We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some tiny issues but pretty good overall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hare and Hounds Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hare and Hounds Hotel to your Saves list
Hare and Hounds Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bingley
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“some tiny issues but pretty good overall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A foul night in Gloucestershire but a warm welcome here. Really pleasant staff in all areas, super room in the main building (63 quid on expedia) and good quality food in the bar area. Only complaint was a bit of a shortage of choice on the bar food, plus fairly expensive starters for bar food. Overall though a lovely Cotswold hotel in a beautiful location

Room Tip: main building rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    171
    66
    29
    20
See reviews for
82
399
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and booked an eaves room so we'd not have people tramping around above us and were really pleased - the room was big with bags of character, the decor was in good order and central heating on 24/7 which was much needed as it was below zero outside. We weren't disturbed by the road, which is very quiet at night and the views across the fields were lovely. Woke up to the sun streaming across the room, bliss.

Molton Brown goodies make for a really luxurious bath, there was never a problem with hot water and hurrah, the taps didn't drip!

The staff were all very professional and friendly and the two nights we ate in Jack Hare's bar were a real treat, food tasty and not too pricey. We paid £50 for a meal for two that included wine, first courses and mains. The atmosphere is relaxed, jeans no problem. Likewise breakfast was excellent, though sausages were lovely one day, then fatty and grissly the next.

I can't really find fault with the hotel, we loved it and would definitely return.

Room Tip: High up room overlooking the road gave lovely views, sunny in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We all enjoyed reading your positive review, thank you for taking the time to let us know how you felt about your stay. Chef apologises about the sausages , he won't be using that particular supplier again. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

As already said in other reviews, it's a wonderful property in lovely grounds, with beautiful fixtures and fittings, a super restaurant (and restaurant entry area) and a library that reminded me of the Authors wing in the Oriental Hotel in Bangkok. I stayed in the main house as a solo business traveller on 27 November 2012 - nice cosy small room with a shower that worked well. Breakfast was politely served, cooked fresh to order and of good quality. The only disappointment is the counter/bar in the Jack Hares pub in the building. The rooms in the pub area are nice (lovely log fire too) with good tables, etc, but the actual counter/bar area is unwelcoming and looks more like that in a cheap working men's club (i.e. functional and characterless) and is too low. Staff in the bar were functional and not particularly welcoming, unlike the reception staff who were most kind and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your observations are very much appreciated. When we re-furbished Jack Hare's bar the response to its new look was generally very favourable , however, I do accept that we cannot expect to win everyone's approval. Thank you for your comments which have been passed on to the appropriate person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

All good; staff could not have been more attentive while retaining a sense of being human! Loved the place and the atmosphere. Could someone spend a little time sorting out (safe) walks from the property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your review following a recent stay at the Hare and Hounds. I am very pleased to hear that service was of a good standard and that you enjoyed the visit. We have a walkers map for guests at the front desk showing three local Ordnance Survey recommended walks and the National Arboretum just a few minutes away down the road with miles of delightful walks. Walkers can take their dogs as well, and there is a picnic area for use in the Summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I took some Italian guests to the Cotswolds - we spent time in Oxford, Burford, Stowe, Bibury, Moreton-in- Marsh and stayed near to Tetbury. The hotel is outside the town so it is very peaceful and in lovely grounds, the food and service and rooms are all to a really good standard - We could totally recommend it and would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I hope your Italian guests enjoyed the Cotswolds and spread the word. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit,I hope we have the opportunity to look after you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on thames
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I booked this last minute with my partner for a weekend away based on the great feedback on tripadvisor, unfortunately, we were bitterly disappointed and it really did put a downer on the weekend.

We asked for a room at the back of the hotel (thanks to a tip on tripadvisor) and were told that we had one, however on arriving that was not the case. When we asked could we change rooms, we were told that the hotel was full (although this did not seem to be the case).

We went to have a drink before dinner and were ignored by the 2 barmen for 15 mins before one of them shouted "WHO'S NEXT" across the bar and we were served. Later, we asked could we buy some cigarettes and charge them to the room as we had traveled straight from London and had not got any cash out- this proved to be a massive issue and one which resulted in the GM being called over to us to see could it be "approved"- this was rather embarrassing but in the end we got the cigarettes.

Dinner was good, however it was very rushed between courses and the dreadful elevator piano music on loop made it all a little surreal. Indeed, the same CD was playing the very next day at breakfast and that evening at dinner again, the couple beside us asked the waiter if there was any other music and he just said NO. The menu was exactly the same the next day too and drinks at the bar were very expensive.

Look at all of my other reviews and you will see I am not out to complain- this is the first bad review I have added, however the fact that the room was cold and wasn't tidied properly (napkins on the floor from breakfast, tea bags and dirty tea cups from Saturday Morning still in the room on Sunday), only made things worse.

The high-light of the weekend was taking a walk in the Arboretum - the hotel desk were able to give us some tickets at a good price so make sure to take advantage of that as the hotel is in a great location but is actually on the main road so not too romantic! Also, the staff in the restaurant were very helpful but not throughout the rest of the hotel- (bar and front desk)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the hotel.... and make sure you get them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I am very disappointed to hear that you experienced so many issues during your stay, and am sorry that you encountered difficulties when you needed cigarettes. We have them in a machine but out of sight as required by law. The staff are able use a guest's cash to procure cigarettes from the machine and pass them over. Your request to put cigarettes on a room bill, although perfectly reasonable, took them a little by surprise as they are not able to take cash from a till to buy cigarettes from a machine which does not belong to the hotel but is simply a facility, so I am sorry if they seemed to react badly.
Music in the Restaurant is on a playlist and is normally changed at different times of the day, but it may be that it was overlooked and consequently became rather boring.
Your room was allocated on the basis that we had a large Wedding party in house that weekend and rooms near the back of the hotel could be percieved as being ' noisier ' while the Wedding reception was in full flow, than those in the main house at the front of the building. I am sorry that the decision was wrong, but we made it in good faith with your comfort in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goudhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Booked for a one night stay.

Excellent welcome at reception which continued throughout the hotel including the lovely ladies who served breakfast.

Very stylish decor throughout.

Would certainly recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Very many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our lovely hotel and found our staff friendly and welcoming. Positive feedback is a great morale booster for the team and they are also very good at taking note of negatives and working hard to turn them around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hare and Hounds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.