We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“65th Birthday party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgemoor Inn

The Edgemoor Inn
Gloucester Road | Edge, Stroud GL6 6ND, England
01452 813576
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 106 Restaurants in Stroud
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“65th Birthday party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Enjoyed a superb meal at The Edgemoor Inn for a friend's 65th birthday party. Although there were 16 of us in the party with some wanting starters and others not, the service was very good. Food was of excellent quality and quantity. It is ideal for anyone with walking difficulties from the car park as it is all on one level. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    51
    19
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good Food & Friendly Staff - needs a bit of atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Visited on a cold and wet October evening,

Telephoned earlier in the day and were told we had to book as there was a party of 20 ish arriving around 7.30. We booked for 7.15 and arived just before, entering the pub we were surprised to find only two people dining and 2 people sat at the bar. We were offered our choice of table either in the bar or in the restaurant area and opted for the bar area as we thought we'd stay clear of the party. We ordered our drinks at the bar and proceeded to our choice of table, menus were supplied and our food order taken within 10 minutes. As it was very quiet there was absolutely no atmosphere. Our starters arrived and my choice of smoked mackerel pate was top class.

The large party started to arrive and all congregated around the bar area, this changed it from quiet to noisey in a few short minutes, a bit uncomfortble but after about 15 minutes they were moved into the restaurant. Our mains were served and my choice of Steak Pie with Chips and Peas was again top class, its been a long time since I had chips with gravey.

I skipped Pud but a Sundae & Crumble were ordered by the rest of my party, I'm told these were good. We were going to remain for a bit longer after everyone had finished but as it was very quiet in the bar and lacking in atmosphere we decided to pay up and leave.

We would visit again maybe in the summer when perhaps there is a bit more life / atmosphere. During our visit it went from deadly silence to crowded bar area and being nosiey when the party arrived, it just needs something inbetween.

Staff are friendly and attentive, food is excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice food but lacking in atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

lovely food, but lacking in atmosphere and character.
flowers? lighting? personality lacking im afraid

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“good food, good view and good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having recently had yet another rather disappointing meal at another restaurant which i have reviewed twice my friend and i were able to compare the edgemoor in all categories and found it superior across the board. Food was hot, portions generous and lots of vegetables. Service was cheerful but unobtrusive and efficient. We couldn't find fault - except perhaps as the evening darkened the lovely view vanished! if only it were nearer to the area where we eat on other occasions.
Well worth finding

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“table with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I booked a table for my wifes birthday and I was not disappointed. The service, food and overall welcoming was fantastic add to this the magnificent views from the restaurant and it is a delight to eat here. Very busy and recommend that if you want a table with a view book early, tell them that you would like a wndow table - I did and a magnificent view to go with the excellent lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edgemoor Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Edgemoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgemoor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.