We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bear of Rodborough Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bear of Rodborough Hotel to your Saves list
Bear of Rodborough Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rodborough Common, Stroud GL5 5DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our 5th stay at the bear and it was nice to be greeted by name on arrival. We stayed in rm 40 in the country house and this was excellent, with a very nice view across the common and the valley. Breakfast was as good as ever, with a wide choice and very good service. Trying to eat on a Saturday evening was difficult, the restaurant was already fully booked when we arrived at 3pm and the bar was too overcrowded to eat there, would definitely recommend booking in advance of arrival or going to the bar early if staying on a Saturday, other evenings were fine.

Room Tip: Country house rooms are quiet and plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    191
    74
    28
    16
See reviews for
56
307
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just got back from a nice weekend break from the bear. The staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them the room we stayed in was number 41. Which was very nice and clean and a great view.the only thing we found that let it down was the doors when people came in the rooms no anti slam device on the doors which woke us up all the time so we didn't sleep to well but everything else was first class the young girl vickey doing the breakfasts was a credit to your team as she helped us we will go back to the bear but will take some ear plugs but all in all well done geoff moore

Room Tip: 41 good room and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a lovely bedroo and bathroom. Very welcoming especially as arrived later than planned and found it was steak night and very very delicious it was. Staff were very friendly and breakfast lovely as were all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Enjoying our second night at this hotel, the room and decor of the hotel is super, william morris and the arts and crafts movement inspired. Had a brilliant first nights sleep and a superbly cooked breakfast with lots of choice, hope to be back in the future. Scenery from our window is peaceful and beautiful

Room Tip: Good choice of rooms shown on line, gives size of room too. We stayed in the country house which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Being in the area this hotel looked like a good lunch venue and we were not disappointed. We were served heavenly freshly made food in their beautiful garden. The building itself is perfect for lunching on more inclement days. Will definitely list as a favourite find. Quality always comes first.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here many years ago and had the chance to do so again this week for one night . My wife and I found our room spacious and comfortable. Our dinner was first rate both in terms of food quality and service and breakfast too was excellent. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this lovely character hotel, the first night we ate in the Bistro Bar, the food was very good, on the second night we ate in the restaurant, also very good. The bar area was buzzy but not overcrowded, and you can relax in the cosy lounge area if you wish. The staff in this hotel are very attentive and helpful, the rooms are very comfortable and decorated to a high standard. The hotel is situated on Rodborough Common,and you can easily walk to Stroud via the foot paths that cross the common, the views are beautiful. I will definately stay at the Bear again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear of Rodborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear of Rodborough Hotel

Address: Rodborough Common, Stroud GL5 5DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear of Rodborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bear of Rodborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Of Rodborough Stroud
Hotel Bear Of Rodborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear of Rodborough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.