We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lads Weekend Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchwood Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchwood Guest House
Save
You added Birchwood Guest House to your Saves list
44 Waverley Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 37 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Magor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lads Weekend Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The B&B offered first class accommodation, with very comfortable and clean rooms, and an excellent breakfast. Heather and Ken were very welcoming and friendly, and offered helpful advice about the surrounding areas and amenities. The B&B is in a quiet road, but near to the main area for pubs and restaurants. It is also walking distance away from Fratton Park. Overall, excellent value for money!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
47
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay at birchwood Guest House.Our room was a good size.It was very clean and had a comfortable bed.It was nice to have the personal touches in the room that you dont get from the bigger hotels.Very homely.Breakfast was superb.Ken and Heather are a lovely couple who obviously enjoy what they do,We would recommend this Guest house if you are looking at staying in Southsea.Within walking distance to the Kings Theatre,local restaurants and sea front.A lovely walk along the front into Gunwarf.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Advantages
Great, warm welcome even though we were late due to work&travel. Rooms are pleasant&spacious, good value for money, power shower in the room we stopped in (top room, more expensive but worth the money) Breakfast- great choice (croissants could be added) sausages are amazing!!!! Great location!! All you can ask for. Hosts down to earth, friendly.

Disadvantages
Breakfast could be later for people who like a lie in- 8-9 (maybe I'm just picky) by the time you get ready, your late. Parking can be a slight problem if busy, maybe they could allocate spaces for residents/guests.

Overall would come again!! Would recommend this guest house much more personal than a chain hotel! Wonderful people thanks for the x2night stay. Love Heather&Alan.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed 4 nights, as a single traveller, visiting Portsmouth to see the ships of the Historic Dockyard. Right from my first contact, I received a friendly and helpful response from Ken, with good advice about pre - booking a ticket to the Historic Dockyard. Both Ken and Heather welcomed me on arrival. My single room was cosy and compact, and very clean. Ken and Heather met my request, and provided me with a lovely, healthy, scrambled egg breakfast each morning. The guest house is well located, close to the Albert Road, that has a wonderful variety of restaurants. For the price, I could not have chosen a better place to stay

Room Tip: There was just one single room. There was a shower and wash basin, with private toilet along the lan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A wonderful guest house and made to feel so welcome. Ken and Heather went out of their way to make the stay as pleasant as possible, providing valuable tips on the best way to get around Portsmouth and when best to visit certain places of interest. The rooms were tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean, quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, with some of the best sausages I've ever tasted. I would definitely recommend this guest house, as it was one of the best I've visited. Will definitely be visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

An excellent stay at the Birchwood Guest House. Ken and Heather were very friendly, accommodating and helpful. Our room was immaculate and a good size- we couldn't fault it! Definitely one of the nicest B and Bs we have stayed at and we will definitely be returning there when we visit Portsmouth again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My sister and I recently had the pleasure of a stay at the Birchwood Guest House. What a treat! Our room was large and immaculate, food outstanding and our friendly 'hosts' Heather and Ken could not have been lovelier. Look no further for the absolute best Guest House in Southsea. This is it !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Guest House

Address: 44 Waverley Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birchwood Guest House is a family run Bed & Breakfast owned and operated by Heather and Ken Cottrell in a friendly and informal style. This Edwardian Guest House has lovely bright rooms which have recently been re-decorated. Birchwood is located in the heart of Portsmouth and is close to the sea front and award winning gardens. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchwood Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.