We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sudeley Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sudeley Castle

Sudeley Castle
Off B4632, Winchcombe GL54 5JD, England
+44 1242 604244
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Romantic ruins, award-winning gardens and one thousand years of fascinating history are among the many reasons to visit Sudeley Castle, which nestles in the Cotswold Hills in the historic town of Winchcombe, Gloucestershire, 8 miles from Broadway. Sudeley is the only privately owned home in England to have a Queen (Katherine Parr, Henry VIII's sixth wife) buried within the grounds. With a new visitor route which includes Castle rooms - some never before opened to the public - a '20 Treasures of Sudeley Tour', plus a Cafe, play and picnic area, pheasantry and events throughout the season, there is something for everyone at this must-see Cotswolds attraction. Sudeley Castle is open seasonally from mid-March until the beginning of November.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sudeley Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

A lovely place to visit especially if you like wandering around someone else's home! It was very informative and the exhibitions were very good

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian J, Guest Relations Manager at Sudeley Castle, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you for coming to wander around Sudeley! We are glad you liked it and grateful for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    177
    59
    34
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“History for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Sudeley offers history at your fingertips and really brings it to life. It's a fabulous experience with something for everyone, no matter what your taste. We were three generations and all loved it! The lunch at the café was also delicious and tasteful. All in all, a really superb visit that I'd recommend to anyone!
Pippa C

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian J, Guest Relations Manager at Sudeley Castle, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
It's really great to hear that all three generations enjoyed the Sudeley experience and felt the history here, it's always nice to hear that the exhibitions are appreciated.

Thank you for coming to see us, and also for taking the time to write us a glowing review. Do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southcoast UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lovely castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Really nice castle with a lovely garden and lots of really interesting history.

has a tea room as well.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian J, Guest Relations Manager at Sudeley Castle, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for visiting, and for leaving us a positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Romance, history, war that's Sudeley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

A great place to visit. Has a unique atmosphere and aura all of its own.

This is a romantic castle with history over load. Almost too much to take in. Exhibits fascinating from Roman to present. Knowledgeable guides and good video sessions.

Restaurant is OK although I can imagine it getting busy. Roses are fab in early summer and St Mary's chapel is just lovely.

Would help the cause to go on a dry day and explore the full gardens. Great big wooden fort for the children. Can be a bit slippy when wet.

Only negative is that I can see mobility challenges for wheel chair users and those who have walking difficulties.

Just go.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian J, Guest Relations Manager at Sudeley Castle, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you! Sudeley does have a very special atmosphere, it's a magical place! We are of course delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much and appreciate our rich history.

Unfortunately access IS limited to those in wheelchairs or with mobility issues - we do stress all of this in the accessibility section of our website and are always happy to explain to individuals what is and what is not accessible if they call or email us directly. Our policy is to be absolutely crystal clear on this - there is no point in misleading anyone!

We appreciate your recommending us and I couldn't agree more, people should just come and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“History & 21st C live revealed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Sudeley has so much to enjoy, the historic ruins, the gardens, the Church that houses the tomb of Katherine Parr and a glimpse of life in a castle provided by the present Lord and Lady Ashcombe.
There is so much to see and do.
We spent hours looking at all the rich articles on display, of course you can skim it if it isn't your fancy; but the history is here! There are several guest and private rooms utilized by the present day occupants, photos of their prize horses, and many with the current Royals. As we wandered in the gardens I tried to imagine what life must have been like for Katherine. All in all a delightful day at Sudeley.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian J, Guest Relations Manager at Sudeley Castle, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely words. It is always incredibly rewarding to hear that visitors have felt themselves somewhat 'transported' - imagining what life was like at Sudeley during its colourful history. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed looking at the photos of the current occupiers, as well! We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sudeley Castle also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to Sudeley Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudeley Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.