We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number Nine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stow-on-the-Wold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number Nine
Save
You added Number Nine to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Park St., Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AQ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wow what a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed in room 1 for one night, shame we weren't staying for longer. Great welcome, large room with en-suite, all very clean with tea and biscuits on the room. Very friendly hosts and a great breakfast. Thank you Jim and Carol.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
136
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We chose this spot from Rick Steves! IT does not disappoint! We stayed in rooms 1 and 2. Both were large and clean!! We had great tips from Jim as he is a real Foodie who likes to discuss your dinner reviews at breakfast. Parking is sometimes challenging but late afternoon we moved in close. The location is great for walking around town. We walked through the countryside and hitched a ride back from a very nice couple. Breakfasts were just as described, Super! Jim and Carol are great hosts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked this B&B on the strength of its great reviews on Tripadvisor and am delighted we did. We booked room 1 , again using the reviews, and were very pleased with it. A bright spacious room, extremely comfy bed and a spotlessly clean ensuite with decent shower. I agree totally re the breakfast ,good ingredients freshly cooked to order. Jim recommended the recently revamped Bell pub for Sunday evening food. It was only 150 yards away and we really enjoyed our meal. There is live music on a Sunday and the young guy on acoustic guitar was super( everything from the Eagles to Adele). Just need another reason to visit Stow and Number Nine again......

Room Tip: Car parking may be an issue in high summer but with our 4 o'clock checkin we had no probs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

B and B in great location. Spotlessly clean. Jim and Carol were very friendly and kind. Room on top floor is fine as long as you are not too tall. Breakfast is a highlight. Don't skimp. Order the lot on offer. Cooked superbly. Great fresh fruit salad as well. Cannot fault it. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I too was surprised by the negative comments about Room 3. We have stayed in that room twice and it's lovely. As for the hand held shower....er, they're quite fashionable. This visit we stayed in room 2, which has a bath and the fashionable hand held shower...nothing like a nice bubbly soak and a quick rinse with the shower.
Breakfasts to die for and lovely, helpful hosts. Thanks.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms....1 flight of stairs to 1, 2 flights to 2, 3 flights to 3....take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just spent the Easter weekend with Jim & Carole (& Snoop the dog) and had a fabulous time. The property is so quaint but only for people able to use stairs (which should be obvious from the exterior pictures alone!). We had the huge double bedroom on the first floor overlooking the street but the traffic noise was never an issue. Very good double glazing! Our friends had the room on the second floor for the first 2 nights & moved up to the top floor for the last night, so we actually saw all rooms. They are all full of character, decorated & furnished tastefully & comfortably & have fair sized en suite facilities, given the style of the property. I think a previous report said not to stay on the top floor & yes, there is a low beam, but I would expect that of a Cotswold stone property. I wouldn't hestitate to stay in any one of the rooms again. The main reception area with the log fire was very welcoming on returning from a day out in the freezing weather. The breakfast was one of the best with choices & good portions. We always found a space really closeby to park in the street. Jim & Carole made us feel very welcome & we soon found a love of football as common ground & had quite a few jokes with them around team rivalry! It was a perfect B&B in a perfect location for an Easter break. Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent 3 nights here over the Easter break. Carol provides a very good service and if you're open to a bit of leg pulling, Jim's sense of humour makes this a memorable stay. The room was comfortable and the bed was HUGE. The floors slope a wee bit bit but that is due to the age of the building and is to be expected. The stairs are quite steep too but unless you're infirm they should present no difficulty. We would certainly go back to this B&B if we were to stay in the Cotswolds again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Number Nine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Nine

Address: 9 Park St., Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AQ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Stow-on-the-Wold
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Nine 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Number 9
Number Nine Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Nine Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number Nine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.