We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cmfy pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wotton-under-Edge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Swan Hotel
16 Market Street, Wotton-under-Edge GL12 7AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cmfy pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice simple hotel, clean and friendly, lovely large room (2) a bit noisey with the kitchen fans, but really a pleasant room.

Good food and a lovely relaxed atmosphere, the bar was very quaint, breakfast was simple but perfectly adequate.

a bidget hotel providing a decent quality and standard, you cant beat it for value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
20
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night walking the Cotswold Way and was deeply unimpressed. Nice old building and central but room poor with a worn out bed and lumpy pillow, no table or light at one side. Bathroom pokey and the shower had no thermostat so getting scalded was a real risk. Food overcooked- fish and chips hard and kept hot possibly for a few months. Service non-existent especially breakfast where the waiter seemed to be asleep and unable to notice lack of milk, dirty tables and customer needs. We were glad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

After walking all day on the Cotswold Way we arrived and after some confusion were shown to our room. The hotel is in need of a make-over and general cleaning (stains on the hall way carpet) but the location was good. About 20 minutes after we were somewhat settled in our room a knock came on the door asking if we had received confirmation about our booking. Luckily I had the email saved so it was easy to locate. It appears that when I made the booking for 2 rooms (we were walking with friends) back in October 2012 the Manager was leaving that day on not the best of terms. The reservations did not get recorded so we did not actually have rooms for the night. The new Manager, David went out of his way to find us accommodations for the night and even drove us to the new hotel which was some distance away. A big thanks to him :-)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were a group of adults and one child walking part of the Cotswold Way. After reading some of the past reviews my expectations were quite low. However everything turned out to be absolutely brilliant - clean and spacious rooms with comfy beds, nice and baths as well as showers, friendly and helpful staff, a cosy character pub and excellent food at both dinner and breakfast. Would definately stay again. The location is also great right in the centre of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This dinner was for WRFC. Unfortunately the first course of fish cakes, not that fishy at all, could have been dough balls? Second course -Chicken with Cranberry and Brie, which most of our table had chosen, was so over-cooked that there was no Cranberry and Brie remaining and the chicken ended up dry as a bone! The Salmon course was also completely over-cooked. The desserts and cheese were good. The company was brilliant, the ambience and service was good as usual, but our evening was sadly let down by the food. We will think twice about having a meal there again.

Room Tip: We did not stay just ate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Went with my wife and sister for a Friday evening meal out. The service and drinks were good but somewhat let down by some of the food. My gammon and eggs were very tasty and well cooked but the others had fish cakes which were slightly mushy and not particularly tasty. If you try it go for something which has to be freshly prepared.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed for one night recently and greeted by the charming Christine who showed us to our room. Leading up to the room the hallway carpet was extremely stained and did not give a good first impression of the hotel at all. We were shown to our room and first impressions was that it was OK. It had what looked liked a new bed (memory mattress) which was OK and a big television. The décor was clean but wallpaper was beginning to come off at the top (just needs more paste added onto it) and what looked like a burn mark on the carpet?? The fireplace was half heartedly boarded up as well which also let the room down. The bathroom is in desperate need a makeover and the hole in the lino didn't do it any favours either. It did have a nice hot drinks tray with biscuits and nice clean towels . The room was quite small but was ample for the one night we stayed. Breakfast however was amazing 10 out of 10 for that one. I think the only reason I have given an average mark is because of the customer service Christine gave, she was fantastic and a pure gem to this hotel. She appears to work very long hours and I hope the Manager appreciates this? The breakfast was very very tasty, so well done to the chef. Would I recommend this hotel? Sorry but no, purely based on the rooms. However, I would recommend you go to this hotel for a meal/breakfast, which are very reasonably priced and very tasty, you will also, almost certainly be served by the charming Christine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 16 Market Street, Wotton-under-Edge GL12 7AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Wotton-under-Edge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wotton-under-Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Centuary Coaching Inn, The Swan Hotel has been kept very traditional with slight modernisation. Six of the eight bedrooms are En-Suite; the other two bedrooms have a shared bathroom ideal for a family.Our Restaurant, Bar and Snug offer an extensive menu and the choice is yours as to where you prefer to eat: The Bar and Snug with Open Fires in the colder months are warm and cosy. The Restaurant is light and airy with a refurbishment completed just a few months ago.The Bar offers Real Ales from local Breweries, Lagers, Wines and a large selection of Whiskies and other Spirits.We also have a Newsagents within the hotel where you can obtain Daily Papers and Weekly/Monthly Magazines.Our Staff are always willing to please and all have good personalities.The hotel is strongly supported by the local community and love sampling our ever-changing selection of Real Ales - we are also a member of CAMRA ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Wotton-Under-Edge, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Swan Hotel to your Saves list