We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cotswold walking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blair House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchcombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blair House
Save
You added Blair House to your Saves list
Gretton Road, Winchcombe GL54 5EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Winchcombe B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cotswold walking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our initial welcome was cool at best. As I now read in other reviews, we also felt like we were imposing on the hostess rather than being welcomed as a guest. I should have been forewarned as this was the only B&B that we stayed at in the Cotswolds that insisted on a cash deposit (check) to hold the room which we did send which is difficult to do from another continent. The room while nicely furnished was very small with minimal room to even put a suitcase let alone unpack. Overall an odd and unpleasant experience. I would recommend one seek alternative lodging if possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, Manager at Blair House, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback – it is important to us so we can improve and ensure our guests have a pleasurable experience – which many do as our visitors book affirms.

On your specific points:

“Cheque deposit from America”. It is customary however that some guests offer to send us a foreign cheque especially if they do not have online banking facilities. We have since reviewed our deposit process from guests abroad and will be reverting to an online BACS solution instead of requesting foreign cheques.

“Small bedroom & minimal space”. We have reviewed our accommodation and will be offering the room you stayed in for Single occupancy. We feel that there is enough space for one person.

We do apologise that your stay with us was not satisfactory but please rest assured we have taken action in response to your feedback. We hope you had an enjoyable stay in the Cotswolds !

Kind regards

Blair House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    4
    6
    0
See reviews for
9
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We loved Winchcombe but were overall disappointed with the B&B. Our room was comfortable enough but the communal breakfast arrangement was a bit full on for early morning. If you enjoy socializing at that time of day this place is for you! Also the breakfast itself was average. Having said that Blair House is in a great convenient position in the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, Manager at Blair House, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback – it is important to us so we can improve and ensure our guests have a pleasurable experience – which many do as our visitors book affirms.

On your specific points:

“Communal breakfast”. As you know we have a large dining room table where guests from all walks of life enjoy breakfast. We acknowledge this may not be to everyone’s liking and will ensure our website informs people in advance.

“Average breakfast” As you will recall we offer Tea/coffee/juice, cereal, fruit and the choice of either a Full English (sausage, egg, fried bread, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms) or a scrambled egg with bacon, cherry tomatoes and mushrooms . We also cater for any alternative a guest would like (eg boiled egg, poached egg) . We apologise if breakfast was not to you liking. We will be updating our website to inform all guests that this is what we offer – so we manage expectations.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay in the Cotswolds.

Kind regards

Blair House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The smell of animals hit me as soon as I entered the house. Three cats and two dogs to be precise. Our tiny guest lounge was not clean - the settees were covered in cat hair and when we came back in at 10 pm, a large cat litter tray had been put in there with a dish of cat food and water, so the room clearly doubled up as the cats' room. I couldn't bear to go in there again, so we had to either stay in our small room or else go out in the rain. In fact the cats had the full run of the house, coming into our bedroom, sitting on the dining chairs at the table that we were to be served breakfast on, and two large dogs lived in the kitchen where food was prepared.

The view from the bathroom window was of a pretty back garden that was ruined by the unmistakable sight of several large piles of dog mess that hadn't even been cleared up. We had to sleep with our windows wide open because of the animal smells, and on our second night we were moved to a larger room which was much nicer and had a sink, but unfortunately smelled of sour milk or mould... again we had both windows wide open throughout the night.

Using the shared bathroom was not easy - after two or three attempts I succeeded in finding it vacant, but then I couldn't relax at all because I was aware that others might be waiting to come in. And having to navigate the stairs and corridor in the middle of the night whenever I needed the loo was not a joke! Breakfast was nice, as long as I didn't think about all the animals in the kitchen, and the land lady was chatty and friendly.

This experience unfortunately spoilt for me what was meant to have been a special weekend with my brother who had come all the way from the States on a visit. My advice - don't go here unless you're okay with all the pets.

Room Tip: Only one ensuite room available, so make sure you ask for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, Manager at Blair House, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Ruhi

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback – it is important to us so we can improve and ensure our guests have a pleasurable experience – which many do as our visitors book affirms.

On your specific points:

“Animals” As you correctly point out we do have some domestic animals. While the majority of our guests enjoy seeing them we acknowledge this is not to everyone’s liking and we have updated our website to advise accordingly before guests book. The weekend you stayed with us unfortunately we were nursing an unexpectedly ill cat which is why we used the room you mention as a one off occurrence. We should have advised the room in question was out of action and offered you an alternative sitting room – we apologise for this.
In terms of “animal smells” we make every effort to ensure our B&B is clean and free from “animal smells”. We haven’t received any comments like this before but we welcome your feedback and will ensure we focus on this.

“sour milk and mould” This was due to a guest inadvertently leaving a tap on in your room the day before which overflowed on to the carpet and on to the floorboards. We did our best to remedy the situation by applying cleaning materials and even hairdrying the carpet ! Unfortunately we did not have any other rooms to offer you instead. We apologise for any inconvenience caused relating to this one off occurrence.

“Bathrooms” We have made provision to offer another bathroom if vacant. With respect to the 3 stairs to get to the bathrooms there is little we can do about this as this is how Georgina homes were designed. We will however take your feedback and ensure the website informs visitors that the bathroom is located 3 steps along the corridor.

I hope you enjoyed your weekend in the Cotswolds in spite of this. We recall we had goods chats at the breakfast table and your brother enjoyed being interviewed at our local radio station !

Kind regards

Blair House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was day 3 of our walk and Blair house was below the standard of our other stays as we had to share a bathroom with goodness knows how many other people. Breakfast was the same as everywhere else. We couldn't use the guest lounge as the house was full of family members. All in all a very strange experience as we felt we were imposing!!!!

Room Tip: find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, Manager at Blair House, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback – it is important to us so we can improve and ensure our guests have a pleasurable experience – which many do as our visitors book affirms.

On your specific points:

“Breakfast same as everywhere else” As you will recall we offer Tea/coffee/juice, cereal, fruit and the choice of either a Full English (sausage, egg, fried bread, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms) or a scrambled egg with bacon, cherry tomatoes and mushrooms . We also cater for any alternative a guest would like (eg boiled egg, poached egg) . We will be updating our website to inform all guests that this is what we offer – so we manage expectations.
We apologise if your breakfast was in any way “average”.

“Bathrooms” We have acted on feedback and made provision to offer another bathroom if vacant

We hope you had an enjoyable stay in the Cotswolds.

Kind regards

Blair House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our stay at Blair House was OK, but only ok. For the same money we much better standards along our walk - we did the Cotswolds Way, July 1011.They advertise 3 occupied rooms- I en suite ground floor & 1 twin and 1 double on first floor, which share a bathroom. When we were there our friends had an 'extra' double on the first floor - complete with personal belongings/id docs in drawers, which made us think that it was someone's bedroom, and not a truly letting room?? There was also a young french man who occupied a sort of attic garrett -disapprearing thru a curtain opposite the bathroom. I calculated this meant that there were actually 7 people sharing the one bathroom/toilet combi!! There were no 'top quality' toiletries - they were all old stuff from hotels/samples................... Waiting, I'm afraid, was the order of the day. The lady of the house wasn't at all keen about me taking a bath, prefering us to take an electric shower - which was pretty pathetic, as electric showers tend to be.
Due to the fact that there wouldn't normally be so many 'guests' breakfast was a 'timed ticket' type affair.Other guests were literally waiting at the door of the dining room for us to leave. Nothing relaxing about breakfast time, then! The speciality of scrambled eggs and tomatoes was nice enough, but there were only 2 cherry toms per plate......... not exactly generous.
Dogs and cats are ok if you don't mind them, but what if you do? The dogs were quite smelly, as longhaired varieties tend to be. My friend is alergic, and wouldn't have stayed if she'd known there were dogs at large. Mrs Blair was knowledgable about the area. She clearly wasn't to be crossed though. We walked the Cotswold Way during a week. This was the most disappointing place we stayed at. Fussy, stuffed full of stuff, and overcrowded - especially as there was only one toilet between what turned out to be 7 guests. Not at all what we led to believe by the website, and not as comfortable in terms of toilets and bathrooms as most normal homes, but no reduction in price to reflect the apparent overcrowding

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, Manager at Blair House, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback – it is important to us so we can improve and ensure our guests have a pleasurable experience – which many do as our visitors book affirms.

We realise you stayed with us a year ago but we would like to advise you about improvements we have made.

“Advertised rooms” – on the first floor we advertise 1 Twin and 1 Single with a shared bathroom. We have also made another bathroom available guests can also use if vacant.

“Top quality Toiletries” We replenish our bathroom with toiletries from “Out of Eden”

“Bath or Shower” Our visitors have use of the bath or shower but we did explain more about the power shower ensuring our guests know how to operate it. When showing guests the bathroom we make reference to the bath and the shower

“2 tomatoes on the plate” We have increased the number of cherry tomatoes

“Domestic animals” As you correctly point out we do have some domestic animals. While the majority of our guests enjoy seeing them we acknowledge this is not to everyone’s liking and we have updated our website to advise accordingly before guests book

I would like to point out that we have recently re-decorated a number of rooms – as we do every year.

Many thanks again for your feedback – please rest assured we have acted on it.

Kind regards

Blair House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Blair House was the second stop on our (my daughter and I) Cotswold Way walk. This was a 20 mile day and we were so glad to finally reach our destination! Sarah gave us a warm English welcome and suggested several restaurants for dinner. We had reserved the twin double at the front of the house and enjoyed our view of the street. The room had a hotpot, tea bags and biscuits for an anytime snack. Sara's gardens (front and back) were tended with loving care! We slept like babies on comfortable beds - each with a down comforter/duvet cover. It's very possible "anhonestlady" stayed in our room - I think the "unneccesary furniture, chinzy furnishings and ornaments" are in the eye of the beholder. I looked at these items as a "treasures and memories" collection and as such added to the ambience of the room/house!

A filling breakfast was served in the dining room where we visited with a couple from Sweeden. After service Sarah joined in; we enjoyed another cup of tea and relaxed before heading out on our walk.

We would return again if we were in the Winchcombe area and also recommend Blair House for a B & B accommodation!

Note: When we made our reservation, we were aware that the bathroom was shared. We experienced no waits or interruptions.

Room Tip: Some rooms share a bathroom - ask when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I feel compelled to disagree with "AnHonestLady".
My husband and I have just spent a very enjoyable 3 night stay at Blair House. and we could not have been made more welcome.,The food was excellent, the rooms were quiet, spacious, and tastefully furnished, colour co-ordinated, very clean, with comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities.
The lady in question, would have been advised that her room was not en-suite, and I find it quite incredible, that she was not able to access toilet facilities for over an hour, as there are several options available.
As for toiletries, we found a large selection of top quality soaps and lotions in the bathroom, and plenty of fresh towels .
As for the quality and choice of food, we have found many top class hotels offer food which has been kept on a hot plate for long periods of time, unlike Blair House, where it is freshly cooked to order., and if the lady had wanted brown bread, she had only to ask for it, as we did. Same applies to fried bread etc.
We look forward to visiting Blair House again, and would warmly recommend it to anyone.


seeing "AnHonestLady

Room Tip: Request ensuite if required, same applies to choice of food at breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blair House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair House

Address: Gretton Road, Winchcombe GL54 5EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Winchcombe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Winchcombe
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Blair House Winchcombe, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blair House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.