We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We lucked out with” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sorrento Italian Restaurant

Sorrento Italian Restaurant
Russell St, Stroud GL5 3AJ, England
+44 1453 766 632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Stroud
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ko Phangan, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We lucked out with”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We lucked out with this one - just drove past it in Stroud and liked to look of the place on a Friday night. We weren't disappointed, we thoroughly enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The staff where very friendly, helpful and efficient. It helped that we were eating late as we weren't hassled to leave from our table and let others eat - they don't like to disappoint their customers so need a few sittings.

There was a huge mix of families, couples and friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    80
    19
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Buzzy and busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Noisy, fun atmosphere on a Saturday evening and very welcoming. There's a big menu with lots of specials on the board. Some of the food was delicious - the steak and the veal Milanese especially, and some more average, but there was lots of it. The seafood pasta was over sauced and the chocolate ice cream disappointing. But there wasn't a lot open in Stroud and this was a popular place, best to book.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Visited Sorrento's many times, great welcome, atmosphere, wine and food ! Don't usually have room for desert, but always manage to share a Tiramisu - yum yum! Since my mum, 'Nonna Rose', was introduced, she has to visit whenever she's down from Yorkshire !!! Next visit already booked !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Me and my 4 friends came here a week ago for a meal for one of my friends birthdays I was so disappointed number one- we are under 18 so we were not buying alcohol which meant the waiters thought it would be ok to kick us out at 820 when our table was booked for 7 which meant we only had 1 hour or so together, number 2 the food was awful my pizza was cold! Number 2 there were extremely pushy towards us making us rider when we planned to eat at around 8,have pudding at 9 and leave for about 10-1030 but instead there were very pushy and it was embarrassing I'm so disappointed and I will defiantly will NOT be going here again. Poor poor effort!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Sorrento never disappoints. Have been there many times and the standard of food service and atmosphere is entirely consistent. We had a fine pizza and delicious seafood linguine ( good portion) green salad and Whitebait for starters , very crisp!
Okay one thing could make the meal even better : a good salad dressing .
We love the jolly atmosphere , the generous service , the affordable prices and that's why we will definitely come again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Stroud, Cotswolds
 

Been to Sorrento Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorrento Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.