We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm comfortable stay but pricey!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stow-on-the-Wold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kings Arms Hotel
Save
You added The Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Market Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“A warm comfortable stay but pricey!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner & myself have this weekend stayed at the Kings Arms for 2 nights in room 4 the 'superior room' - yes the bed was extremely comfortable the room was spacious & the bathroom very nice (other than being freezing in there) not really sure what the 'superior' means!!! No phone in the room, no wardrobe & a window that doesn't close properly leaving a gap all the way round causing a massive draft. Also on arrival & checking through the bedside drawers lets just say a tesco bag was found containing well 'an adults sex toy' - not really what you expect to find in a hotel that has a reputation to keep. The food in the chop house was very over priced for what you actually get although the morning breakfast was very nice & satisfying. Overall the location of the hotel was fantastic & in a beautiful part of the country - a very relaxing break was enjoyed by us both.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    52
    25
    21
    16
See reviews for
23
119
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We recently stayed for a long weekend to celebrate my husband's birthday with family. The hotel was fabulous and the staff couldn't be more accommodating. Although breakfast was very good the food on the Saturday evening was a little disappointing, overall it was a brilliant weekend, even the locals made us very welcome and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from two night stay and have to say thoroughly enjoyed it. Breakfast was excellent, rooms were lovely but upmost all the staff I met were really friendly and helpful. Will stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had a 3 night stay a week before Christmas - such a cosy, festive stay in a gorgeous location! Twinkly fairy-lights everywhere, low oak beams and open fires.
Staff were more than helpful and friendly, no airs and graces and made you feel like you are a regular! Loved this hotel.. a great centrally based spot for exploring the surrounding areas and full of great little places to eat and drink.
Our room did slope down from one end of the other, but it wasn't as bad as other reviews suggested! I didn't quite feel like I was about to roll out of bed at any point! However, don't hang anything off the back of the dressing table chair or it'll probably tip over. Also, some other way of preventing the bedside table drawer from rolling open than using a manky bit of old carpet might be better? The carpet wasn't the cleanest (lots of hair and balls of fluff around..) but otherwise everything was fine.
The water pressure at the top of the hotel wasn't great so don't expect a satisfying power-shower but it just about did the job. The water stopped completely mid-shower about 3 times in the middle of a shampoo and scrub (someone else at the top also using water?) but no real problem! :o)
Breakfasts were lovely - a good selection, generous portions (you can always ask for extra bits and staff will happily provide) and well cooked.
Summary - I would definitely recommend staying here for a great Cotswold experience. If / when we come back we may well be repeat visitors!

Room Tip: Room 11 - right at the top of a set of v steep steps (adds to character!) is really lovely with grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just back from a one night stay at the Kings Arms Hotel at Stow on the Wold. Our room was a mini cottage Down stairs sitting room and shower and wc upstairs bedroom. It was a comfy night but our neighbours were both very loud snoorers and we could hear them the conversion of theses mini cottages is not the best and there is an interconnecting door in them all. However for stow ,we booked last minute and it was a bargain. Lovely breakfast and the breakfast lady was lovely she also seemed to be on cleaning duty for the rooms nice staff this really is more an Inn than a hotel and when you realise that you will not expect more. We liked it a lot and would stay again but again two night max. Great spot for exploring the Cotswolds.Very clean sheets and spotless bathroom. No dust on quirky old beams well hovered.!

Room Tip: We stayed in Best Mate by the bottle bind but best of the cottage rooms position away from pub and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at the The Kings Arms Hotel in Stow. A beautiful hotel, full of charachter with very friendly staff. Our 1st night was spent in Cottage Rake which appeared ideal as it had a downstairs sitting room - great for relaxing. We did notice a door connecting the sitting room of the next door cottage but didn't really take much notice of this until the next morning - we had acquired neighbours who were busy chatting away totally unaware that we could hear every word spoken as though they were in the same room as us!! After breakfast - which was superb - we asked the staff on duty if we could be moved as we didn't feel we could relax knowing the proximity of our neighbours. The staff were very accomodating & we were moved to a lovely, wonky room - not a level floor or straight wall :-) - at the top of the hotel. It had a lovely view over the square & lovely deep window sills on which to enjoy the activity below. We spent a lovely quiet night in this room & once again enjoyed an excellent breakfast the following morning. With regard to the breakfast, if you are a fan of brown sauce make sure you ask for it here. You will be presented with a bottle of 'Oxford Sauce', full of flavour & it packs a little punch too, so beware if you're not a fan of spicy food. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay & would definately return.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of December. Loved the open fire in the bar area and the Chop House restaurant upstairs is very good.
The hotel is full of character, with rickety stairs and sloping floors which we love! The welcome we received was very warm and throughout our stay all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Stow itself is a gorgeous place to stay - very festive at this time of year. We also loved nearby Chipping Camden and Broadway.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Royal Frolic' (room number 4) which is atthe top of the stairs so may not be i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: Market Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms is a quirky traditional country Inn offering a warm welcome with traditional English food, old ales and wines available both in the ground floor pub and 1st floor restaurant with views of the Market Square, whilst our cosy bedrooms and cottage rooms offer the perfect place to base yourself when exploring the beautiful countryside and local Cotswold attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
The Kings Arms Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.