We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cheerful, comfortable rest stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Silk Mill Lane

One Silk Mill Lane
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchcombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
One Silk Mill Lane
Save
You added One Silk Mill Lane to your Saves list
1 Silk Mill Lane, Winchcombe, England   |  
Ranked #3 of 12 Winchcombe B&B and Inns
Corona, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very cheerful, comfortable rest stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

One Silk Mill Lane was a wonderful place to stay during our 55 walk through the Cotswolds. We spent two nights there and felt so welcome and pampered. Jenny is a lovely woman, very generous and helpful. The room was immaculate and very cozy, and breakfast was great! We met others on our walk that raved about this place, and we certainly agree. The very best accommodation in a beautiful, and interesting, Cotswold village.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Harmony, UT 84757
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Our group of four senior citizens walked the Cotswold Way from Chipping Campden to Bath. One Silk Mill Lane was a wonderful oasis after a long day of walking. Jenny was very warm and friendly and most helpful in recommending a pub for dinner. This B & B has WiFi and the owners also let us use their computer to check our email. Our two rooms, each with their own bath, were on the second floor. The rooms were attractive and clean and breakfast was plentiful and good.

Barbara K. Utah

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stay at One silk mill lane and enjoy the hospitality and great room, bed and breakfats. We have stayed in many b and b's in Britain and this is one of the best. Close to the heart of Winchcombe, a great Cotswold walking area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Very nice bed and breakfast with friendly but unobtrusive owners. They were helpful in recommending walks and restaurants. Excellent breakfast was served and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

This B&B is situated right in the heart of Winchcombe, just off the high street, and walking distance to Sudely Castle (though the 'five minute walk' claimed in their entry on some websites is just to the edge of the grounds - the castle itself is more like a 15-minute walk).

We'd booked over the phone, and paid no deposit (we'd offered, but been told none was needed), so were slightly concerned that it was all a bit casual, and our room might not be available when we got there. We needn't have worried though, as the laid-back booking pretty much set the theme for our stay.

Parking was a bit tight, but then that's the case with the whole of Winchcombe and its narrow streets (plus I've got a Volvo estate, and if that fits, pretty much anything will). Getting up to the entrance was a bit tricky too, as it's up a steep flight of narrow steps, so older people and those with a lot of heavy bags may struggle a bit.

That's pretty much it for the negatives though. The owner, Jenny, was very welcoming, showed us to our room, gave us some suggestions for where to eat locally, and even offered to drive us back to the castle in the morning, if we decided to leave our car there overnight, following our friends' wedding reception.

The room was spacious and well-furnished, with a large comfy bed (two singles pushed together to make a double, but you wouldn't have known it while sleeping), lots of light, a decent (if slightly small) en-suite toilet / shower room, and good tea and coffee making facilities (fresh milk, not UHT, and cookies). We were also offered use of the dining room if we had wanted to order a takeaway (though we'd recommend the White Hart, a minute's walk away, if you want some good food).

We got back to the room late in the evening, so can't comment on noise levels earlier on, but it seemed very quiet and peaceful while we were there.

After a good night's sleep, breakfast in the morning was excellent - cereals, fruit, proper coffee (by the bucketload), and a big fry-up. The dining room is on the cosy side, with only one table, so expect to mingle with your fellow guests (though ours were very friendly, so that wasn't a problem).

When we left, we asked if we'd be able to leave our car there for a couple of hours while we met friends for lunch, and were told no problem at all. Check-out time seemed to be 'whenever', so we never felt rushed.

Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable stay, and if we're back in the area again we'll certainly be trying to return there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

One of the best bed & breakfast stays on our 10 day walk. Very friendly, good accomodation & excellent breakfast. Well located in interesting town with good pubs etc in easy reach. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We arrived after a long walk some 18 miles to be well received and shown to our very large room complete with a well earned bath and Radox salts provided.The owners were helpful in recommending a good pub for both ourselves and friends that were also staying.The rooms were quiet and the breakfast as good as anything we experienced on our weeks travel.The owners even dried our damp clothes overnight.I would go back to silk mill and recomend it to anyone. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One Silk Mill Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Silk Mill Lane

Address: 1 Silk Mill Lane, Winchcombe, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Winchcombe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Winchcombe
Also Known As:
One Silk Mill Lane Winchcombe, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Silk Mill Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.