We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lord it up at the Manor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lords of the Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lords of the Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Lords of the Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Upper Slaughter, Upper Slaughter GL54 2JD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Slaughter
Cabrieres-d'Avignon, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lord it up at the Manor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

A beautiful old Manor house in the heart of the cotswolds which really does live up to its reputation. The greeting was very warm and friendly and the staff are excellent, discretely ever-present. The room was spacious and delightfully furnished. Super restaurant, one star Michelin, which, for dinner, represented great value. A super wine list to accompany the fine food though, as I remarked to the very friendly sommelier, there were a few too many good value wines out of stock. In mitigation he was just about to change the list and waiting for some goodies to arrive, so enjoy. Overall an excellent stay in a lovely location with great staff and terrific value-what more can you want.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    144
    43
    24
    11
See reviews for
69
472
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is a lovely select hotel with first class service from all staff. Our room was fabulous we wanted to take it home. The evening of canapés and 5 courses was lovely, we really enjoyed everything. The hotel is in a lovely setting in the Cotswolds although driving on the roads to the hotel would be difficult at certain times of year I guess. So glad we took up the Amazon offer which reduced the price otherwise it would have been out of our reach. Nothing was to much trouble for any member of staff would highly recommend the service. Would love to return for another romantic evening in the future.

Room Tip: We had a lovely which over looked the front and was quiet. I would think that all rooms in this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed using an amazon local deal though they do have some good midweek deals on their own web site as well. We were pleasantly surprised by the room which was a good size, quiet and well appointed. It was lovely to find a 6ft bed and huge towels and we slept well. Like other reviewers though, I was a bit surprised there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

The service was very friendly, neither over-familiar nor stuffy. The sommelier in particular really went out of his way to ensure we had the right wine for us.

There were a couple of points that stop this being a 5 star review. One, regretfully, is actually the food. It was lovely, but not spectacular, which really surprised me. The second was that though they have a really extensive wine list, they don't offer a food/ wine combination so you have to guess what would go well. The sommelier did his utmost to make this happen but again, I've had better wine, often for far less. It was nice, but not spectacular (and at £50 a bottle, even though that is one of the cheaper options, you feel it SHOULD be spectacular). The final point was that we were offered tea or coffee in the lounge or garden, but we were expecting someone to tell us it was ready and I think the staff were expecting us to head out there and they would find us - by the time we'd figured that out, we'd gone off the idea.

Overall it was a bit of a strange experience; the dining room seemed to be full of amazon deal customers speaking in hushed and slightly overwhelmed voices (all couples, no families or groups) which lent a bit of an odd atmosphere to it.

Breakfast was also fine - again, not overwhelmingly wonderful, but certainly no issues with it - and we turned up a little early but that didn't seem to cause any problems.

Overall, we had a good overnight stay, good service and a lovely meal, for which we certainly paid a fair price, but we did not love it enough to rave about it or count down to next time we can get a babysitter to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We visited this wonderful place for a second time in June.
It is a truly great way to spend the weekend or just a night away.
From the moment we arrived it was just perfect.
The staff are so helpful and just make it all so easy.
We absolutely love the gourmet meal and the wine list is very good and reasonable.
The manager Peter is so caring and attentive he just completes the package!
It is so good that we have booked a further 3 visits this year.
It really is that good!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We visited the hotel using an Amazon Local offer which reduced the price quite a bit. The service on the first day was fabulous. The five course meal we had was delicious as were the canapes.
During the evening meal there was a major power cut affecting the local villages; the staff did fantastically well: they kept us informed and plied us with freebie wine. Breakfast the next day was somewhat different: items on the breakfast buffet had not been replaced, our table was only partially set and my cooked breakfast took a bit of time to deliver. This could have been a result of the previous night's power cut as we have had breakfast at the hotel a number of times and been happy.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A classic 'Country House' hotel in a beautiful Cotswold setting. A simply lovely venue, full of old world charm with very friendly and attentive service to match. The food and ambiance of the Michelin starred restaurant was first class. Our room was comfortable and well appointed. All in all a very enjoyable stay, and a venue that we will return to and can thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Lord's of the Manor in 2003 and always hoped to have the opportunity to return. This June, after 11 years I returned with my family of four and was not disappointed. The charming manor was exactly as I remembered it, with wonderful and welcoming staff and beautiful grounds. We happened to visit this year during a spectacular week of sun and warmth that made walks throughout the area exceptionally beautiful. I was a little concerned that our daughters might find it boring being in such a quiet little town but they loved it. Being a family of four we needed two rooms, definitely a splurge but one that I treasure from our trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lords of the Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords of the Manor Hotel

Address: Upper Slaughter, Upper Slaughter GL54 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Upper Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lords of the Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Lords of the Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lords Of The Manor
Lords Of The Manor Hotel Upper Slaughter, England - Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lords of the Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.