We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Beds!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Stroud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Stroud to your Saves list
Premier Inn Stroud
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stratford Lodge | Stratford Road, Stroud GL5 4AF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Big Beds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

I just love staying in the Premier Inn in Stroud, Glos. Situated right next to the beautiful Stratford Park and with its own attractive garden at the front. The building used to be a Boys Prep School years ago and I can remember seeing them [the 'posh' kids in their grey and red uniforms complete with caps... I used to live in Stroud and like to return every now and then to enjoy the wonderful countryside and have a bit of a walk down nostalgic lane! The staff at the Stroud Premier are extremely friendly and welcoming. The bar and restuarant is part of the hotel, so ulike some of the other Premier Inns I have stayed in, you do not have to walk across a car park to get to them. Drink and food prices are very reasonable. I am not a driver but it is only about 5 mins to walk into town, and there is also a bus stop right outside the Inn to Gloucester, Whiteshill, Ruscombe etc. There is also a Tesco right next door [hidden behind trees] which is very useful for sandwiches etc for picnics. My only criticism is that the room prices seem to be slowly creeping upwards - it is in fact very difficult to get a £29 room. As a single traveller this makes it a lot more expensive, although I must admit it is heaven to have one of their huge comfortable beds all to myself!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    73
    40
    19
    6
See reviews for
72
78
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham England
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Weve stopped here half a dozen times over the last couple of years. The most recent was the second weekend in February. Checkin was fast and the lady was very helpful and explained about the restaurant/food etc. Our room was the normal PI standard clean comfy bed :-) TV kettle plenty of tea coffee milk and sugar. The bathroom was clean bright plenty of towels and soap.

The pub ad restaurant attached serves some good food although we have never been up in time for breakfast! There is a Tesco next door with a cafe too. Plenty of room to park. Weve never had a noisy room yet. Recommended and must be popular as you can never get a £29 room here.

Service in the bar here is always slow whether full or just a couple of customers that is really tha only niggle we have.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Ideal for one or two nights, but absolutely no charm. Room extremely comfortable, but the bar/restaurant area is fer too noisy with no quality of service from staff. Best avoided. Simply use the place as a location to sleep in.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Stroud, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thanks for your feedback at Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. Once again thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed at this Premier Inn for 3 nights. It was our base for exploring the Cotswolds. We visited Bourton on the Water, Chipping Campden, Broadway and Bibury, which were all a reasonably short drive away. Our room was pleasant for the price paid; a little dated, nothing fancy, but certainly spacious and clean. Meals at the Old Nelson were excellent value and of good quality, and the staff were always friendly and helpful. We did have some noise on a Thursday night as patrons left the bar (our room was right above it), but generally it was a great location with a lovely park opposite. Breakfast each morning was very good, with the usual bacon and eggs, and lots of other healthier options like yoghurt, fruit and cereal. On our last morning there, we had to get up very early to drive down to Gatwick for our flight to Venice. The duty manager (Claire?) was just outstanding-she organised an early breakfast for us that was really appreciated, and was so gracious and accommodating in every way. A credit to the hotel. I would recommend this hotel as excellent value and a great location from which to explore this beautiful part of England.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Stroud, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Thanks for your review we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We welcome your feedback as it is very important to us that our guests enjoy their stay with Premier Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Stayed here 16th-21st january and what can i say. Room was not cleaned once properly, curtains never opened, bathroom was not cleaned ONCE! Often glasses in room were not collected. However restaurant and bar was fab, service was quik food was always of good standard and thanks exspecially to sally (i think deputy manager) as she clearly goes out here way to ensure good service and was always smiling and freindly. Hope she gets the recognition she deserves as she made the stay at premier inn a place i would stay again. service on reception was also very welcoming at all times day and night. Rob

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Stroud, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thanks for your review we are very sorry that you were disappointed with the housekeeping of your room, please be assured your comments will be followed up with the Management Team at the Stroud hotel. At Premier Inn it really matters that our guest are comfortable and received the best possible service from all Team Members. Thank you for your feedback we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Recently stayed 1 night in Stroud. Chose the Premier Inn as the deal seemed very good. I was pleasantly surprised on arrival. Greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist. The room was big, spacious, clean and comfortable. The adjoining pub/resturant was also good. I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Stroud, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
We are pleased that you had a good stay with us. Our team will be delighted to receive your feedback as it is really important to us that our guests are happy with the service they receive. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Four of us stayed for 2 nights to go to Cheltenham races.Our stay was blighted on the first night as it coincided with a national "promotion" by Premier, which caused chaos for the staff & diners.The locals were using discount vouchers which severely impacted on hotel guests as the staff struggled to cope.
The hotel was up to the usual standard & we could not otherwise find fault but we will in future check to see if our stay is likely to clash with a similar promotion.
It would make sense if the hotel manager could use discretion to move the promotion when he/she knows that it will clash with another local event that has already increased business.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Stroud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stroud

Address: Stratford Lodge | Stratford Road, Stroud GL5 4AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stroud 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Stroud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel Stroud
Stroud Premier Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Stroud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.