We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, but "Lenko" factor is the star of the place for me.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hare and Hounds Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hare and Hounds Hotel to your Saves list
Hare and Hounds Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, but "Lenko" factor is the star of the place for me.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Visited the Hare and Hounds on business trip for 5 days, beautiful location and grounds. All the expected touches you would want from a quality hotel. But 2 things need special mention - I needed some sun cream one day for an outside event (yes, the sun was shining!) and the receptionist that day went "above and beyond" to find some for me. Very appreciated. But the star of the hotel was Lenko, one of the waitresses. She was just outstanding in every aspect - attentive but not overbearing, social but not imposing, personable but not over familiar. Her welcome, smile and general attitude was exemplary. Of course, you expect the certain touches of a hotel like this, after all, that is what you are paying for, but no matter how good the management is it's the "front of house" that makes the difference and these 2 factors make the place for me. A bit annoying is the "walkin wi-fi" service, poor speed and the constant disconnects became frustrating. I could find many of the same touches elsewhere, but it would be for the "Lenko" factor I would return.

Room Tip: I was in room 34 main location and the shower was very slow and noisy - maybe check for a lower/diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Hare and Hounds. It is always so good for individual members of the team to get a 'mention', though they are all stars in their own way. Lenka is absolutely delighted that she was able to make such a big contribution to the quality of your experience, and you won't be surprised to hear that she was also the owner of the owner of the sun cream.
We all hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    171
    66
    29
    20
See reviews for
82
399
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westgate on Sea
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very comfortable rooms and public areas are quintessentially English. The staff are professional friendly and accommodating. This is my second visit and the food wasn't quite as good as the last time - this small group have excellent hotels and are all individual

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hare and Hounds. It is good to know that our popular small hotel group is sriking the right notes with you. I apologise if you found the food less than excellent upon your last visit. The kitchen team has not changed so I am disappointed to hear that, but appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Excellent stay, comfortable rooms, good facilities, outstanding restaurant and service, and only one complaint. Box mattress on the bed very uncomfortable, and could benefit from a "topper". Otherwise outstanding. Very convenient location for Highgrove visits; 2 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I am very glad that you found your stay at our lovely hotel pleasing in many areas and thank you for passing on your thoughts regarding the not so comfortable mattress. Thank you very much for your review, I hope you may get the opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Earlier this month, as I had to attend an event at nearby Highgrove, I did have the opportunity for the occasion to reside for three nights at the "Hare and Hounds". I simply enjoyed it thoroughly. Magnificent surroundings, very well maintained. High standard of comfort. I stayed in a single room at the front of the main building. Very nice amenities and a fantastic view towards Westonbirt House.

The English Breakfast was outstanding and the service superb. The Beaufort dining room is exquisite and the views from its windows enchanting. I did ask for two requests that were granted cordially. The reception staff was most courteous and helpful. The " Hare and Hounds " is a great base to visit Tetbury, Malmesbury and explore the Cotswolds.

I certainly would recommend this hospitality property to anyone who enjoys the countryside, its peacefulness and beauty. I loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We were all delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at the Hare and Hounds. Your review will be very helpful for other travellers looking for a beautiful country hotel. Thank you for taking the time to put your feelings in writing, it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you enjoy stylish surroundings and professional service, then you will enjoy your stay at The Hare. It is very easy to find with plenty of parking and is right next door to Beaufort polo club and Westonbirt Arboreatum It has large gardens with seating and the waiters come out to serve you drinks.

The food is fabulous, whether you eat in the bar, or the more formal dining room. (If you are lucky enough to stay the night this is where you have breakfast)

Our room was in a cottage adjoining the hotel, so we had our own front door, large bedroom with seating area and dressing room next to a very large, well appointed bathroom. There was parking right outside our door. We paid £125/ night for B&B which I think was very good value compared to other hotels we stayed in this week.

Room Tip: Don't worry if the receptionist leads you to a room that is not in the main building. These room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
I very much appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your recent stay at the Hare and Hounds.
Thank you for giving other travellers that little insight regarding our rooms set in the grounds rather than the main building. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food in Jack Hare's bar and the Beaufort Restaurant , your kind comments have been passed on to our Head Chef and his team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I have just enjoyed a second two day stay at The Hare and Hounds. On both occasions, we secured a deal which included an upgrade to a Silkwood Room and dinner on one night of our stay. On a value for money basis, the experience was excellent. Breakfast is taken in a very impressive 'hall' style dining room. The staff were first class, very attentive and consistently anxious to make sure that guests are enjoying their stay. Dinner, too, was excellent - also taken in the main dining room - now even more atmospheric as candles and subtle lighting kicked in. Orders were taken over a leisurely drink in a comfortable lounge style waiting area. You are then seamlessly transferred to your table in the dining room to enjoy a very impressively prepared and presented meal. Given the apparent lack of decent restaurants nearby, the dining experience here has to be applauded.
Now to the accommodation. The Silkwood rooms are in small contemporary cottages - very much in the Cotswold style - just a few hundred meters from the main building. Your room will either be on the ground floor or on the first floor. Ever advantage has been taken of the fact that these 'modern' rooms are able to offer a different experience from the rooms in the hotel's main building.They are extremely comfortable with excellent bed linen and Molton Brown acessories in the very well equipped bathrooms.
The hotel bar is pretty much a pleasant pub style area open to non-residents. A few local people did drift in for a pint on the way home from work and I liked the fact that this accessible area was serving drinks much more aligned to pub prices than those of a four star hotel.
The hotel is set in very pleasant grounds just a half mile or so from Westonbirt Arboretum. It makes an excellent base for taking in Tetbury and Cirencester, too.
I really like this hotel, as evidenced by the fact that this was my second visit. It didn't fail to measure up to expectations. Admittedly, my two night deal saved me well over a hundred pounds or so on room rates and dinner, so I'm obviously going to enthuse as against someone who might have paid considerably more for the same experience.
It's probably not the sort of hotel best suited to children. I suspect that gentler folk will warm to its appeal, or young couples seeking a traditional bolt hole
All I can say in conclusion is that it's great to find somewhere where guests come first, the staff know what they are doing, it's comfortable, very civilised and continues to maintain some of those traditonal hotel values that so many places have left behind in a whirl of modernity and money making. Well done The Hare and Hounds. When another deal emerges, I'll be hovering with my diary to enjoy what I know will bve another exteremely satisfying short break.

Room Tip: The Silkwood Rooms are well worth it if you can secure an upgrade or are staying on some sort of dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your informative and balanced review of our hotel. I am very pleased that you think well enough of us to pay a second visit, you are almost a 'regular'. I am really fortunate in having a great team of hard working staff who enjoy welcoming guests to our 'home from home'. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Tetbury is a mecca of antiquing, so we stayed here for a few days to explore Tetbury and the Cotswolds. While absolutely lovely - with some amazing grounds, location, food and individuals, it didn't seem as if the staff had been properly trained and they didn't work as a team - made us wonder about the management/leadership of the team, or rather lack thereof. Everyone had their role and couldn't deviate from what they were assigned to do, so the service was disjointed as opposed to holistic, which you would expect from a hotel of this caliber.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and your positive observations regarding the hotel location and food.
We are very focused on training our staff to be guest aware from day one, and while new staff, which accounted for half of the F and B team during your stay, are learning to fit with that culture, they may not all absorb the techicalities of team service at the same time. I am very sorry if this had any negative impact on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hare and Hounds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.