We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A game of two halves” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Tythe Barn

Save Saved
You added The Great Tythe Barn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Great Tythe Barn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Long Newnton Road, Tetbury GL8 8XA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Tetbury B&B and Inns
Buckinghamshire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A game of two halves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Wedding venue at the Great Tythe Barn is the Great Tythe Barn itself. You could hardly wish for a better venue - late 16th century, as atmospheric as the best old chapels, with a suite of smaller rooms for the reception areas, all intercommunicating to make one large room. Modern facilities and well furnished, where necessary.
However, the guest accommodations need some uprating, which is why I have given an overall 4/5. The wedding venue is 5, the rooms/cottages are currently 3. Why? The cottages are suffering from a lack of attention to detail. The buildings look stunning, the facilities need uprating. Poorly designed bathrooms - broken hooks on the back of the door - nowhere to put anything down, no chairs/stools in the bedroom/bathroom, showers too small. Damp smells suggest saving on heating. The beds were awful, and you are not stopping one night but three, I went home after two - my back is the ultimate bed tester. No grill pan in the property and very old pans in drawer didn't make getting a cooked breakfast any easier than the B & B rooms. We were given one small red towel each, which smelt appalling. Hardly adequate for three days showers. Luckily I had taken towels with me, and warned others to bring their own Bath towels. If they told guests that they cannot supply the usual amount/size of towels, there would be less disappointment - this is not a hotel, but a venue with self-catering rooms, and it could be so much more - but they are already charging for that. If they read this - how about some cushions for those huge sofas? And don't you just hate it when the bottom of the bedroom door is miles from the floor! The service came from the caterers/ the venue coordinator/ the outside support. Beware the owner's dog!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    15
    8
    6
    8
See reviews for
26
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here as part of a wedding group over a weekend. Everything about the wedding was perfect, the setting, the marriage hall, the weather, the staff, the owner, the manor house, the proximity to the village, etc etc.

The room itself (we stayed in one of the B&B rooms) was more than adequate – it was spacious enough for the two of us to get ready, the TV was OK, the bed was OK and the view across the fields was lovely, even if through the barbed wire (although this is preferential to having someone nick something from the room I guess). The bathroom was probably the worst bit, a little on the small side and the pressure from the shower was not great but again no reason to complain. Comments about the owner I really don’t get, it is his house so I see no issues with him hanging around and having a look. He was always friendly, and in fact invited the best man for a glass of port at one point I think.

Certainly one negative is the breakfast, after having a couple of beers before the night before the wedding I was salivating at the thought of bacon and sausage, but in entering the breakfast room the options were purely continental. A fry up would have been lovely but again to be fair the fruit on offer was very good, with fresh yogurt, nice bread, and a good selection of cereals and spreads.

I had a look around a few of the cottages and these all seemed pretty nice, with good outside space which looked over the grounds.

The room is expensive for what it is in the absence of a cooked breakfast, however I would still not be as negative as some of the previous reviewers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubusson
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My brother stayed here recently as part of our wedding party. There was no cooked breakfast available, no coffee even available one morning. They were there from Friday to Monday and their room was not cleaned at all, a note said rooms were cleaned every second day, but they were there for 3 nights and nothing, no beds made etc. The staff were uncommunicative and unhelpful.
They have stayed in B and B's all over the world and said this was the worst ever, it was quite expensive and the service was non-existent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My daughter chose The Great Tythe Barn for her wedding venue and it could not have been a better choice. Everything was wonderful; we were lucky that the sun shone over the whole weekend which meant that we could make full use of the beautiful setting. The barn looked amazing and the food was delicious. All the staff were most friendly, efficient and helpful. As the party went on until 1.00 a.m., being able to have most of our guests to stay either in the cottages or the bed and breakfast rooms was excellent and we could all get together for a late barbecue breakfast the next day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a wedding and I have to say that as a wedding venue it is incredible! BUT the rooms are VERY overpriced! Shower didn't work properly. Kettle didn't work at all. Not enough milk sachets in the room and you have request more before 10am the following morning. Rooms aren't cleaned daily. Not fresh towels - My towel stank of cigarette smoke. It is a B&B but the breakfast is continental and comprises of cereal, fruit, toast, tea or coffee - that's it! Nothing cooked at all! For the price we paid to stay I thought there would be atleast an egg, sausage, bacon - but sadly not.

If you are coming to a wedding and want to stay onsite then you should - the buildings and the grounds are lovely - bit if you want value for money and friendly service then stay well away!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We booked a room by telephone because we were attending an Evening Wedding Party here. The B&B for 1 night was £100 which we thought was a lot of money, but we thought that it would be an amazing room and brilliant breakfast. They emailed us the booking confirmation and it said Continental Breakfast included. I must say that I enjoy a Cooked Breakfast when I'm away, but we thought that we could possibly upgrade to a full English? We thought that for a £100 stay, perhaps there is a gym/leisure club or a pool or spa?

Wrong on all counts...

We arrived at 7.00pm and the keys were hung on a board outside with a list of names and room numbers - no welcoming committee here!

The rooms were in a separate block "motel style" not in a hotel building.

The room was clean and not badly decorated, but it was just like a travel lodge or premier inn room, but with worse beds and shower and less facilities - not a £100 accommodation and was not deserving of 3* that the AA had awarded. The room was a bit chilly on arrival, so we turned up the radiator and set about unpacking. The wardrobe had hanging space only, with no shelves and the only drawers were the bedside ones. The beds were standard singles pushed together, with single duvets. There was no hairdryer, so my wife couldn't wash her hair. When I opened the door to the bathroom to have a shower, it was freezing in there - the radiator was switched completely off. There is a tiled floor that felt like an ice-rink on bare feet. You had to shuffle around on the foot towel. There was a hand written sign bluetacked to the shower door warning "we are experiencing high water pressures, so only use as hand shower". Well I stood well back and gingerly turned on the shower, whilst grasping the shower head tightly, expecting it to be writhing like an uncontrolled python... no it was a weak pathetic excuse for a shower with pretty poor pressure, no way of adjusting the heat either and it was not as hot as I would have liked.

Due to being used to a kingsize bed, the nights sleep in a small single with my elbows and legs slipping off the edge and frequently waking with the duvet half off - it was a terrible nights sleep. The few trips to the loo were memorable for the ice temperature tiles on my bare feet.

We set an alarm, because we didn't want to miss breakfast...
Well we have travelled and had many Continental Breakfasts, but this unfortunately should not be described as one. There was muesli or cornflakes, do-it-yourself toast with white or brown thick sliced processed bread, some jams and some packets of processed cheese, a limited selection of fruit and natural yogurt. No nice rolls, no croissants or nice bread, no meats, no boiled eggs or scrambled egg, no proper cheeses. There was no chance of upgrading to a cooked breakfast either.

As I don't do Muesli, fruit, jam, cornflakes or natural yogurt, I thought I would just have some toast with what I thought was a packet of marmite, but that just turned out to be a packet of marmite branded processed cheese. We asked if they had any marmite and the lady popped off, we got hopeful, but she came back with - more cheese.

Just because there is no cooked breakfast, they should not be calling this offering Continental.

We headed off into Tetbury and found ourselves a nice cooked breakfast, with very good service.

Checking-in consisted of hanging the key up on the board outside. Apart from the foreign woman in the breakfast room and seeing a few people complaining about breakfast and bad rooms and bad value for money with an old man who is presumably the owner, we saw and spoke to no staff.

The barn was a good venue and the wedding party and the company we were in was great.

Room Tip: The self catering cottages looked better and you could cook your own breakfast there. Avoid the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Agree very much with previous guests. The B&B is greatly overpriced. The rooms look ok when you go in, but you soon see where important corners are cut. The mattresses are uncomfortable, the pillows and quilts are in desperate need of replacing, along with the sofa s laughingly called children's beds - wouldn't put my dog on it ! Breakfast was ok, though seriously lacking in any service. Wouldn't take children there, many annoying signs telling them not to do anything ranging from picking up stones on the gravel driveway, to sitting on the settees!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Great Tythe Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Tythe Barn

Address: Long Newnton Road, Tetbury GL8 8XA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great Tythe Barn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Tythe Barn, a magnificent C16th Tythe Barn is a major wedding venue, part of an old farm Tythe Estate just outside Tetbury in the South Cotswolds. Whilst not a hotel, we offer convenient and comfortable Bed & Breakfast rooms, with a healthy continental breakfast in 12 en-suite rooms. Also on the Estate are 10 recently refurbished self-catering cottages, available for a minimum 2 night hire. Perfect as a wedding celebration in a unique small village feel. The historical village of Tetbury has a broad selection of fine antique shops, restaurants and pubs, all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Great Tythe Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Tythe Barn Hotel Tetbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Tythe Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.