We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Statton Boutique, Southsea,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stattons Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stattons Hotel to your Saves list
Stattons Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Statton Boutique, Southsea,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you’re looking for a hotel in Southsea or near to Portsmouth/Gunwharf Quays look no further than The Statton Boutique, Lovely Hotel, staff friendly, Stayed at this hotel for one night, Room was very clean, modern and warm, which was good as the weather outside wasn’t,
Bed comfortable, received continental breakfast in the morning, as stated (Full English was available at a cost) had off street parking but a little tight.
Would highly recommend this hotel.
THANK YOU

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! It’s always nice to hear our guests enjoyed their stay and were satisfied with the services provided. Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon

All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    93
    29
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
234
45
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire,England
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
239 hotel reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Occitane toiletries lifted it to a couple of points that said I wan't able to park in their car park, it was full. It is situated in a very poor and rough area of Southsea, I met two other people going to the same function and they were both perplexed by the area. Although friendly enough I should never have been let carry a case up stairs with no lift in a supposedly 5 star hotel. The room was warm and cosy although the bed showed signs of wear. The roon was minute and the bed base protruded into the toilet bathroom area ( no door) and presented a tripping hazard. There was no tea spoon for the tea coffee set, had to ask for bottle opener then found there was no glass, had given up will to live, nearly get in vehicle and headed home when the drunks and louts started their way home in the early hours, no double glazing so got full benefit of their musings. As breakfasts were too early I was offered a packed breakfast but it never materialised. Certainly a guest house perhaps, a 5* hotel never.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review very out of keeping with every other on here. We take great offence at the “poor and rough” area of Southsea comment given we are minutes from the seaside and parks and infact in an affluent area of the city. The room booked is our small single (advertised clearly as such) and is designed for the budget traveller bored of the chain hotels – it is small hence the clear name so as not to mislead our guests, we advise perhaps reading the room descriptions again and suggest a King size Exec room for your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you again to Southsea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during very cold spell. Hotel was warm & cosy. We moved rooms after the first night as the bed in room 2 was too firm for us. Room 1 was great though. There was no problem changing rooms and Ellie & the staff were very friendly & helpful. Two hand towels in the bathroom should be standard & guests shouldn't really have to ask for another one but that's slightly nitpicking as everything else was good including both the continental breakfast & the cooked one. The hotel chain has a restaurant at one of their other hotels & provided a taxi to take us there one evening. It wasn't busy but was newly opened & not well promoted so hopefully will do better in future. Food & service were of a high standard & a nice change from the usual chain restaurants. Would certainly stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room 1 has divan bed which is quite comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in room 1, found the staff helpful and enjoyed dinner in our new restaurant. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning on coming to Portsmouth – we would be happy to see you again.
We certainly take on board your comment about the hand towels.
Best wishes

All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinca, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The term boutique seems to be a trendy way of describing nice wallpaper and upmarket rooms. This hotel is beautifully decorated, the staff are friendly and the continental breakfast was good. However we had a room with a bath only, which took 30 mins to fill up, the water was so slow and was only luke warm. The mattress was extremely hard and we both had a poor nights sleep. Although they said they sold Presseco by the glass,they didn't have any at all. Needs a bit of attention

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to read that despite your positive comments you have marked us down for your room only having a bath when this is infact what you booked. The room booked is clearly stated to have Bath Only. The mattresses are special memory foam orthopedic mattresses bought just two months ago for every room so I am sorry if they were not best suited to you - it is naturally difficult to find a mattress that suits every hotel guest however we use the best possible mattress to avoid any discomfort.

We do always have a good stock of wine, champagne and prosecco so I am sorry to hear you were not able to have this - I will speak to staff about what happened here.

We were very happy to read your positive comments and hope that we have gone some way to answering the other points.

We do hope you will come back to us in the near future

Best regards

All at Stattons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed here last night for one night with my partner. We had the room with the bath tub. The staff were friendly. The room was spacious, clean, nicely decorated and in a quiet location. Only thing I would have liked was another towel for my hair as we were only given two towels in the room. Would definitely recommend and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you liked the room you selected, I am sorry you didn't have enough towels - staff would have been happy to provide an extra one for your hair if requested. We are pleased you liked the room and will come back and stay at the hotel again.

Very best wishes

All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This small boutique hotel is located is a residential area of Southsea in Portsmouth near (not on) the waterfront. There are godd restaurants 5-10 minute walk away and a good pub with decent food about 50 meters along the street. The staff and friendly and accommodating without being nosy. The continental breakfast was very good. Note that parking is limited and that every room is different. Some have a shower. Others have a tub. At least one is very small (and cheaper) with the toilet located down the hall.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for leaving us a review. We would like to make one correction as all of our rooms are en-suite - we do not have any with bathrooms down the hall. We are very pleased you liked the staff at the hotel and the individuality of the rooms.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards

All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is well positioned just off the seafront in Southsea. It is a 5 minute walk to the Esplanade and the seafront attractions. It has small car-park to the rear which was a very welcome sight after driving down the narrow surrounding streets packed with parked cars. It is stylishly decorated with a modern style and the welcome was warm.

This hotel is a described on its website as “the newest and most luxurious boutique hotel Portsmouth and Southsea has to offer” so we feel compelled to review it against this benchmark and compare it to other boutique hotels we have stayed in. With this type of hotel it is all about the details and we’re afraid to say that this is where it lets itself down. The expectation for a boutique hotel is that every detail is perfect but it isn’t for this hotel. It is very clear that the management are trying very hard but there are a number of crucial areas where it is merely a nice hotel rather than a luxury one. None of the problems are particularly serious but when taken in their entirety they do detract from the overall luxury experience and probably means that it doesn’t justify the luxury price tag. We would describe it as average in the boutique category and so have scored it accordingly.

We stayed in #3 which is the Superior room – the top room the hotel offers.

Bathroom: The hotel is clearly hampered by the Edwardian design of the building and as a result the en-suite bathroom is cramped and poorly laid out. The biggest problem is the toilet. It is positioned in such a way that it is impossible for a normal size person to sit squarely on it. It’s compounded by the fact that the heated towel rail is positioned within 6 inches so that if you tried sitting normally then your leg would be touching it. It’s a good job then that it didn’t work otherwise you would have been burnt! The sink has a small but quite stylish basin, due to the space restrictions but the tap was wrongly positioned so that when you lifted the lever to turn it on it hit the wall behind. It had clearly been regularly forced leaving it wobbly. It was furnished with expensive toiletries but the toilet paper was a cheap brand. The shower head needed descaling, the trim at the bottom was loose and there was nowhere to put the shampoo/shower gel except the floor.

Bedroom: This was tastefully decorated and featured a 4-poster bed. The crowning glory of the room was the bathtub that is positioned in the corner of the room however the plug was slowly leaking meaning it needed to be constantly topped up, the water pressure was quite low, and the taps were on long pipes out of the floor which were very wobbly. We felt like they would detach at any moment so we used them quite gingerly. The tap constantly dripped but could be positioned in such a way as not to make a noise. There was a water stain on the ceiling above the bath. The room is fitted with elegant Roman blinds that fit quite poorly and let quite a lot of light around the edges. The TV is positioned in such a way so that if you are lying on the right side of the bed it is partially obscured by one of the 4 posts. The room information book needs updating as the instructions for the TV are wrong. The wardrobe was quite tricky to keep closed – the interior clips were broken so it was only being held by the decorative pin at the front.

Staff: The staff, in general, were very keen to please and welcoming. However the member of staff on duty when we arrived was unable to answer a simple enquiry about a taxi booking despite being asked on three separate occasions - we never did get an answer. The person serving breakfast was really quite abrupt when we asked to order our cooked breakfast and clearly thought it was more important to clear and re-set the adjacent table than to take our order despite having patiently waited about 10 minutes.

Having said all that it is a good hotel it’s just that it doesn't quite live up to the “luxury boutique” tag. We didn't really have any major complaint about our stay but were expecting the hotel to come up to that same standard as the other luxury boutique hotels we have stayed in so were, quite frankly, a little disappointed and probably wouldn't choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room #9 is right by the main door so would probably be noisy. The single room on the first floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are most sorry to read this and disappointed to see that none of the positive points of your stay within our hotel group such as the beautiful meal you commented on and the service you received at the Group restaurant has been noted down. Also the complimentary upgrade you were offered to our best Suite on the second morning of your stay.

We have certainly noted your points about the room and passed these back to the Designer to amend certain elements of the room such as repositioning the radiator and changing the bath taps and insufficient decorative blinds we have been and looked at these elements of the room and certainly want to make some changes based on your stay to ensure other guest's experiences are enhanced. We will also speak to our breakfast lady about the service provided and address some of these service elements that were lacking.

We are glad however that you did find the hotel overall to be good and that you didn't have any major complaint as you note. We would love to welcome you back to the Suite at Number Four - our new hotel as we do feel this would be the ideal room for you to enjoy.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards

All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stattons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stattons Hotel

Address: 6 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stattons Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel with lounge bar. Free high speed internet and secure off road parking. Minutes from the seafront and a short taxi trip to Gunwharf Quays for shopping and a wide range of restaurants. SHops and restaurants in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stattons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stattons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.