We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent day out - and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold Cricket Museum

Cotswold Cricket Museum
7 & 8 Brewery Yard, Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AA, England
01451 870083
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
kent
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“An excellent day out - and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

A superb new attraction in this stylish town. Allow two hours at least to see the huge array of memorabilia in this excellent museum, hosted by Andy who really knows his stuff. The food downstairs is cooked fresh and there is a superb array of cakes and drinks to choose from in this large cafe which has been stylishly laid-out with some plush settes too.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Knocked for six!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have visited the Cotswold Cricket Museum (a privately run business, not attached to any county cricket club) twice in the last week. The first occasion, on Wednesday, was to listen to the world reknowned cricket writer and historian, David Frith, and the second time was to visit the museum itself.

David Frith gave a commentary to a DVD of the 1928/1929 Ashes series in Australia. We saw footage of Don Bradman (thought to be the first), Bill Woodfull, Archie Jackson, Clarrie Grimmett and Bertie Oldfield of Australia and Wally Hammond, Jack Hobbs, Herbert Sutcliffe,Douglas Jardine, Harold Larwood, Maurice Tate and George Geary of England (amongst others). Frith described the scenes and explained how the Aussie Test grounds have changed since then.

Frith then talked about the long process whereby he made good his vow, as a teenager (having briefly met Alec Bedser), to become a cricket writer. His passion for the game remains undimmed.

I went round the museum yesterday after having sampled some lovely coffee and a piece of cake in the cosy Grace cafe.

If, like me, you love cricket then this museum is like Aladdin's cave!! There is a treasure around every corner. For example, there is a Don Bradman section with various souvenirs of his career. There is some commemorative chinaware celebrating the deeds of famous cricketers such as SF Barnes. There is a display of cricket bats from the earliest days of cricket up to more modern times.

There is a large cabinet with a selection of tour blazers including, amazingly, Eddie Paynter's blazer from the Bodyline tour in 1932/1933. Jack Hobbs' bat from the 1928/1929 tour is also there (his last England tour to Australia).

You can see Dickie Bird's umpire's coat from the first World Cup final in 1975.

There are pictures of some of the ships which took England cricketers away on overseas tours.

There are some letters including one from Alec Bedser to Lancashire CCC commenting on a youthful James Anderson's bowling action!! There are also mementos from Alec Bedser's career including medals and cups etc.

There are various caps, sweaters,bats and balls to be viewed as well as a whole variety of prints and pictures.

There is a section devoted to Gloucestershire CCC plus there are some Worcestershire CCC artefacts..

There is a framed item with correspondence related to the Bodyline tour. There are plenty of books on cricket too.

The owner also has a selection of DVD's which you can watch plus some cricket commentaries to listen to.

The main advice I can give you is to allow enough time to do this wonderful museum justice ... all the above and more for £3.50!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“How interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We came across the Cricket museum by chance, my other half was very excited about this visit. It's situated above a tea shop, where you purchase your ticket and enter up a staircase in there. It was all so very personal, most items of clothing were not in cabinets so you could see them up close. There were lots of memorabillia, clothing and a back ground tape.
When we were leaving we said to the lady in the tea shop how much we enjoyed the visit, and she said it was her husbands personal collection from over the years and how finally she could move everything from her 3 bedroom house to somewhere to display it properly. For a personal collection it's amazing especially some of the art and clothing from some very very famous cricketers. Well worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent few hours to spend with your time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

It was the day before the storm & it was raining, so we popped into this lovely coffee shop museum and I'm glad I did. It was an excellent find with plenty of memorabilia on show & plenty of great stories, not to mention videos & tapes to watch & listen. Andy the owner knows his stuff & has spent plenty of money & time putting this museum together, he even knew some of the players that I knew from his days back in the Surrey Championship!
Well done to you both & keep it going - thank you.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a gem...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Have just returned form a short break in Stow with my father who is an avid cricket fan so this was the first place we visited and would highly recomend it, the owner Andy and his wife are very freindly and welcoming, Andy came up while Dad and I were looking round the museum to see how we were getting on and even got out Len Hutton's boots and pads for Dad to have a closer look at. We were only in Stow for 3 days but went here twice....... second time we had a coffee to and one of the best coffe's I've ever had! Even I found really interesting and I'm not a fan.... loads of history and memorabilia from years ago up to the present day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotswold Cricket Museum also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to Cotswold Cricket Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold Cricket Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cotswold Cricket Museum to your Saves list