We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found this place very eerie and a great visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient Ram Inn

Ancient Ram Inn
Potters Pond, Wotton-under-Edge GL12 7HF, England
01453 842598
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Mysterious Sites
Attraction Details
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Found this place very eerie and a great visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After visiting on the off chance we were able to go inside and look around. The building itself is very much on its last legs but the history was very intriguing. We didn't go there for that and what we were told was very frightening and would strongly suggest going there if you like the paranormal experience. I was able to take photos and also caught something very strange. Would really love to visit again

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    2
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What an incredible experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I owe great thanks to John and his daughter who were so welcoming and accommodating when my partner and I visited. We called them on the off chance that we could come and have a look and drove down within half an hour.
John showed us round and gave us a very illustrated version of events in each room we went into.
o.k so we didn't see anything ghostly but I was just as intrigued and wowed by the contents of the inn. It's not in great shape but for a building as old as that and seeing John and thinking how frail he looked it's no wonder.

I would go again but to thank him again for being such a gracious host

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimborne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was difficult giving this review the star rating as I didn't look round inside the building.
But the building is fascinating a mixture of ages and sadly in need of major works, we met some locals who were very informative and gave us a real insight into its history. The building certainly has something about it that makes you go home and do lots of research, I will return and hopefully meet the owner, if you are in the area, stop by and take a look for yourself.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ancient Ram Inn”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A building supposidly steeped in history, some of which is doubtful. Desperately in need of refurbishment

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I was disappointed with the whole experience. This place must have been a lucrative business over the years.....I did not see any evidence of any work that had been carried out on that building which is a shame, this should be compulsory purchased asap and hopefully something could be salvaged.
I was not fooled for one minute
The other negative comments are completely justified.


Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Ram Inn also viewed

Cotswolds, Gloucestershire
 
Berkeley, Cotswolds
Bibury, Cotswolds
 

Been to Ancient Ram Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient Ram Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ancient Ram Inn to your Saves list