We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wesley House

Wesley House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchcombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wesley House
Save
You added Wesley House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   High Street, Winchcombe GL54 5LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Winchcombe B&B and Inns
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Nice quirky room. No straight floors but the bed was straight lol.

Very nice staff. Well welcomed and properly handled.

Superb breakfast. The best we had on the Cotswold way.

Nothing bad to say. Recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Desborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

As has already been commented on in other reviews, The Wesley is a very old building, has no parking facilities, double yellow lines outside so parking is hit & miss, a few minutes walk away being the nearest place to park. The shower is electric, not power, hot water slow running, rooms not huge, and awkward creaky steps to get to the bedrooms. HOWEVER - all of the above adds to the charm of the place - if you are looking for all that the place lacks, then the Wesley is not the place for you, stick to the chain hotels! We like staying in unique places and the Wesley is certainly unique! Our room was 'Sandy Hollow', a pretty room with a bay window at the side of the house, no views, but full of character. A nice touch is the cafetiere in the bedroom with a flask of real milk and pretty little tins of ground coffee, tea bags and cocoa - makes a change from tubes of nescafe which you find in most hotels! Breakfast was lovely, good quality and plenty of it. If we were being picky then a possible improvement would be a choice of fruit to start with - on arrival at our table there was a dish each containing apricots and yoghurt, fine for me, but my partner doesn't like apricots and having left them the first morning, was still served them the following morning! All the staff were polite and friendly, and Matthew came out to have a few words with us on the first morning too, which was a nice touch. To summarise - if friendly, quirky & unique is what you are looking for, then this is a place to try. If large rooms, plush bathrooms, and private parking is what you are seeking, then stick to the large standardised chain hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Front of house and behind the scenes - everyone worked so hard to make our wedding day perfect. The food, service and venue was second to none! Every last detail was taken care of so that we could enjoy the day without a worry in the world.
Our bedroom - Mumble Meadow - was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Lots of attention to detail.... fresh milk, home made biscuits, bottled water (still and sparkling). The bathroom although small had plenty of hot water, toiletries and clean, white towels.
We can't recommend it highly enough!
Ask for Matthew Jones for that extra personal touch!
Finally, a cheap car park £1/day within 5 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Despite secondary double glazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Matthew runs a unique hotel in a beautiful village. the rooms are a bit small but very stylish. the sheer elegance of the bar and the quality of the dining room make for a great break. The restaurant deserves a Michelin star. it is sheer luzury and quality

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I didn't stay at Wesley House as my daughter lives just round the corner, but her husband took the family there for a lunch to celebrate her 50th birthday. The ambience is very good, the menu small ( which I prefer )' and the choice and presentation excellent. We found the service to be just as we like, prompt but not hurried ,and the food well prepared - all plates were finished ! All in all, a good choice by my son-in-law.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Eight of us stayed here for my brother's 60th birthday last weekend, he'd done some research into places to stay which could accomodate us all and had a quality dinner menu.
We all arrived at different times and all received a warm welcome. We loved our room; I think if you want a large soulless room stay in a large soulless place!
Wesley House has personality, the food is excelllent, staff friendly, and rooms beautiful. Oh, almost forgot...breakfast was 5*.
I recommend it.

Room Tip: Well, we slept in 'Sleepy Hollow'. No views but a lovely comfortable bed. If you want views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed for one night in the Garden Room at the back of this historic property. The room was perfect, quiet with great views of the hills, and breakfast was elegant and delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wesley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wesley House

Address: High Street, Winchcombe GL54 5LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Winchcombe
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Winchcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wesley House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Wesley House Hotel Winchcombe
Wesley House Winchcombe, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wesley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.