We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number Nine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stow-on-the-Wold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number Nine
Save
You added Number Nine to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Park St., Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AQ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Wayne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

What made our stay at Number Nine so memorable was the owner, James. We had multiple conversations with him as we were coming and going and he was always a joy to talk to. This was our first time in Europe and having someone to talk to that had been to the US was exciting! Breakfast was wonderful. We got great restaurant recommendations too. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
136
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We loved this place from the moment we arrived and didn't stop smiling during our stay. Jimmy and Carol are the perfect hosts; they know exactly how and when to interact without being intrusive and I doubt that anyone would ever leave their breakfast table without: a) being personally catered for, b) having been exceeding well fed and c) a general feeling of well-being.... it's like staying with friends. Our room was beautiful, large but cosy with every facility we could have wanted and spotlessly clean.

Their knowledge of the local area is excellent and extremely helpful, directing us from eateries to neighbouring villages of note and even the local cricket museum! All in all, a delightful experience and one that we fully intend to repeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

On a two week drive around England, our stop at Number Nine stands out as one of our favorites. The town is quaint, but with enough options for dinners after a day driving through the countryside. But, what most stands out for us is Number Nine. Both of the owners were so friendly and helpful. Months later, we still look back fondly on our conversations with James, who also happens to make a mean full breakfast (possibly the best we had during our whole visit)! The room was updated and super cozy and comfy while still maintaining the historical charm of the home. The B & B only has three rooms, so I think that this lends to the personal comfort that the owners and the home can offer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california,
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had such a wonderful stay in this bed and breakfast. And what made this place extra special was the great personality of the owner, James. James' wife was out of town, so James took care of us completely. He has a great sense of humor and kept us laughing throughout our entire stay. He is also a wonderful chef. Our breakfasts were cooked perfectly, and we even ordered from a menu. Our room was large and well appointed, with very comfortable beds. And the town is centrally located so that it was easy to drive to all of our planned destinations during the day. We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kessingland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have just returned from Stow on the Wold where I had a two night stay with my wife at Number Nine. This is my fourth visit since 2004 and I can confidently say it won't be the last.

Having written extensively about this property in the past I could easily repeat all my praise. Suffice stay it was as good as ever and has everything anyone could ever want from a from a place to stay in the Cotwolds.
A charming, quirky old buildng in a fantastic location right in the centre of the town. Spacious beautifully furnished rooms, friendly owners who make their guests thoroughly welcome, superb breakfasts and a level of attention to detail worthy of top quality botique hotel.

Stow-on-the-Wold is perfect base for staying in the Cotswolds and we wouldn't consider staying anywhere other than at Number Nine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Easy to find, location good in that few mins walk from centre of stow (and near friend's wedding venue!). Beautiful room. Happy to have baby and although needed to take our own travel cot there was plenty of space for it. 2 night minimum at weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Everything I want to say has already been said but I would like to make a special mention about Carol and Jimmy. They made our 2 night stay on the way back from Cornwall extra special with their attention to detail in every area and their caring and very natural approach. From the moment I spoke to Jimmy to book our room I knew I would get on well with him. the best b+b We have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Number Nine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Nine

Address: 9 Park St., Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AQ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Stow-on-the-Wold
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Nine 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Number 9
Number Nine Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Nine Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number Nine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.