We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER PLEASANT STAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hare and Hounds Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hare and Hounds Hotel to your Saves list
Hare and Hounds Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Epping, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“ANOTHER PLEASANT STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had booked to visit Highgrove Gardens, therefore the Hare and Hounds was the ideal choice for a short break. Having stayed 2 years previously, we were more than happy to book "3 nights for the price of 2". We were offered Lilac room in Silkwood as before. In my 2011 review I had mentioned the lack of drawer space and on this stay there was an enormous chest of drawers, which was more than adequate. Well done Hare & Hounds. The shower area still needs some attention. I believe the TV is to be upgraded, which is necessary as the screen is small and only about 3 Channels available. WiFi was problematic. I did need to stand on a chair to reach the safe on the top shelf of the wardrobe. Little wonder the previous occupant had left their IPad there. Hospitality tray was well stocked and topped up.
In the restaurant, we took breakfast and thought it a little cramped as we were seated in the middle of the room (difficult for guests & staff to pass carrying food and beverages). A good selection at the buffet and from the menu on which there was a ham and cheese platter. I asked for this one morning, but just ham. A small amount of ham was served on a large plate. The waiter remarked on the heap of salad leaves next to the ham, saying the chef thought the plate looked empty. I smiled, thinking why not more ham? Ah well.
We ate in the bar on 2 evenings and on both occasions the food was good.
Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Book a room in Silkwood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
I am pleased that you decided to return to the Hare and Hounds and that you would be happy to stay again. Thank you for your observations regarding your stay in Lilac. It is very helpful to see things from our guests point of view so your review has been very valuable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    171
    66
    29
    20
See reviews for
82
399
22
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our stay at this lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings was spoilt by poor service at both dinner and breakfast. Firstly I should say that the quality of the food and presentation was superb and all the staff were very polite and helpful. They were particularly apologetic at dinner. Essentially we had booked dinner for 8.00 as our preferred choice of 7.30 was very busy. On arrival, the receptionist Sam (who was also on duty the following morning and was handled my complaint very professionally) advised we were dining at 8.30. I explained we were booked for 8.00 and she subsequently told me she had confirmed our understanding of the timing with the restaurant. We arrived in the lounge at 7.40 and were seated almost immediately. Drinks were ordered and arrived soon after with a tasty appetiser. Our order was not taken until after 8.00 and it was 8.40 when we were invited to sit at our table in the restaurant. It was clear from comments made by other diners that there had been delays in serving courses. Our starter finally appeared at 8.50, and to be fair everything then ran smoothly with a very pleasant meal, albeit from our point of view too late to really appreciate it. At breakfast, we were seated immediately and our initial order for tea and toast taken. We started our fruit/cereal course and hot meal order was taken. This arrived soon after we had finished cereals. Excellent, except for the fact that despite chasing it up, our tea/toast still hadn't arrived. It did eventually without any hint of an apology. As I said the staff were excellent and it would be unfair to be over critical of a problem beyond their control. It was overall a little disappointing, and marred what otherwise was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: All the cottages looked as good as Chestnut in which we stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. You have been kind enough to acknowledge the efforts of our hard working front of house staff and Chef and his team are delighted that you enjoyed both the flavour and presentation of their dishes. Our food and beverage team try very hard to make sure that everyone is given an equal amount of attention, but guests priorities and expectations are all different and unfortunately there are times when we don't achieve the service standards we wish to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This excellent hotel has everything you could wish for. Smart, classy, comfortable. Immaculately maintained and spotlessly clean. The staff are lovely and the food is superb. We were on a "winter offer" of £158 for dinner, bed and breakfast which was really good value. This included a half bottle of champagne in our room. We stayed as part of a visit to wonderful Westonbirt Arboretum which is almost next door. Concessionary tickets were available at the hotel for £6 instead of the £9 they would normally be, which proved very useful as we were able to just hand over our tickets and avoid a long queue of visitors waiting to pay. We look forward to another visit, especially in spring when we can more fully enjoy the lovely grounds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We are all delighted that you enjoyed your Autumn Break with us in the beautiful Cotswolds. It is certainly a wonderful time of year to visit the area and it is a great pleasure for us to be able to welcome guests who visit regularly in October and November. We all appreciate your positive comments about your stay, it is really good to know that we have met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as apart of our wedding anniversary and I must say that this must be one of the best, most customer focused hotels I have ever been to in a rural location.

We were extremely well looked after, staff excellent and charming and our young daughter was also made really welcome and felt very much at home.

Thank you, with a big hug.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. A copy will go straight on to our staff notice board, it will give them all a lift to know that they are achieving great standards and pleasing our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely, special 'Sublime Sunday' stay at The Hare and Hounds. A very welcoming attractive hotel, ideally situated near Tetbury and right next to wonderful Westonbirt Arboretum (worth visiting even on a wet, windy day). Comfortable, spacious, well-designed bedroom, most friendly, helpful staff, very delicious Sunday lunch and excellent breakfast next morning. Inviting lounges to relax in and lovely gardens. All together, highly recommended and we look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your Sublime Sunday stay, definitely one of our most popular offers. Your review will be very helpful indeed for anyone looking for a relaxing break in comfortable surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a business colleague and we were pleasantly surprised when the receptionist who answered the phone informed us of a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast £158 offer that the hotel was running. We took it. On arrival we saw that the hotel was situated just a little way back from the main Tetbury to Bath road, but the welcome by the staff was warm and friendly, we were shown up to our room situated on the second floor at the front. I noted that the room was very cold and was told that the radiators had just been turned on because of the sudden cold snap, this was perfectly plausible. The room was clean and tidy with all the mod cons that you come to expect from a good hotel. Unfortunately the radiator failed to warm up and the one in the bathroom gurgled all night as the on duty staff were unable to bleed them., to thier credit they sourced an alternative heater and brought it straight up.
The communal areas were clean, warm and tidy and the decor modern and inviting so top marks there. Our evening meal was included in the offer price and I was surprised when the waiter stated that we could choose from the a la carte menu, 7 courses later I was full and staggered that such a lovely meal could be included in the price. The food was beatifully cooked, well presented and extremely tasty. Top marks especially as I saw that the meal was worth £111 on it's own.
Overall this was superb value for money and our stay very enjoyable. I have no qualms about recommending this hotel to others based on what I had experienced.

Room Tip: Away from the front of the hotel and road may well be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your fair and comprehensive review. I am pleased that you had a good stay, and apologise that the heating in the room was not up to the mark. The system is still rather elderly in some areas, but fine once it gets going.
I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from an evening at the Hare and Hounds. Stayed in Game Keepers Cottage - probably the best hotel room for price I have stayed at. Service was fabulous from start to finish and the food in the restaurant was amazing. Breakfast was great - good selection. Would definitely recommend this hotel based on the Game Keepers Lodge accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Gamekeepers cottage so much, it is definitely a treat and a great way to celebrate any special occasion. I will pass on your kind comments to our hard working team in the kitchen, they will be delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hare and Hounds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.