We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“liked it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Hart Inn to your Saves list
White Hart Inn
High St, Winchcombe GL54 5LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Winchcombe B&B and Inns
falmouth, maine
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“liked it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at a B & B and heard about the White Hart from a good pub guide. We were going to go to the White Hart for a drink then to the Lion for dinner. The White Hart is kind of cool, good service, has a bar, features wines, indoor seating and nice outdoor seating. We had some good beers, then went to the Lion. . They wouldn't seat us as we didn't have reservations which was OK. But they were kind of dismissive and told us we could have beer and sit in the bar but there was absolutely nothing to eat. No bar snacks, no food. So we picked up and returned to The White Hart. The food we had was actually very good, and we enjoyed it. Great? No. Good - Very good? Yes, and the overall experience was fine. I think most of the reviews are of the Inn, not the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    85
    39
    18
    16
See reviews for
25
126
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The service from the young staff is very good. We have stayed there on a number of times and although I agree with the comments regarding the rooms they range from ok to disappointing I think this Inn does not try to be anything else. The food is very good, choice of wines extensive and reasonably priced with the chance to purchase if required. Great setting and some great mountain bike rides straight from the village. Railway is 15-20 pleasant stroll where you catch a nostalgic ride to Cheltenham Race course or just to Laverton. Don't expect lavish rooms but I think the prices reflect this.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked for 2 nights dinner B&B arriving on 28th Aug, as we drove into Winchcombe we both remarked on how beautiful the village was.
As we glanced around at the public rooms of the White Hart it was rustic and a little "shabby"...but this was fine, after all it was an old building, check in was reasonably efficient, and we went on to our room (a superior double). Our room overlooked the main village street which was pleasant, and the en suite was modern and clean....but the bedroom was a disappointment, scruffy, in desperate need of decorating, shabby moth eaten curtains, hung on poles with mis-matched curtain rings, and a carpet threadbare in places.
We went down to dinner, and were shown to our table by the shift manager, who was having a busy evening inducting a new bar man, we had ordered and collected our drinks at the bar before sitting down to peruse the menu, we had chosen within a minute or two and sat patiently (at first) for one of the waiting staff to take our order, the restaurant was less than a third full and we could see two staff moving about. One of the waiting staff attended to a table near to us at least 4 times during our by now 20 minutes of waiting to be acknowledged, bringing themdrinks, bread, taking orders, bringing a bottle of wine, each time managing to avoid our repeated attempts to get his attention! He also managed to seat two new couples and deliver them of their menus....it was as he went to one of the 'new' diners to take their order.....after having now been seated for 30 minutes! that we decided to leave.
We spoke to the duty manager, who was apologetic...however we felt strongly enough to cancel dinner and breakfast...and our booking for the following night, we ate dinner in a great (and attentive) restaurant next door, only returning to the White Hart to pay for our one night BED ONLY...which incidentally was extremely uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the White Hart on our 2nd night of our Cotswold Way trip. We were given Room Number 1 which had wallpaper hanging off the wall, wasn't very clean , faced directly onto the pub garden so lots of noise and the sash window was broken and was propped open with half a packet of Trebor Mints... I kid you not !!! The only redeeming factor was the food which was well above average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in this b&b for one night while exploring The Cotswolds and what a bargain we had! The price we had for a nights stay including breakfast for two was so cheap I couldnt believe it. We booked it on laterooms.com.
Check in did take a while, staff were rushing around serving food. The lady who did finally check us in was lovely and apologised for the wait. She gave us our key and we made our way up to the Ramblers room. The room was cute and we were sharing a bathroom with 2 other rooms but we checked to see what it was like and it was spotless and was right next to our room.
Winchcombe was a small, lovely village and we are glad we based ourselves there. We had lunch and dinners in the inn and it was beautiful. The specialise in wine and sausages which were so tasty!!
Really want to go back at Xmas time! Thank you for a lovely stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Returned here again and again while on holiday recently. Excellent menu and great choice of wines at reasonable prices. We loved the food and came for breakfast dinner and tea on separate occasions. Staff welcoming and friendly and dog friendly with outside area. Comfortable and relaxed surroundings at good prices

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford, ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently stayed at the White Hart for a week and had a good time. At first was on top floor in a Ramblers Room with shared bath--but bathroom was huge and new, and was with other friends so it worked out well. Was later upgraded to 2nd floor with private bath. Room small but nice and bathroom clean. The most fun was the pub downstairs. The few meals we had there were wonderful and I met and thanked the young chef. The chicken, leak and ham pie was delicious as was the garlic mushroom starter. The lemon posset was fantastic! Got to meet several locals and enjoyed their company. Staff friendly and helpful. Sudely Castle a short walk through town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Address: High St, Winchcombe GL54 5LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Winchcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Winchcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eat, drink and flop in historic Winchcombe. To some it's a pub, others a hotel. Situated at the heart of the village of Winchcombe near Cheltenham, this ‘restaurant with rooms’ (there are 11) offers the very best of British food and an excellent wine list. Visit the wine shop and try the famous sausages in the Wine & Sausage eating rooms. A perfect place to visit or stay if you love walking or visiting Cheltenham races. Each of the 8 en-suite rooms are individually styled and some have feature beds. In the Wine & Sausage eating rooms located on the inns ground floor they are passionate about real food, the great and simple British dishes that we grew up with. Ingredients are carefully sourced and wherever possible use local and regional farmers, growers, fishermen, producers, brewers and even winemakers. Just a few metres away from the inn you will find the scenic Cotswold Way and Gloucestershire Way footpaths. The Inn is also very popular with cyclists and can help with routes around the area, especially via one or two other 'watering holes'. There's even a hosepipe for washing down muddy bikes. Winchcombe is an idyllic base for touring the Cotswolds and the White Hart is the perfect bolt hole close to the famous sporting and cultural festival town of Cheltenham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Winchcombe
White Hart Inn Winchcombe, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.