We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osbourne House

Osbourne House
Isle of Wight, PO32 6JX, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 267 Attractions in Hampshire
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks
Attraction details
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

As members of the English heritage we always visit osbourne house, it is lovely to step back in time to Queen Victoria's time and whenever you go you always see something you missed on your previous visits we have not been to the beach yet as we go in October and its closed, but the house is well worth the visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    45
    10
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in amazing grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A lovely day spent in amazing grounds. Osborne house on the Isle of Wight what a lovely day we had. The house was really brilliant a step back in the life of Queen Victoria. A great tour of the house lots to see. The grounds were really lovely a mini bus took us down to Queen Victorias private beach and we had a lovely cup of tea in the tea room overlooking the beach.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Left with a disapointed feeling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I must admit I really looked forward to my visit, but I left feeling that the experience could have been so much more illuminating. While obviously it is arranged as Victoria would have seen it, it feels as if the way it is shown, and the labels and descriptions of the rooms and exhibit's haven't changed either and look poor and faded now.

As others say, you should give the house and gardens a lot of time to visit it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A Royal Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We visited on a beautiful day. The house is very well laid out with lots of very interesting information and very informative guides. The views are spectacular- no wonder Victia loved it. Lovely gardens and walk down to the private beach, we were also grateful for the minibus ride back up the hill. Good tea room were we had home made soup at lunchtime. Well worth the visit

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent a great day here - the visitor really feels as if Victoria and Albert might appear at any moment. The gardens are beautiful and we enjoyed the beach (albeit on a grey and drizzly day). The guides were informative and welcoming - even thanking us for visiting as we left. We had bread and soup for lunch which was reasonable value and the shop was full of enticing books about the Victorian period.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osbourne House also viewed

Romsey, Hampshire
Mottisfont, Hampshire
 

Been to Osbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osbourne House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.