We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Sausage and Mash” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Hart Inn to your Saves list
White Hart Inn
High St, Winchcombe GL54 5LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Winchcombe B&B and Inns
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gourmet Sausage and Mash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want a traditional English gourmet meal, you have to try the selection of different local sausages and Champ (mash with spring onions) or normal mash with onion gravy for £10. Also, you can have extra veg (e.g. Sprouts + bacon) for an extra £2. It was absolutely delicious! You can also drink it down with a pint of Timothy Taylor 'Landlord' real ale among many other fabulous UK traditional ales. I rate this Inn very highly!
There are a number of other pubs on the high street selling wonderful beers (e.g. Butty Bach) and this makes Winchcombe a rather nice place to be if you've just done a 10 mile walk.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel this time. However, from what I saw, I would like to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    85
    39
    18
    16
See reviews for
25
126
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived late Monday afternoon after walking on the Cotswolds Way and was welcomed with a smile and a lovely interior.
We only wanted something small with a glass of wine.

Two of us had devilled kidneys on toast with a glass of red wine. It was a complete revelation having not had kidneys for years. They were cooked beautifully and were absolutely delicious. The 'red' wine again wasn't some nasty cheap thing shoved our way and was a beauty at £4.75 for a medium sized glass. My wife had the smoked salmon sandwich and again it was beautiful and really full with salmon and not just a few bits hiding behind some lettuce.
All in all a wonderful lunch in a beautiful Cotswold market town.

Well done. We are now planning to go there for a group Christmas dinner.

Great

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights this week for the start of our honeymoon, and loved every bit of it. The food was amazing, we dined every night and had breakfast every morning, the menus were varied and we were never left waiting. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable and the local area was lovely. We went for walks and exploring and had a day in Cheltenham, 20 minute drive away. The rooms were clean and spacious, really cant fault anything about our stay - wish we'd stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good well cooked food served in a welcoming atmosphere with very friendly staff who catered and were attentive to our needs. Sadly only one vegetarian option but the roast i had today along with the other two courses were all excellent. We will be returning again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in today 23 years after we were last there place a lot different I had the beef sandwich my husband had the beer battered fish one of the nicest pub meals we have had in a long time the food was excellent the fish was fresh and well cooked my husband says he could have eaten it over again .everything was very well presented and the staff were very attentive. Will not leave it so long until the next visit

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coningsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were very helpful and attentive and changed the room form double to twin (which I had ordered) quickly while we had a cream tea. We stayed in the Highland room ( room 8) which was musty, damp in the corners and in need of an update but the beds were very comfortable. The food was lovely - the sausage starter is to die for...if you can finish it!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Went into the WH for about the 6th time, and was dismayed to see a large TV showing football in the dining area of the bar.

There is a small dining area off there as well, but many diners like, or did like the area in the bar. After about an hour the manager turned down the sound but not the picture which was concerning two German football teams ( ie not very important).

The food was OK as ever, but who wants to pay £20 for a steak next to a flat screen tv?

Generally staff unattentive, especially when a customer shattered his glass, and it was left 10 mins before a member of staff " brushed" up the debris, leaving quite a lot of it left over to tread or sit on.

Lazy staff and bad management.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Address: High St, Winchcombe GL54 5LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Winchcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Winchcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eat, drink and flop in historic Winchcombe. To some it's a pub, others a hotel. Situated at the heart of the village of Winchcombe near Cheltenham, this ‘restaurant with rooms’ (there are 11) offers the very best of British food and an excellent wine list. Visit the wine shop and try the famous sausages in the Wine & Sausage eating rooms. A perfect place to visit or stay if you love walking or visiting Cheltenham races. Each of the 8 en-suite rooms are individually styled and some have feature beds. In the Wine & Sausage eating rooms located on the inns ground floor they are passionate about real food, the great and simple British dishes that we grew up with. Ingredients are carefully sourced and wherever possible use local and regional farmers, growers, fishermen, producers, brewers and even winemakers. Just a few metres away from the inn you will find the scenic Cotswold Way and Gloucestershire Way footpaths. The Inn is also very popular with cyclists and can help with routes around the area, especially via one or two other 'watering holes'. There's even a hosepipe for washing down muddy bikes. Winchcombe is an idyllic base for touring the Cotswolds and the White Hart is the perfect bolt hole close to the famous sporting and cultural festival town of Cheltenham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Winchcombe
White Hart Inn Winchcombe, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.