We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Party!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion Inn

The Lion Inn
North Street, Winchcombe, England
01242603300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Winchcombe
Price range: $0 - $63
Cuisines: European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Dining at The Lion Inn in Winchcombe is a relaxed affair with deliciously tempting food, an excellent wine list and friendly staff. Our chefs source local, seasonal ingredients from the best suppliers in the area and our menus are based on what is fresh & available and change daily. We have included prices in the sample menu, but please note that these may vary depending on the season.For our younger guests, we provide high chairs in the restaurant and child-sized portions upon request.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Birthday Party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Having just had my Birthday Sunday Lunch at the Lion Inn, Winchcombe for 21 people, I can’t say enough about how wonderful the food was and how helpful, friendly and attentive all the staff were.

The Owner and her staff went above and beyond with organising the party for me, especially with the special and dietary requests. I will definitely be recommending the Lion for fabulous food, a great atmosphere and 5 star service. Thank you so much for making it such a special day!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie F, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you - you were a fabulous crowd and i'm so glad you enjoyed your birthday. We all enjoyed it too. Best wishes, Annie and the team at The Lion Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    50
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good fire!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Looks a bit gastro pub but very nice atmosphere and good range of beer. Dorothy Goodbody's on draft so very happy. Ate on a Sunday night and had an excellent beef and ale pie, lots of beef, not just gravy as so many places foist on you. Nice lounge area with fire, easy chairs and the Sunday papers. Finished evening off with a couple of excellent brandies from their wide whiskey and brandy menu.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie F, Manager at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I'm delighted to hear that you had a lovely evening. We do hope to see you again soon.
Kate and the team at The Lion Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No warmth, little choice, no plates”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had lunch at The Lion at Winchcombe yesterday. The lunch menu has only about five main course choices so three of us chose from the Bar Menu - variations on a burger - each priced at £14. The fourth member of our party had the Sea Bass at £15 from the main menu.

The Bass was good, well presented and apparently very tasty. The burgers, two beef and one pork, were each served on a well used, wooden chopping board, scarred with knife cuts and with an unsavoury drain around the edge. The chips, salad garnish and a ramekin of onion chutney were also on the board. The burgers were small but acceptable, the toasted buns were very, very dry, the chips were large and dry and, because of the way it was served, it was impossible to eat the food using a knife and fork. Taking the burger off the bun to cut it meant placing it directly onto the dirty looking wooden block.

There was neither water nor butter offered.

Two puddings were said to be good. The third member of our party wanted icecream and sorbet but apparently diners were not allowed to know, or choose, the flavours available, this was left to the kitchen staff. Our friend was advised by the lady waitress that the menu said a ‘selection’ and that was what he would get! He was grateful however to be able to stipulate that he did not want strawberry!

We asked for filter coffee - something else not possible - but we were able to order Americano coffees.

The Lion, which has obviously been refurbished with care and at great expense, appears to be run for the convenience of The Lion management, rather than their customers. The older man and woman (the owners/management?) who served us were short tempered to the point of being surly. The young male waiter on the other hand was charming and helpful. It was he who finally answered our question about a particular dressing on the menu - the women was quite obviously irritated by our question, telling us it was virgin olive oil which was incorrect.

In summary The Lion needs to rethink its very limited menu, start using proper china and consider wider aspects of serving food other than its immediate appearance. Clean plates instead of old wood blocks would be a good start. The Lion’s management desperately need to start valuing their customers and should attempt to to see things from their diners’ point of view, rather than their own.

Three positive points; the beautiful linen napkins, the soft white handtowels in the loo and the charming young waiter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie F, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I am disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your lunch. I wish that you had made your feelings known at the time, which would have allowed us to apologise to you in person and make some recompense.

To put your mind at rest, please let me assure you that the boards we use are spotlessly clean. We have an EHO rating of 5 which we take very seriously.

I do hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxed lunch, thank you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Have now been a few times for casual lunches, Sunday lunch etc and I have to say the food is exceptional. The option of eating in the bar, restaurant or in the 'Snug' provides a welcome choice. For those having wine, it's perhaps a little on the expensive side and agree with others that the menu is a little limited. All in all though it's a real asset to the town!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie F, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you - we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes, Annie and The Team at The Lion Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would be 5* but menu limited”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We gave this a try with family after reading reviews. Food ordered was excellent. The service was friendly and efficient the only negative was a limited selection of starters and mains. Slightly expensive for what was essentially a pub meal. Maybe it's because we have memories of previous incarnations that we thought presentation and decor was aspirational rather than suiting the style of building. On the whole a good dining experience compared to previous not so satisfactory visits before the makeover.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie F, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Many thanks for your review - we're glad you enjoyed your meal. We appreciate your comments about the menu and hope that we will be able to tempt you back on a future occasion. Annie and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lion Inn also viewed

Winchcombe, Cotswolds
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
 
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.