just 5minutes away.Overall a nice hotel just a little on the sad side with echos of a past glory,I believe the hotel was purpose built as a Naval refuge in the Victorian age,a small notice announces that the lift was opened,maybe even used, by the present Queen! well done!

Room Tip: Parking could be a problem at peak times,side street parking is available at a cheap rate from Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Needed somewhere to stay in Portsmouth and my works booking system threw this up. Was pleasantly surprised. Rooms newly decorated and modern, short walk into shopping area for restaurants (through slightly dodgy looking estate) and a good breakfast. Great for the price

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel has seen better days, the rooms are like cells and not very soundproof . You could hear other people snoring in the next room and other toilets flushing also waste water from other rooms. The radiator did not work but the one good thing was the food which was very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Maritime Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Maritime Club

Address: Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Maritime Club 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Maritime Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Maritime Club Hotel Portsmouth
Royal Maritime Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Maritime Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.