We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely locally sourced food, and exquisite "Cider with Rosie" views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgemoor Inn

The Edgemoor Inn
Gloucester Road | Edge, Stroud GL6 6ND, England
01452 813576
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 102 Restaurants in Stroud
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Lovely locally sourced food, and exquisite "Cider with Rosie" views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Best way to find the Edgemoor Inn is to slowly follow the snake lke curves of the A4173, Gloucester / Stroud road to the village of Edge. the pub / restaurant is slightly set back on a tight cornerand has a very steep approach to the car park. That said, we followed the Sat Nav route for a fun tripdown increasingluy narrowing country lanes, which were topped with Cotswold stone.

We had a friendly welcome, and choice of window seats on an early but wet Monday.
The weather brightened, and the menus did not disappoint either.
The Edgemoor Inn has a good kitchen with some lovely local produce. Our choices of Lamb shanks, meat pies, and salmon were just right for this occaision.
We also had superb views across the Slad and Painswick valleys; no traffic in sight, and a landscape before us that seemed untouched since the late1920s "Cider with Rosie" days of local poet, Laurie Lee.
Edge is well named with great views froom the Inn across this picturesque and untouched corner of rural England; indeed we were able to work out the way that Sat Nav had chosen for us - a route seemingly from the past.
Desset followed with farmhouse size portions, matched by ploughmans ( horseman sized) cheese and biscuits /good local ales, and well choosen wines were complimented by friendly efficent service.
This small family get together was transformed into a memorable occaision for our special guest. She really apprecitated both the tranquil pastoral views, the meal and the products of this magical part of Gloucestershire.
Great day out/ excellent food/ drinks and service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    49
    16
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food and setting at this pub were really nice. It was my father-in-law's 80th birthday. The food could not be faulted. It was very busy. The only downfall was the staff. Got there having booked a table they said someone would show us to our table. We wait and then it transpired the person showing us to our table was around the other side of the pillar. We were shown to our table, two menus were handed to us one paper one in a folder we would not explained the difference between the two. We then ordered our drinks. We asked how many glasses were required we said three. The bottle of wine was brought to our table and then just put down with the three glass, no attempt to pour this wine. If the staff were more on the ball and friendly the place could not be faulted.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Still good food & friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We visited last October and although we enjoyed the food we felt the place lacked atmosphere, however, we said we would try again in summer 2013 and we just have.

Phoned in advance and were told that there was no need to book, so we arrived and surely enough were offered a choice of tables in the bar area or in the restaurant. Having choosen a table in the bar with a view over the valley drinks were ordered at the bar. A pint of Bob for me which went down very well, I'd of had another only I opted to drive.

We ordered appetisers of Garlic Bread with Ham & Cheese, excellent.
Mackerel Pate & Whitebait as starters, Pate excellent whitebate was a little spicey being toppped with cayenne pepper but still good.

Mains all excellent and off the specials menu, pie, chicken and lamb cutletts. Slight critisism in that a few more veg could be served with the mains.

No puds this time.

Overall a very good meal and we felt the noise level inside the building was much more acceptable than our last visit when there was a large party in the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“good food, great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Four of us booked in for evening meal last week, there was a small function going on for about 20 but this did not impact in any way on the service and food provided for us.
Service was friendly and food well cooked and presented, although a wet and miserable day the views across to Painswick are impressive with some outside tables which I am sure are in demand with decent weather.
Table by window provides great view although you can get benefit of this throughout the restaurant area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We visited twice in 10days that says it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The wife and i took advantage of the wednesday steak night offer - and we were extremely impressed - the views were matched by the food - superb and really good value. We enjoy good food and one of the sweets - orange and almond syrup cake was out of this world!

Returned a week later with the in laws in tow - anither good value meal - even the normally hard to plee granddad was impressed wth his fish and chips - praise indeed! Only slight disapointment was that the worls class orange and almond syrup cake had disappeared from the menu! Hence four stars not five.

Needless to say we will be returning shortly!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edgemoor Inn also viewed

 
Stroud, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Edgemoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgemoor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.