We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great concert venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westonbirt Arboretum

Westonbirt Arboretum
Tetbury, Tetbury GL8 8QS, England
+44 300 067 4890
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing foliage
Attraction details
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great concert venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

took a picnic and sat towards the back but still good view and good sound. also visited for normal look around arboretum and good shop

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    246
    74
    33
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Must admit slight bias as 10 year members. Had a lovely picnic and then walked dog through trees. Beautiful sunny day. Had a nice coffee at the cafe. Good service too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good few hours especially for tree lovers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It was a scorching hot day and decided to take our 1 year old out for a few hours. Family members had recently been and recommended we go for a day out. Easy to locate and entered quickly. At first I thought £8 a head was steep just to look at some trees. Once parked up we familiarised ourself with location of restaurant and toilet etc and stocked up on refreshments which I thought were reasonably priced. Then off we set into woodland, it was a very hot day and the shade from the trees provided was lovely. 1 year old had plenty of room to play about and thoroughly enjoyed herself. Can not fault anything it was a lovely place to walk around and killed a few hours and we didn't even walk around the whole lot. Would love to visit in spring and looking back £8 a head was a fair price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An excellent place to walk the dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Being relatively local, my wife and I have Annual Membership.
We very much enjoy our seasonal visits and several in between.
Only four star because we have to leave the dog in the car for
the shorter walk through the more unusual trees, even 'on a lead'.
is not allowed. This probably annoys us more than the dog!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton St Philip, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

On Saturday when everyone was either shopping or watching the tennis I took Mum in the wheelchair and the dog off to Westonbirt. We went to the garden centre first which is so much improved now and then took the dog friendly walk. It is a little bit hilly pushing the wheelchair, especially the last pull up to the restaurant but worth it. With so few people there it truly was a peaceful sanctuary of shade, cool breezes and the wonder of nature in all its glory on a hot summer day. We topped the day off with tea for two and cake sitting outside on the balcony of the restaurant in the shade which was excellent and reasonable value at £9 for us both. The staff were helpful and friendly providing fresh water for my dog, it was a really great way to spend a sunny afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westonbirt Arboretum also viewed

 
Castle Combe, Cotswolds
Berkeley, Cotswolds
 

Been to Westonbirt Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westonbirt Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.