We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week business trip / 1 night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Maritime Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Maritime Club to your Saves list
Royal Maritime Club
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
harrogate
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mid week business trip / 1 night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Refusing to stay in the holiday Inn again which last time was filthy and expensive, i booked this from smoothhound at half the price. I had very low expectations and so was satisfied with the stay. My colleague had higher expectations and was disappointed.
yes is an old dirty place which is in despartate need of a make over. the rooms smelt a bit like someone had just died in it, but the bathroom was clean and functional and the bed was comfortable. I did cover the carpet areas witht the spare towels and they didnt look nice.
No complaints with breakfast, everything you would expect and decent quantity.
For the price i paid (£67) in comparison to other hotels and taking into account the location, i feel the Maritime Club offered good value.
Not a place to impress a lady on a weekend away. Maybe for stag nights, work trips on a budget.
The only other residents i saw in the hotel look like old retired sailors coming for a reunion.
It earns an average score for the value

Room Tip: Ask if any have been updated as the one i stayed in hadnt been touched for decades
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    97
    73
    18
    16
See reviews for
38
82
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole Dorset
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We chose this hotel because of it's location which is as everything of interest is within walking distance. The welcome when we booked in was very frosty to say the least a smile would have been nice!!! Web site says limited parking it is very limited, However there is a public car park nearby.
The room was a good size but that is about all the loo roll holder kept falling off and the toilet seat was broken. The bath had at some time had some tape down the middle which had been pulled off and marked the bath. The shower was pathetic obviously needed replacing. Hotel has no air con in rooms so was very hot.
Breakfast was ok but a bit rushed. The check out time is 10am which is quite early as most hotels are 11am not so good when you have had a night out before.Would not return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This "hotel" is in a prime tourist area in Portsmouth. The reception, bar area and restaurant are reasonably welcoming, however, it deteriorates from there. We had a twin room which was shabby to say the least. Wallpaper hanging from the walls, paint peeling from central heating pipes, poor quality well worn carpet. The bathroom was very old fashioned with a shower over the bath which did not work. The enamel was peeling from the bath and there were water stains on the toilet cistern where it had been leaking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

If you just want location, this is great - very close to train station and Mary Rose, 5 mins walk to large outlet shopping mall. It's rooms are very average but clean, wireless didn't work but helpful staff. For same price I'd recommend going for any b&b nearby. This was my first time here with my fiancé.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My son and his girlfriend are both in the navy, so when they came to portsmouth to celebrate their engagement I suggested they stay at the club, having spent many a year there in the past and enjoyed it. i said it has had an extensive facelift over the years so should be nice.
He booked 2 rooms at £95 each with reduction for naval personnel £75 each room.
They arrived to find that 1 of the rooms was in an awful state and ask to change which they did.
When we arrived I was amazed to find nothing has really changed over the years, especially the ladies toilets there was that awful damp smell and dirty water marks on the wallpaper that I can recall from years past. As a Naval Heritage I would have thought they would have improved on the rooms and toilets. Oh and as for the juke box what can we say. overall we were disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want, do not just book a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The RMC is ideal if you want a cheap place to stay near Portsmouth Docks/Gunwharf Quays.

It's a bit worse for wear and the single rooms are very basic indeed - like a hostel.

Place can be noisy with large groups of young lads on courses.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here end of March, after communication via email and phone was advised that we would be allocated an refurbished room, however this was not the case. But have to say we didn`t comment to management.

The room 2-3 was very tired looking, although appeared clean, but there was a distinctive smell on entering the room.The bed was comfortable but the pillows were so old and battered that they were of little use, and the base of the bed was very old and this showed in the raggy edges. It was in the West Wing and again walking to the room you pass up corridors that are very tired and walls are marked.

The staff were welcoming and friendly at all times, apart from the older gentleman that was waiting on in the restaurant, seemed a little lacking in communication skills. Although the others were great. The food in the restaurant was very average, but the breakfast was adequate, but did have to ask for items to be topped up and there was staff available to ensure that this was done. Nit picking maybe but it wasn`t what I would call a cheap option.

Would we stay there again? Probably not, but location was good really handy for the Gunwharf area and walkable to town centre.

Parking was available which it would appear is a bonus but was on a first come first served.

Room Tip: We were on west wing and directly on side road with flat complex opposite that had lots of lights on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Maritime Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Maritime Club

Address: Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Maritime Club 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Maritime Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Maritime Club Hotel Portsmouth
Royal Maritime Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Maritime Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.