We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highgrove shop in Tetbury - over-priced & over-marketed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Highgrove Shop Tetbury

Highgrove Shop Tetbury
10 Long Street, Tetbury GL8 8AQ, England
0845 521 4342
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Attractions in Tetbury
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Highgrove shop in Tetbury - over-priced & over-marketed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Highgrove shops (there's one in Bath, Tetbury, and in Fortnum & Mason, London) are best described as aspirational shopping, a chance to metaphorically "rub shoulders" with HRH The PoW or to feel that you're sharing in his green ethos.

This shop trades on being HRH Prince of Wales's outlet. That's its draw for most people. Plush teddy bears, tweed and leather mock shooting bags, scarves, food and conserves....please! I think it is best described as "home and lifestyle". I was going to say grant the general public with more sense, but it would seem, from Tetbury generally, that this is not the case. They were flocking into this shop in their droves.

I apologise if I sound cynical, however, I am exactly that. I loathe Tetbury, which has more antique shops than all the other sorts of shops combined (and I like antique shops, but these give themselves airs), pretty much the whole town reminds me of a semi-rural, and these days, more expensive, Islington.

The most honest thing I saw all day was a manure waggon being driven through the town centre by tractor, with much wrinkling of noses and chuntering from the chattering classes. You're in the country, even Cotswold cows have to,,, you know!

So, the Highgrove Shop in Tetbury. If you have more money than sense, and like to spend it in home and lifestyle shops, then this is for you. I can't comment on the friendliness or helpfulness of the staff, as I didn't purchase anything there.

In its defence, and that of HRH The Prince of Wales, the profits from this shop do go to the Prince of Wales's Charitable Foundation so that's a major plus in my opinion and is what bumps this shop from poor to average.

I don't know, I was just hoping for more, or something different, but sadly, no. It's just not my thing, I don't want to buy into a "lifesyle" on the promise of a lightly distressed nesting box for birds....or some Highgrove jam. I make my own!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Highgrove shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The shop was an experience and very interesting to visit. Quite expensive but excellent quality goods as one would expect.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great town to visit !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We visited Tetbury on the way from Bath to Warwick.

There was ample pay and display parking just north of the "Great Market House" which seemed to be the focal point of this town. A little walking through the delightfull streets soon uncovered this town secrets which it seems to be a haven for those who seek an antique or two and I must add their shop keepers were very friendly to say the least.

Sadly we did not have the time to fully explore this historic township but if you do then I am sure you wont be dissapointed, I certainly will next time.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“A disappointing shop with an impeccable source.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We made a mini holiday around our lucky purchase of tickets to see the gardens of Highgrove so of course, we had to visit The Highgrove shop in Tetbury (Long Street).

Apart from the obvious high prices in a shop like this, the products were curiously disappointing! Tea-towels that frankly would show every mark from first use - to very expensive wooden objects like a spindle for string, and a rule for gardening coming in at £15!! Jams, toiletries etc, the usual mundane tourist objects showed a lack of imagination for such an exclusive shop!!

I realise the Prince is a very rich man, but perhaps for once, going down-market to reach to pockets of us 'ordinary' people, would benefit not only us, but the bank account of the Prince's charities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fun to look around - but basically over-priced tat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

Tetbury is a charming town full of interesting shops, and eating for all prices (we enjoyed the cheerful service & family cafe food (excellent Wiltshire ham) at the Welcome Chair, just opposite the Highgrove shop).

The Highgrove shop is worth a peek, but not a special detour. We thought it would be a farm shop given HRH's interest in farming and organic food, but most of the contents are knick-knacks - fussy ornaments, bits and pieces for the over-decorated home, priced at £30 upwards. There are a few food items, such as jams, and items of stationery, that cost less and would make nice presents.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highgrove Shop Tetbury also viewed

 

Been to Highgrove Shop Tetbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highgrove Shop Tetbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.