We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...shame about the manager” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Porch House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Porch House to your Saves list
The Porch House
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Digbeth Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1BN, England (Formerly The Royalist Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stratford-upon-Avon
1 review
“...shame about the manager”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The place is beautiful, setting quintessentially British, the food is lovely but the restaurant supervisor gave us such grief...for no reason at all. He was clearly rude to his staff and guests of the B&B.

Such a shame, as we are newly local and wanted to spend a lot more time here than we now will.

We tried to order our food two minutes before we were allowed and was rudely told to wait and told "what difference does it make to wait another two minutes"..

Think that people above him need to put him back in his box or send him on his merry way. As I probably speak for several people when I say it made our experience less than pleasant.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    34
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
99
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having stayed in some excellent hotels & some not so, I rate this as just the ultimate in everything one could wish for.
From entering the foyer & receiving a warm welcome, things just improved with each step.
Our room was exquisite, & every attention given to detail.
Sumptuosly comfortable bed.
We had no intention of staying to dinner, intending to explore...but..thank goodmess we changed our minds & choseThe Porch House to dine.
Unforgettable for the ultimate in cuisine, ambeince & service.
Breakfast....marvellous.
For those who want a flawless hotel & not rediculously priced, I guaranttee you'll love this.
The only down side was when it was time to leave......and...we just yearn to return

Room Tip: Oh I think...we had room one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just had a very comfortable one night stay at The Porch House. All the staff and James are very welcoming and make sure we have everything we need. My husband had booked a superior room. Room no1 was very comfortable indeed and the mezzanine floor bathroom unusual. We had tea, warm toast and a paper delivered to our room at no extra cost.
Dinner in the evening was very enjoyable and breakfast likewise. Stow is a lovely small town and the surrounding areas to visit are plentiful and in easy reach.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just back from a lovely stay at the Porch House. Beautiful building in wonderful surroundings. Room stunning (superior) as was the food. Breakfasts great with plenty of selection. James and Staff make it their business to make sure you are well looked after and all very friendly. Missed having a dressing gown in the room - wrongly assumed these would be provided so should have checked beforehand. Otherwise great so thank you all at the Porch House.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful town and lovely pub with B&B which is sweet. Great facilities, roll top bath, and excellent food in its own restaurant. A little pricey but worth the treat. Beds very comfy and a nice quiet stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely place to stay , polite staff and great food . A long stay car park by Tesco is not too far to walk to and from. My room was a bit small for the price but maybe that is what I should expect from a hotel of this age. Very clean and the bed was comfy.

Room Tip: Not room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had the absolute pleasure of staying here on 2nd April with my partner for her birthday. From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed and treated excellently by the staff members the whole time. They worked very hard, but were always polite and happy to help. The food was exceptional. The flat iron steak was simply beautiful. Breakfast was also lovely. I would recommend to anyone, and will certainly look to stay again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Porch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porch House

Address: Digbeth Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1BN, England (Formerly The Royalist Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Porch House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Public House. Dining. Luxury rooms. Steeped in history, The Porch House is thought to be the oldest inn in England, with parts of the building dating back to 947 AD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Porch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porch House Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Porch House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.